Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Designare-EX
CPU
E5 1660 V3
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Bother you again,@CaseySJ
  • My Thunderbolt root port is at _SB.PCI0.BR1B
This is my DSDT table, My motherboard(Gigabyte X99 Designare-EX) will not load with ASUS X99. How to adjust TbtOnPCH SSDT?
 

Attachments

  • DSDT.aml
    215.8 KB · Views: 30

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,180
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Bother you again,@CaseySJ
  • My Thunderbolt root port is at _SB.PCI0.BR1B
This is my DSDT table, My motherboard(Gigabyte X99 Designare-EX) will not load with ASUS X99. How to adjust TbtOnPCH SSDT?
Please add the following ACPI renames to config.plist:
  • Rename _E16 to XE16
    • Find: 5F453136
    • Replace: 58453136
    • Comment: _E16 to XE16
  • Rename _INI to XINI
    • Find: 42523142 085F4144 520C0100 01005B80 4D43544C 000C8881 00E00A04 5B81134D 43544C01 00034847 50450100 07000800 08140D5F 494E49
    • Replace: 42523142 085F4144 520C0100 01005B80 4D43544C 000C8881 00E00A04 5B81134D 43544C01 00034847 50450100 07000800 08140D58 494E49
    • Comment: BR1B _INI to XINI
And copy the attached files to CLOVER/ACPI/patched. Then test as follows:
  • Remove all Thunderbolt devices.
  • Boot the system and log into macOS.
  • Hot-plug a Thunderbolt device.
  • Run IORegistryExplorer and scroll down to BR1B to check if Thunderbolt Bus and the device tree are present. Feel free to post screenshot.
  • Also check System Information --> Thunderbolt.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TbtOnPch-GA-X99-Designare.aml
    5.1 KB · Views: 39
  • SSDT-DTPG.aml
    100 bytes · Views: 31
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
27
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Casey and every one else!

I just upgraded from RX580 to a RX 5700 XT and I'm just wondering if there something I should do to maxmize it performance (not talking about OC or the AMD booster kext).

Ive seen this post a couple of times:
*** Mini-Guide: Using Hackintool to Set Headless Platform ID 0x3E980003 ***

Is that relevant for this card and for Catalina?
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
939
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @losinka

I have tested the patched firmware, both with Clover and OpenCore. Thanks a lot for the excellent work! :clap:

I run a UAD Apollo audio interface on my Thunderbolt connector. It works quite well. But I have an annoying problem. My computer keeps rebooting automatically after I shut it down.

If I switch off my UAD Apollo before, the computer stays off. Do you have any advice for me on what that might be?

BIOS: F22i
macOS: 10.13.6 High Sierra
OC: 0.5.8
Clover: 5098

Best regards

@maschinenwart: The bios do nothing except CFG_Lock=Disables (if you set it) and GPIO3 Force Pwr=Enabled (if you set it). I don't have UAD Apollo. May be you need to check other bios settings and your Clover/OC ssdt/config. I don't know, sorry...

I also have this behavior with F22g (Thunderbolt devices restarting computer). I'll see what I can dig up when I have time. :)

(Edit: the point I was making is the behavior is bios-independent :) )
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,180
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Casey and every one else!

I just upgraded from RX580 to a RX 5700 XT and I'm just wondering if there something I should do to maxmize it performance (not talking about OC or the AMD booster kext).

Ive seen this post a couple of times:


Is that relevant for this card and for Catalina?
Hello @Joakim1337, are you unhappy with the RX 5700 XT's performance? :)

We believe that current AMD drivers in macOS are not fully optimized for rDNA architecture, but subsequent versions of macOS should provide improvements. WWDC 2020 is about a month away and we expect Apple to announce the successor to Catalina. Better graphics drivers could be included. So my recommendation for now is to wait.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Designare-EX
CPU
E5 1660 V3
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thank you for your help @CaseySJ

Feedback: LG UltraFine Display has no display output, the HP docking station and USB work normally.
This is my Thunderbolt firmware. It would be better if it could help me fix the problem of no video output. Video output is very important to me. Thank you again for your help

Is it possible to modify the firmware on AR? My machine's sleep is affected by Thunderbolt, and it will automatically wake up (make sure it is not a USB problem)


Snipaste_2020-05-20_02-56-12.png
Snipaste_2020-05-20_02-57-26.png
Snipaste_2020-05-20_02-58-13.png
 

