Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,492
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@mcljot -- thank you for the very well written guide in post 2144! I'll update the build guide shortly.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,492
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi CaseySJ,

I've checked that the MAC addresses are DIFFERENT for Thunderbolt booted from Windows 10 and from Ubuntu Linux:

View attachment 391065View attachment 391066View attachment 391069View attachment 391065View attachment 391066View attachment 391069
Hi Augusto,

Thank you for posting the screenshots! They show that my theory about hard-coded MAC addresses has been debunked! :) I did not expect the MAC addresses to change, but the fact that they did change might in fact be a good thing. It would imply that the OS is free to assign a MAC address, which in turn implies that Gigabyte's BIOS and SSDT/DSDT are not preventing Thunderbolt Networking.

So if MAC addresses are not hard-coded, each time you reboot Windows or reboot Linux, do you get the same MAC address for the Thunderbolt Networking port? Or do you see a different MAC address on every reboot?

On a real Mac we see the same MAC address every time, but that might be because macOS saves it in NVRAM or in /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/NetworkInterfaces.plist.

I have ordered a Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter for my 2012 MacBook Air. This will allow me to connect my Hackintosh (TB3) to the MacBook Air (TB2) so I can observe the behavior for myself.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
68
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9900K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
To disable the Nvidia graphics card from Slot 2, copy the attached SSDT to your CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder and reboot. This SSDT is based on RehabMan's guide:


It hasn't been tested so please give it a try with that understanding. This method assigns Device and Vendor ID 0x0000 to any GPU in Slot 2, which should prevent any Mac device driver from attaching to it, effectively making it invisible to macOS.
Thanks I will try it and get back to you
 
Joined
May 13, 2014
Messages
170
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
To disable the Nvidia graphics card from Slot 2, copy the attached SSDT to your CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder and reboot. This SSDT is based on RehabMan's guide:


It hasn't been tested so please give it a try with that understanding. This method assigns Device and Vendor ID 0x0000 to any GPU in Slot 2, which should prevent any Mac device driver from attaching to it, effectively making it invisible to macOS.
Cheers for that. I've got a RX 580 + GeForce 1080Ti, and was hoping to have them both installed so I could just use the 1080Ti for gaming in Windows. I haven't reintroduced the 1080Ti into my system yet and have been looking for this exact solution by making the second GPU invisible to macOS to prevent any instability.

We'll see how it goes.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2010
Messages
61
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Augusto,

Thank you for posting the screenshots! They show that my theory about hard-coded MAC addresses has been debunked! :) I did not expect the MAC addresses to change, but the fact that they did change might in fact be a good thing. It would imply that the OS is free to assign a MAC address, which in turn implies that Gigabyte's BIOS and SSDT/DSDT are not preventing Thunderbolt Networking.

So if MAC addresses are not hard-coded, each time you reboot Windows or reboot Linux, do you get the same MAC address for the Thunderbolt Networking port? Or do you see a different MAC address on every reboot?

On a real Mac we see the same MAC address every time, but that might be because macOS saves it in NVRAM or in /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/NetworkInterfaces.plist.

I have ordered a Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter for my 2012 MacBook Air. This will allow me to connect my Hackintosh (TB3) to the MacBook Air (TB2) so I can observe the behavior for myself.
Good morning CaseySJ,

Tested again this morning twice, with 5 minutes cold start between them and both are the SAME within their operating systems,i.e., on Windows 10 the Thunderbolt MAC address is the same between cold restarts, and for Ubuntu Linux the same happens...

I have two MacBookPro, one from 2014 (used on these tests) & another one from 2016, so I'll try testing tonight again with 2016 model, ok ?

Do you want me check anything from the MBP side ?

I also use the Thunderbolt 2 to thunderbolt adapter with both my MBPs.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
123
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi Casey, in the spirit of giving back to your superb build guide, I wrote up a short procedure to run the NZXT liquidctl script automatically at login. Maybe it's a bit too specific and edge-case but please feel free to add it to your guide if you think it's useful.

