Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Oct 21, 2014
Messages
31
Motherboard
HP 8470P
CPU
I5-3380M
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Any recommended alternatives to the aptio fix or can it just be removed once apple features are all up and running. Am in fear of bricking things
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Messages
282
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sure, try darkwake=0. I think you've already enabled all the usual suspects listed in the Sleep Aid.
Hi @CaseySJ,

I've got an update. With Darkwake=0 set as a boot argument within Clover, and with WiFi on, the Hackintosh wakes a lot less frequently at around every 3 to 4 hours (before, without Darkwake = 0, it was exactly every hour). However, as my logs show, instead of it being a Darkwake from Normal Sleep, it is now a Wake from Normal sleep. The reason is the same, they both had the reason as /Network using AC. So from my understanding, with Darkwake=0, the PC actually fully wakes up now due to the same /Network reason code, rather than a Darkwake.

However, where it gets interesting is the entry directly below the Wake either says
2020-07-13 07:29:32 +0100 WakeDetails DriverReason:PXSX - DriverDetails: DriverReason:WiFi.ScanOffload
when Darkwake=0 IS active, OR, DriverReason:WiFi.ScanOffload-Previous authentication no longer valid when Darkwake=0 WASN'T active. From Googling around, I can't really figure out what these both are. Any ideas?

I've uploaded my log file below (please note that the Darkwake=0 change went in from midnight on 13th July, and I left the PC sleeping all night). Do you mind taking a look at the log? And should I be trying the remaining fixes from the Sleep Aid, such as the TCPKeepAlive=0, as when using sudo pmset -g log | grep Maintenance, I can see a few references to mDNS responder, and TCPkeepalive (I've attached the log output for the above Maintenance command too)

Thank you!
 

Attachments

Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,139
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Any recommended alternatives to the aptio fix or can it just be removed once apple features are all up and running. Am in fear of bricking things
Please see this link in the Contents spoiler of Post #1:
Screen Shot 2020-07-13 at 6.15.44 AM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,139
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
** REMINDER **
macOS 11.0 Big Sur has been released to developers that are paid members of Apple's Developer program. We know it is tempting to talk about it here, but discussion of Developer Betas is not permitted.

Please see Rules regarding (a) public beta (green box) and (b) developer beta (red box).
  • Discussion of Public Beta software is allowed, and a public beta of Big Sur is expected later this month.
  • Discussion of Developer Beta software is not allowed as it is subject to NDA. Already we have seen violations where certain YouTube channels and other publications have published benchmarks, which are expressly forbidden under the terms of the Developer Transition Kit.


RULES:

Rules - Developer and Public Beta.png
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
130
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
@phrfpeixoto , @CaseySJ ,

Hello guys thank you for answering.
I have to admit I'm desperate !!!
Just received my brand new Fenvi-T919.

It does not work neither.
The computer runs perfectly fine without it, on Windows and on Mac (No Bluetooth on Mac- and Ethernet Wired).
It just runs the POST test perfectly only once without it. Then never runs it again.

So this morning I tried plugging my brand new Fenvi-T-919, shopped from Amazon- Delivered from Fenvi Source.
The computer does not pass the POST test on it.
However if I plug in, after the Post Test has been done on the rest of the PC (fenvi Unplugged) the card will work (WIFI and BT works well). But, it will only work for 1 single boot. Which means when I shutdown the computer, it will try to run post test and not work, boot Looping.
I tried Clearing CMOS, which did not solve the problem.
I tried plugging into the PCI-Ex1 Slot which did not solve the problem.

Here are some Videos to help you understand the problem.

What can I do, I'm Desperate, and really rely on you help and your hands. :(
What can I test more ?

Thank you

You clearly have a situation where multiple variables can interfere. I think that as @CaseySJ mentioned, you should go through an exhaustive elimination process:

Take the software out of the equation: Unplug your HDD/SSD, cut power (entirely) from the system, let it rest for a few seconds, Then remove all the non-essential hardware and load optimized bios defaults. Make sure the system posts and complains no OS is found.

Add-in your new Fenvi card. If it posts you can start to put your system together again, piece by piece, making sure the system continues to post consistently after each step. If all goes well, try setting up your BIOS settings back to the recommended for macOS, still making sure the system posts consistently. Finally, try to boot the OS.

If the issue shows up right away when adding the Fenvi:
- Try different slots on the motherboard.
- Try a different PSU.

I wouldn't bother replacing/testing your processor/RAM because those rarely go bad (unless you have a really crappy PSU). At this point, if the issue is still there, most likely you have a faulty Motherboard - Try testing your hardware on a different one (test under windows, on ANY motherboard that support it). Make sure each component work separately

If the issue happens during the system rebuilding after the Fenvi card had been validated, then you have to backtrack: What change did you do last when the issue started happening? Undo that and try variations (IE: If you changed multiple BIOS settings, backtrack and try the changes one by one) until you find the offending change.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2018
Messages
12
Motherboard
(miniITX) Aorus z390 I Pro wifi rev 1.0
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
uhd 630
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
*** OcQuirks / FwRuntimeServices Experiment: Conclusion ***

As a follow-up to the original post describing this experiment, I'm happy to say that TEST 4 works on my system even from the NVMe SSD. This is so far the only combination of parameters that works universally across USB, SATA, Thunderbolt, and NVMe PCIe (on my system).

