Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
72
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7960X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This could be useful!

I'm already seeing interesting differences compared to ThunderboltConfig from MacBookPro 15,1/15,2 and iMac19,1.

The last 4 bytes of each config show USB-C port IDs: 0x06, 0x05, 0x08, 0x07, 0x0C, 0x0D, 0x0E, 0x0F. Seems MacPro 7,1 has eight Thunderbolt ports.

There should be 4 Thunderbolt controllers on various paths such as RP05, RP09, RP21, etc. Under each one there should be a UPSB --> DSB0 --> NHI0. If you click on each NHI0, you should see a lot of device properties on the right side of IORegistryExplorer.

Would you be able to post screenshots of each of these 4 NHI0 property screens?
@CaseySJ @Elias64Fr

Don't know if this can help somehow but I extracted today some ThunderboltConfig Values from an MacPro7,1

0x02, 0x03, 0x02, 0x00, 0x0a, 0x00, 0x05, 0x01,
0x01, 0x00, 0x01, 0x00, 0x05, 0x01, 0x02, 0x00,
0x06, 0x00, 0x05, 0x01, 0x01, 0x00, 0x01, 0x00,
0x03, 0x01, 0x02, 0x00, 0x06, 0x00, 0x05, 0x00

0x03, 0x03, 0x03, 0x00, 0x09, 0x00, 0x05, 0x01,
0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x05, 0x01, 0x02, 0x00,
0x04, 0x00, 0x05, 0x01, 0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
0x03, 0x01, 0x02, 0x00, 0x08, 0x00, 0x07, 0x00

0x06, 0x03, 0xff, 0xff, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x0c, 0x00, 0x0d, 0x00

0x07, 0x03, 0xff, 0xff, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x0e, 0x00, 0x0f, 0x00

try in this sequence: ()

0x02, 0x03, 0x02, 0x00, 0x0a, 0x00,
0x05, 0x01, 0x01, 0x00, 0x01, 0x00,
0x05, 0x01, 0x02, 0x00, 0x06, 0x00,
0x05, 0x01, 0x01, 0x00, 0x01, 0x00,
0x03, 0x01, 0x02, 0x00, 0x06, 0x00,
0x05, 0x00

0x02 Bus. 0x01 0x00 HS1? 0x02 0x00 HS2? (it appear in all models)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
12,212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks, at least if it pops up again I'll know what it is.. I was trying for 2hrs last night to get it to read but it wouldn't.
Tried earlier and got the above.. will keep going.
Please have a look at @iRamon's post as well:
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
12,212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is this right screen or should I make a screenshot of individual pages?

View attachment 466639
That is the right screenshot.
  • Does your board come with WiFi/Bluetooth?
  • Do you have the Z390 AORUS Pro WiFi?
I'm surprised that none of the USB 2 ports is in use. However, remember I said scroll the device tree on left side? That's because the Search field is dangerous -- it hides details. But if you click the "X" on the far right side of the search bar, then details will be visible again. So please try that and re-post the screenshot.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
210
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That is the right screenshot.
  • Does your board come with WiFi/Bluetooth?
  • Do you have the Z390 AORUS Pro WiFi?
I'm surprised that none of the USB 2 ports is in use. However, remember I said scroll the device tree on left side? That's because the Search field is dangerous -- it hides details. But if you click the "X" on the far right side of the search bar, then details will be visible again. So please try that and re-post the screenshot.
It is Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra and I didn't remove onboard wifi card. I will send you screenshot soon.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
210
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, you are right, it gives more details if I find them without searching:
1588450817653.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
12,212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, you are right, it gives more details if I find them without searching:
View attachment 466647
That's much better.
  • Please expand HS14 -- your on-board Bluetooth is very likely there.
  • Looks like you're not using a USB SSDT or USBPorts.kext. That's okay for now, but the port limit patch may need to be modified with subsequent versions of macOS.
  • Anyway, do you have USBInjectAll.kext in CLOVER/kexts/Other?
    • If you do, then add this to Boot Arguments in Clover Configurator: uia_exclude=HS14
    • And reboot
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
12,212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am still having crazy slowdowns with Final Cut pro and it is causing me to want to abandon this project. My rig works great with Pro Tools. Final Cut is so buggy. PLEASE someone help.

the most recent video I edited for my youtube channel was a simple 1 camera angle tour of my recording studio. I shoot with a Sony A6400. 4k Video. Simple color correction, and very basic sharpening is all the was applied to the footage. I am unable to simply push spacebar and have the video just play, I still get regular spinning beach balls. And almost every time I Hit the spacebar, the play head jumps to the very end of the video timeline. Its a significant slow down. My bruce x test was about 12 seconds.

I have a 9700k, Designare z390, 32gb gskill DDR4, Sapphire Pulse RX580 8gb. Thanks in advance.
@3rdPowerCitizen,

Did the replies to this post help you solve or circumvent the problem?
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
210
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That's much better.
  • Please expand HS14 -- your on-board Bluetooth is very likely there.
  • Looks like you're not using a USB SSDT or USBPorts.kext. That's okay for now, but the port limit patch may need to be modified with subsequent versions of macOS.
  • Anyway, do you have USBInjectAll.kext in CLOVER/kexts/Other?
    • If you do, then add this to Boot Arguments in Clover Configurator: uia_exclude=HS14
    • And reboot
Here is what I get now:
1588453061922.png

And my bluetooth is recognized, but handoff is still not working.
1588453136723.png
 
Top