Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi i tried to look for previous replies containing this question but there are just too many pages to go through.

I am currently rocking:
macOS 10.14.1​
i7 6700k​
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5-TH​
G.Skill Aegis 32Gb 3000Mhz​
With a very specific monitor setup with two 4K Acer 24" and one 5K Dell 27".
Tried updating to 10.14.3 but the 5K monitor didn't work. It should, so I'm stuck with 10.14.1.

I recently ordered the 9900K along with the Designare board from Gigabyte.

I have a few questions:
- Can I just swap CPU+mobo and do the post install part. My current macOS install is just about perfect.
- Is this guide also applicable for 10.14.1? The guide mentions it not being compatible with 10.14.0 but nothing is said about .1.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
62
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
The en[x] port number does not matter. As long as you have en0 for FaceTime and Messages, the rest of the network ports can assume any number.

However, your Locale and Country Code are:

Locale: RoW
Country Code: X2

In the US, radio frequencies are regulated by the FCC, hence our Locale is FCC (and our Country Code is US). I am not familiar with RoW or X2.

Which country are you in?

Is your Router broadcasting a country code? If you login to the Router admin page, is there any information regarding country code?

See what happens if you move the card to a long slot...
Thanks, @CaseySJ, very interesting finding !

Yes, I'm in the US. The adapter is not connected to anything as I was unable to turn the WiFi on, and, hence, unable to run a diagnostics as it does not even show me that option.

I double checked the router if the PC is in fact wirelessly connected, and it is not - that would have been crazy if it were disabled but connected ... :) The router pages (using ASUS flashed with Tomato) do not show anything related to location, AP (Airport) shows United States as Country.

Let me move to another slot and see what happens.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
2,904
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi i tried to look for previous replies containing this question but there are just too many pages to go through.

I am currently rocking:
macOS 10.14.1
i7 6700k
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
G.Skill Aegis 32Gb 3000Mhz
With a very specific monitor setup with two 4k Acer 24" and one 5k Dell 27".
Tried updating to 10.14.3 but the 5k monitor didn't work it should so i stuck with 10.14.1.

I recently ordered the 9900K along with the designare board from Gigabyte.

I have a few questions:
- can i just swap cpu+mobo and do the post install part, my current macOS install is just about perfect
- is this guide also applicable for 10.14.1, the guide mentions it not being compatible with 10.14.0 but nothing is said about .1
It's very unusual that the 5K monitor would stop working with just an upgrade from 10.14.1 to 10.14.3. We know that graphics drivers were updated in 10.14.3, but usually this is a good thing.

Regarding the 2 questions:
  • Can you swap the CPU and Motherboard into the existing system, run Post-Install again on the existing Mojave install disk, and expect to get a working system?
    • You can try! But make a full bootable backup of the current Mojave disk. A 256GB SSD is about US$34 and an external SSD enclosure is about US$9. I use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone my internal NVMe SSD to an external 256GB SSD.
    • However, I suspect this will lead to more trouble than it's worth. But feel free to try -- I would be very interested to know the outcome.
  • Yes this guide will work with 10.14.1 as well. Because it uses SMBIOS Macmini8,1, it means we can only use a version of macOS that was released after the 2018 Mac Mini went on sale.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
62
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
...
- Can I just swap CPU+mobo and do the post install part. My current macOS install is just about perfect.
- Is this guide also applicable for 10.14.1? The guide mentions it not being compatible with 10.14.0 but nothing is said about .1.
The answer to the 1st question is yes - I have just migrated from Z77X-UP5 TH the same way. And I'm still on 10.13 . So I'm guessing it should not be a problem if you are on 10.14.1, but I can't be 100% sure.

The system is running fine now without any problem. Here is how I migrated it:

1. I created USB flash with just Clover on it manually and then made sure I have everything there to just boot into my old install - simply go over with pre-install section.
2. I followed the post install section.

Here are a couple of major issues that I had, but I have resolved them:

1. My iMessage, FaceTime and even Appstore did not work. So I initially thought it is something to do with SMBIOS settings. I tried moving those values from my old install - nothing helped. Then I (re)read iMessage guide and try to find the correct values for SMBIOS (going to Apple website), but still did not help.

And then I realized that my network interfaces start from en1 ... So I have deleted the plist to reset those enX values and everything started working immediately! However my SMBIOS values are off and currently not up to the guide. I may get back to it later, but now I'm just afraid to touch them :)

2. My display was flickering and showing incorrect values in About This Mac (I'm running onboard graphics). But that was totally my fault - I have overlooked and forgot to nullify ig-platform-id . So it has been back to normal after next reboot.

I loved my Z77X, and I wish I could use it for another couple of years. Designare though is perfect replacement for it.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
2,904
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks, @CaseySJ, very interesting finding !

Yes, I'm in the US. The adapter is not connected to anything as I was unable to turn the WiFi on, and, hence, unable to run a diagnostics as it does not even show me that option.

I double checked the router if the PC is in fact wirelessly connected, and it is not - that would have been crazy if it were disabled but connected ... :) The router pages (using ASUS flashed with Tomato) do not show anything related to location, AP (Airport) shows United States as Country.

