Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 21, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
Z390 Gigabyte Designare
CPU
i9900k
Graphics
RX 580 8 GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes I believe that would work. It should be connected to one of the two black USB 2.0 ports on the rear IO panel. Have you tried this already?

It's wonderful...when it works!

+100
Thanks for replying.

Yes I’ve already tried connecting it to one of the black USB 2.0 ports.

I’ll grab another MIDI interface and see if that improves anything.
It did seem solid until I used any of the other devices (USB Controller keyboards) connected to the hub. But that could just be a coincidence.

From what I’ve read in the thread it looks like I’ll have to try the USB card route
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2018
Messages
205
Motherboard
Asus Dominus Extreme
CPU
3175X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
I've read at MacRumors that DSM2 fixed issues related to kernel panics, etc., with the Titan Ridge PCIe card. Are you guys in contact? Maybe he could share some Infos.

Screenshot_20200724_223004.jpg

But he also wrote this:

Screenshot_20200724_223156.jpg
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi.
Thank you very much for the work you are doing.
I have followed the mini guides to configure my hakintos, and, between switching from Clover to OpenCore ,I have decided to stay with Clover due to the difficulties or the package I am.
My BIOS version is F9g.
I have tried updating to 10.15.6 and it gives me an error, and I cannot get it.
I send you my config plist and some more information if you can help me.
Regards.
Luisan
 

Attachments

  • Captura de pantalla 2020-07-24 a las 23.32.16.png
    Captura de pantalla 2020-07-24 a las 23.32.16.png
    75.5 KB · Views: 17
  • config.plist
    6.5 KB · Views: 9
  • IMG_7422.jpg
    IMG_7422.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 17

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,579
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** On-Board HDMI Port Works Again **

Thanks to an early compilation of the forthcoming versions of Lilu and WhateverGreen by @RockArtist, the on-board HDMI port is finally working again in Catalina. These changes should be in the next official releases.

Please see this post for details:
Modified versions of Lilu and WhateverGreen are located here:
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,579
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi.
Thank you very much for the work you are doing.
I have followed the mini guides to configure my hakintos, and, between switching from Clover to OpenCore ,I have decided to stay with Clover due to the difficulties or the package I am.
My BIOS version is F9g.
I have tried updating to 10.15.6 and it gives me an error, and I cannot get it.
I send you my config plist and some more information if you can help me.
Regards.
Luisan
Please try the following after making a full bootable backup:
  • Because you're running BIOS F9g, your CFG-Lock is already unlocked!
  • Now enable Native NVRAM by following this procedure (ignore the steps for unlocking MSR 0xE2 because it's already unlocked):
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
So I don't know if I missed this in the guide, but the "cheaper" (black) SOIC8 clamp mentioned has 1mm pitch pins... the plastic housings of the regular jumpers you get for 0.1" headers like Raspberry Pi's are too thick to fit on the pins next to one another. I ordered some 1mm breakouts (connector -> header pin) from Amazon. I thought about soldering to the SOIC clamp, or maybe cutting the pins to different heights, but figured it was better to wait than to mess it all up. The good news is that the cheap clamp fits onto the Macronix parts quite well, at least mechanically.

On the X299 Prime Deluxe II one of the two chips is fully visible in the case cutout. So I'll dump that one first and send it along in the hopes that it's the right one of the two.If not I'll take the motherboard out and dump the other one.
 
Top