Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,557
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ is it OK to talk about Big Sur public beta here? If so, is the installer process changed from Catalina?
Once the public beta is made available then it's okay to discuss it here. As of now Apple has seeded Developer Beta #3, but not released the Public Beta.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
250
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Once the public beta is made available then it's okay to discuss it here. As of now Apple has seeded Developer Beta #3, but not released the Public Beta.
Have you been able to install the Public Beta? Mine won't boot after restart.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
17,541
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Last edited:
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
This may be a silly reply, but, if you don't currently own any TB devices, why are you bothering about thinking about purchasing a TB device to test if you have flashed the ROM successfully? :think:

it might be a silly reply.

1. this is my last hackintosh, i'm pretty sure, because of the transition to ARM
2. therefore i would like it to be as complete as possible. my current machine has a TB2 port but i never put any effort into getting it working and that always bugged me.
3. apparently no one has dumped the TB rom from an X299 asus prime deluxe II, so i'd be helping the community if i dump the rom and CaseySJ can patch it

i was also thinking about buying an LTO8 backup device at some point in the future and there is a TB3 version of that available now.

so - any answer to my question?
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2012
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sure, but if you're currently on Clover 4xxx then it's best to following this guide:

I'm on 5119, I'll give it a try when I'm feeling brave.

Thanks as always.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,557
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
it might be a silly reply.

1. this is my last hackintosh, i'm pretty sure, because of the transition to ARM
2. therefore i would like it to be as complete as possible. my current machine has a TB2 port but i never put any effort into getting it working and that always bugged me.
3. apparently no one has dumped the TB rom from an X299 asus prime deluxe II, so i'd be helping the community if i dump the rom and CaseySJ can patch it

i was also thinking about buying an LTO8 backup device at some point in the future and there is a TB3 version of that available now.

so - any answer to my question?
Thunderbolt is inherently expensive because of Intel license fees, but a good TB3 dock can now be purchased for $120 to $150.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,557
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ok i'll look into a dock then, thanks.
A dock is a good general-purpose Thunderbolt device that can, of course, be dedicated to a laptop when not needed on the Hackintosh.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
92
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
@CaseySJ : Thank you so much, I don’t have the issues anymore after updating OCquirks. I also applied the patch for better GPU performances. Now my Radeon VII metal score in Geekbench jumped from 60000 to 100000, this is awesome.
I’m having a small new issue, but not a big deal: when I select shutdown, my computer doesn’t shutdown but restarts instead. I’m not sure if you are aware of this bug?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,557
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ : Thank you so much, I don’t have the issues anymore after updating OCquirks. I also applied the patch for better GPU performances. Now my Radeon VII metal score in Geekbench jumped from 60000 to 100000, this is awesome.
I’m having a small new issue, but not a big deal: when I select shutdown, my computer doesn’t shutdown but restarts instead. I’m not sure if you are aware of this bug?
I may have neglected to mention that SSDT-NVRAM.aml should be copied to CLOVER/ACPI/patched. This file is located at the bottom of this post:
Also remove the Clover "rc" scripts as explained. After making these changes, please reboot and check Shutdown again.
 
Top