Let me move to another slot and see what happens.
Was the Broadcom card purchased from a US retailer, or was it shipped from overseas? US retailers should ensure that any device operating on radio frequencies has been approved for use in the United States.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
62
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Was the Broadcom card purchased from a US retailer, or was it shipped from overseas? US retailers should ensure that any device operating on radio frequencies has been approved for use in the United States.
It was from Amazon with Prime delivery from the same link. So I'm guessing it everything is fine here. Could it be based on SMBIOS values by any chance?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
It's very unusual that the 5K monitor would stop working with just an upgrade from 10.14.1 to 10.14.3. We know that graphics drivers were updated in 10.14.3, but usually this is a good thing.

Regarding the 2 questions:
  • Can you swap the CPU and Motherboard into the existing system, run Post-Install again on the existing Mojave install disk, and expect to get a working system?
    • You can try! But make a full bootable backup of the current Mojave disk. A 256GB SSD is about US$34 and an external SSD enclosure is about US$9. I use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone my internal NVMe SSD to an external 256GB SSD.
    • However, I suspect this will lead to more trouble than it's worth. But feel free to try -- I would be very interested to know the outcome.
  • Yes this guide will work with 10.14.1 as well. Because it uses SMBIOS Macmini8,1, it means we can only use a version of macOS that was released after the 2018 Mac Mini went on sale.
About the 5K monitor issues, the Dell 5K monitor works with 2 DP cables, each addressing 50% of the 5K pixels (2560*2880 each).
But on 10.14.3 it only showed me 2560*1440, after messing with it for a full day i just kinda gave up :D.
It's kinda hit and miss with this monitor. I had to give up on my GTX 980 Ti a while back because whenever you went over the 50% mark the mouse would jump position or disappear for a brief moment :/, the RX 580 fixed that for me. But, then again, RX 580 wasn't really able to push any pixels when gaming :D.

I actually have an extra SSD in my system purely for upgrading OS / Hardware.
Learned it the hard way, always backup your hackintosh and have and bootable USB with Clover on hand.

Thx for the info and the quick reply!
Excited to get it going, cant wait for the hardware to arrive!

The answer to the 1st question is yes - I have just migrated from Z77X-UP5 TH the same way. And I'm still on 10.13 . So I'm guessing it should not be a problem if you are on 10.14.1, but I can't be 100% sure.

The system is running fine now without any problem. Here is how I migrated it:

1. I created USB flash with just Clover on it manually, and then made sure I have everything there to just boot into my old install - simply go over with pre-install section.
2. I followed the post install section.

Here are a couple of major issues that I had, but I have resolved them:

1. My iMessage, FaceTime and even Appstore did not work. So I initially thought it is something to do with SMBIOS settings. I tried moving those values from my old install - nothing helped. Then I (re)read iMessage guide and try to find the correct values for SMBIOS (going to Apple website), but still did not help.

And then I realized that my network interfaces start from en1 ... So I have deleted the plist to reset those enX values and everything started working immediately! However my SMBIOS values are off and currently not up to the guide. I may get back to it later, but now I'm just afraid to touch them :)

2. My display was flickering and showing incorrect values in About This Mac (I'm running onboard graphics). But that was totally my fault - I have overlooked and forgot to nullify ig-platform-id . So it has been back to normal after next reboot.

I loved my Z77X, and I wish I could use it for another couple of years. Designare though is perfect replacement for it.
Ok, it would work flawlessly then i guess, many thanks for the reassurance!
I actually don't use iMessage etc, but as a designer and developer got hooked on the macOS platform.
(The retina 5K monitor as a designer with way better display scaling than Windows will ever offer, and the Linux like file system and terminal as a developer).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
2,904
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks, @CaseySJ, very interesting finding !

Yes, I'm in the US. The adapter is not connected to anything as I was unable to turn the WiFi on, and, hence, unable to run a diagnostics as it does not even show me that option.

I double checked the router if the PC is in fact wirelessly connected, and it is not - that would have been crazy if it were disabled but connected ... :) The router pages (using ASUS flashed with Tomato) do not show anything related to location, AP (Airport) shows United States as Country.

Let me move to another slot and see what happens.
I'll check the Firmware Version, Locale and Country Code of my BCM94360CS2 later this evening and compare against yours. If there are problematic versions of this card, I'd like to see if we can identify the good ones from the bad. Meanwhile, let us know whether it works in a long slot.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
2,904
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
It was from Amazon with Prime delivery from the same link. So I'm guessing it everything is fine here. Could it be based on SMBIOS values by any chance?
I believe SMBIOS can also play a role here, so trying a different SMBIOS name is also a good idea (particularly if you are in the early stages and have not activated your software licenses).
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
62
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I believe SMBIOS can also play a role here, so trying a different SMBIOS name is also a good idea (particularly if you are in the early stages and have not activated your software licenses).
Honestly little scared to mess around with SMBIOS to lose the iCloud services - may need some guidance here :) Will try other slots this evening first
 
Top