Attachments

  • GIGABYTE_GA_X99_Designare_EX_AR_HR_4C_B1_rev21_W_Ti_1_7_6_SEC1_sign.bin.zip
    141 KB · Views: 21
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
795
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So my replacement Designare is dead. The MB lights up but no POST, no red warning lights, no fan spin, no noise at all. This is exactly the same as my 1st one. The replacement for that worked for about 8 months before packing up. Tried new PSU, different CPU, different RAM - (my son wasn't happy with me dismantling his gaming machine for me to test parts (but I pay the bills so my rules :) ))

On its way back to Amazon tomorrow and a new Aorus Master on order. I'm giving up on the Designare, 2/3 DOA and the other one dead after 8 months. Good job I don't need it for business. I wonder if anyone has any ready made SSDTs for it. Now off to have a hunt around the site to see what I can find. :cry:
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
Designare
CPU
9900k
Graphics
rx580
Mac
  1. iMac
What an incredible guide!
I'm a fairly experienced hackintosher but usually avoid custom builds - I just don't have the time to troubleshoot anymore. I needed a new machine to update an i7 3770. I'm Running nearly the same machine as this guide: i9 9900k on Designare MOBO in R6 case. Everything working first time NOT a single issue.
Once again: incredible work putting this guide together - thank you so much.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,180
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So my replacement Designare is dead. The MB lights up but no POST, no red warning lights, no fan spin, no noise at all. This is exactly the same as my 1st one. The replacement for that worked for about 8 months before packing up. Tried new PSU, different CPU, different RAM - (my son wasn't happy with me dismantling his gaming machine for me to test parts (but I pay the bills so my rules :) ))
Have you also tried booting (a) without AMD GPU, (b) without Fenvi or other WiFi/BT card, (c) but with 8-pin CPU power cable connected (ATX_12V_2X4)? Were any socket pins damaged under the CPU? The Designare Z390 is one of the most popular boards for Hackintosh. If the failure rate was really that high, there would be a firestorm of complaints on the Internet.
On its way back to Amazon tomorrow and a new Aorus Master on order. I'm giving up on the Designare, 2/3 DOA and the other one dead after 8 months. Good job I don't need it for business. I wonder if anyone has any ready made SSDTs for it. Now off to have a hunt around the site to see what I can find. :cry:
What if the AORUS Master also fails to post? :)

Nevertheless, my Gigabyte Z490 Vision D is on pre-order. Hopefully it will be a seamless transition from Z390 to Z490 (but I'm expecting some bumps).
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
286
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How would I go about disabling the DP/HDMI Audio side of things in Opencore?
I'm having a problem when streaming to OBS or Ecamm etc. Have tried a lot of tricks and days to get it to work and now I think it's something to do with my GPU / iGPU layout.
The streaming freezes, been trying many things and seem to be thinking it's the AMD Radeon FE 16GB and my iGPU setup.. I have weird issues with the display loading up properly as well, black screens etc. I read somewhere in a thread and now can't find it about disabling the DP/HDMI - I don't need them so would like to try?
TIA
Hello there. I'm not sure you really need to disable DP/HDMI audio. I have the Designare board, i9-9900K, with my
SAPPHIRE PULSE Radeon RX 5700 XT and I have virtually no problem streaming from Ecamm (tried an earlier version of OBS that wouldn't show as 1080p on Youtube, but I think that was a problem with either OBS configuration or a bug; latest Mac OBS outputs 1080p fine now though). In fact, I stream with Ecamm Live twice a week for about 2 hours with virtually no problem. I'm not familiar with that AMD GPU, but I imagine if it works normally, your Ecamm Live should work as well. I'm using the iMac Pro SMBIOS right now, though I previously used the iMac 19,1 for several months and it worked fine as well. I have 64 GB of RAM installed with a 2TB NVMe as my system boot volume and another 1TB Samsung EVO plus for recording the Ecamm Live streams. Works great! My internal GPU is in headless mode, configured according to CaseyJ's guide and has been for almost a year and a half, though I had a RX580 initially back then when I build this rig. Anyway, the 5700xt works pretty flawlessly. Is your system configured somewhat this way? What Catalina version or Mojave version are you running? Is the AMD Radeon passing all the usual tests outside of streaming like Geekbench and VideoProc? What does your config.plist look like and what kexts are in your EFI?
 
Last edited:
Top