Configuring the liquidctl script to run on startup (for all users). Copy the liquidctl.sh script to a shared directory and create a short .plist file in /Library/LaunchAgents:

  1. Copy the liquidctl.sh script to /Users/Shared.
  2. Create a new liquidctl.plist file in /Library/LaunchAgents.
  3. Edit the liquidctl.plist file with admin privileges and paste in the example below. Either use vi or a text editor with admin privileges: sudo vi /Library/LaunchAgents/liquidctl.plist. Remove the #Explanation: sections from the example below:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Label</key>
<string>liquidctl.sh</string> #Explanation: This is a verbose label for your login script. Name it something unique and identifiable. I just named mine the same as the script itself
<key>ProgramArguments</key>
<array>
<string>/Users/Shared/liquidctl.sh</string> #Explanation: This is the absolute path to the liquidctl.sh script
</array>
<key>RunAtLoad</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</plist>


4. Change ownership of the liquidctl.plist file so that root owns it:
sudo chown root /Library/LaunchAgents/liquidctl.plist
5. Check that you've done everything correctly by attempting to load the .plist manually:
sudo launchctl load /Library/LaunchAgents/liquidctl.plist
If this command returns anything other than a blank line, go back and check your steps.

Done! Now, even if another operating system has messed with your NZXT Kraken, every time you boot back into Mac OS your Kraken will configure itself automatically no matter what settings might try to persist from other operating system instances.

Caveat: the liquidctl.sh script unloads IOUSBHostHIDDevice. This is necessary to avoid [Errno 13] Access denied (insufficient permissions) that you might encounter when running liquidctl commands. However, this can result in temporary disabling/resetting of your USB devices. My Logitech wireless receiver sometimes loses connection with my wireless mouse or keyboard after running the script. Simply unplug and plug back in the unifying receiver. I don't know what happens with other USB devices, but I suspect unplugging and plugging them back in will work to bring them back online.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,492
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@mcljot — will certainly add this to the guide as well!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,492
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Cheers for that. I've got a RX 580 + GeForce 1080Ti, and was hoping to have them both installed so I could just use the 1080Ti for gaming in Windows. I haven't reintroduced the 1080Ti into my system yet and have been looking for this exact solution by making the second GPU invisible to macOS to prevent any instability.

We'll see how it goes.
Glad to hear. If it works for you and @tsamy I’ll add it to the build guide as well. Note that this will only disable a GPU in Slot 2.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
50
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Core i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
If the Wifi card works in a x8 or x16 it's possible that the x1 slot itself could not be working properly. A simple way to rule that out if you can put something else there that does work.
Got it. I'll try digging at my stockroom to look for an X1 card. I think I have a 100MB Ethernet PCI card that I used with Lion/Leopard before. I'll try that over the weekend. Or perhaps, when the Fenvi of @CaseySJ arrives, we can all finally know when my X1 slots are defective when they work on his end. :mrgreen:
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,492
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Good morning CaseySJ,

Tested again this morning twice, with 5 minutes cold start between them and both are the SAME within their operating systems,i.e., on Windows 10 the Thunderbolt MAC address is the same between cold restarts, and for Ubuntu Linux the same happens...

I have two MacBookPro, one from 2014 (used on these tests) & another one from 2016, so I'll try testing tonight again with 2016 model, ok ?

Do you want me check anything from the MBP side ?

I also use the Thunderbolt 2 to thunderbolt adapter with both my MBPs.
Thank you for the follow-up tests! This is what we know so far:
  • On same Gigabyte motherboard, Windows and Linux can both enable Thunderbolt Networking.
  • On same Gigabyte motherboard, Windows and Linux assign different MAC addresses to the same physical port.
  • On same Gigabyte motherboard, macOS does not enable Thunderbolt Networking.
  • When we reboot, the MAC address remains the same.
It would be helpful to try the following:
  • If we install a new copy of Linux on a spare disk, does it use the same MAC address as the original Linux?
  • If we install a new copy of Windows on a spare disk, does it use the same MAC address as the original Windows?
  • Because there are 2 Thunderbolt ports on the Gigabyte AORUS Extreme and also 2 ports on the Gigabyte Designare, do you see a different MAC address when you switch to the other Thunderbolt port?
I know that doing new OS installations is time-consuming, so no worries if you want to avoid that! :) Ill try that on my own when my Thunderbolt adapter arrives (on Friday).
 
Last edited:
Top