We may finally have a viable alternative to OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000. But let's wait for additional user feedback.

Attached ZIP contains both:
  • OcQuirks-4.efi
  • FwRuntimeServes.efi
To install this on your system -- for Clover v5xxx only:
  • If you're running Clover 4xxx, please see this mini-guide for instructions to upgrade to Clover 5xxx.
  • Mount EFI partition of macOS SSD.
  • Move or delete existing memory fix driver from CLOVER/drivers/UEFI folder.
  • Copy the two new files into the CLOVER/drivers/UEFI folder.
  • Ensure that EmuVariableUefi.efi is present in that folder.
  • Ensure that slide=0 is present in config.plist --> Boot Arguments.
Please ensure you have another working EFI folder to boot from in case these drivers do not work.
THX MAN YOU SAVED MY LIFE.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi,
I followed your very good and well explained instructions and was able to install Mojave on Z390 designare with i9 .
I have a Fenvi Bluetooth/Wifi card. Wifi and bluetooth work but the Magic Mouse 2 is not recognised.
it sees my iPhone and other Bluetooth devices.

This is the card I have:
https://www.amazon.fr/gp/product/B07T9JD93Y/?tag=tonymacx8607-21

Any idea?
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
You clearly have a situation where multiple variables can interfere. I think that as @CaseySJ mentioned, you should go through an exhaustive elimination process:

Take the software out of the equation: Unplug your HDD/SSD, cut power (entirely) from the system, let it rest for a few seconds, Then remove all the non-essential hardware and load optimized bios defaults. Make sure the system posts and complains no OS is found.

Add-in your new Fenvi card. If it posts you can start to put your system together again, piece by piece, making sure the system continues to post consistently after each step. If all goes well, try setting up your BIOS settings back to the recommended for macOS, still making sure the system posts consistently. Finally, try to boot the OS.

If the issue shows up right away when adding the Fenvi:
- Try different slots on the motherboard.
- Try a different PSU.

I wouldn't bother replacing/testing your processor/RAM because those rarely go bad (unless you have a really crappy PSU). At this point, if the issue is still there, most likely you have a faulty Motherboard - Try testing your hardware on a different one (test under windows, on ANY motherboard that support it). Make sure each component work separately

If the issue happens during the system rebuilding after the Fenvi card had been validated, then you have to backtrack: What change did you do last when the issue started happening? Undo that and try variations (IE: If you changed multiple BIOS settings, backtrack and try the changes one by one) until you find the offending change.
@CaseySJ , @phrfpeixoto ,
It seems like a LOT of customers having trouble with This Fenvi T919 and Gigabyte Motherboards.
If you google it, you see there are just many problem with this WIFI card.
Moreover, I have to make you remember that I built the exact same Hardware on my friend's computer. So Problem on PSU, motherboard, or Ram seems unlikely possible.
I have to add, that I bought a brand new Fenvi-T919 card thinking mine was corrupted. This did not solved the problem.
I removed every part of the computer. (Graphic Card), setup to only one RAM, switched up everything.
The problem only happens when this WIFI-card is connected.
I Tried every PCIE slot and every PCIx16 slot, did not work.

So
https://www.amazon.com/product-reviews/B07VCCZS54
https://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-...07VCCZS54#R122CX26G3KG78&tag=tonymacx86com-20

Those are just some comments out of there with several people having the same problem.

Some are talking about "Toggling ERP and the dummy power load", some others are talking about "reconfigure my internal usb extension mapping and the pcie slots.".
Some just advice going to the Fenvi HB1200/1200M, which works better.

You should stop advising for now using this Fenvi-t919 with this motherboard until a fix is found.
What would you advice me to do/change in BIOS settings ?

Thank you for your help
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,139
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi,
I followed your very good and well explained instructions and was able to install Mojave on Z390 designare with i9 .
I have a Fenvi Bluetooth/Wifi card. Wifi and bluetooth work but the Magic Mouse 2 is not recognised.
it sees my iPhone and other Bluetooth devices.

This is the card I have:
https://www.amazon.fr/gp/product/B07T9JD93Y/?tag=tonymacx8607-21

Any idea?
Hello @hyevans

Because I do not own the Magic Mouse 2, I can only speculate about the cause. Maybe this device needs to be paired by first connecting the lightning-to-USB cable?

My original Magic Mouse 1 works perfectly.

If anyone with a Magic Mouse 2 can provide troubleshooting advice, it would be appreciated.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,435
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
If anyone with a Magic Mouse 2 can provide troubleshooting advice, it would be appreciated.
Magic mouses are susceptible to interference from 2.4GHz Wifi, switching wireless to 5GHz is often enough to solve the problem.
 
Top