Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 26, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Just follow this build by @CasseySJ very carefully. It is a very detailed and complete guide, and you can't go wrong (famous last words). If you do, post back here as there always is someone to help, usually @CaseySJ. :thumbup:
@TinkerTenor @jb007

A subtle but noteworthy clarification: Although macOS NVMe can be installed in any M.2 slot, it should be moved to M2P if Windows is also installed in an NVMe SSD. If Windows is installed onto a SATA 2.5" SSD or onto a SATA M.2 SSD then it will operate over the SATA bus instead of PCIe bus, so it won't install its boot loader on the macOS NVMe SSD.

Thanks to you both - for now I have macOS installed on the only NVMe I have, in M2P. There is nothing in M2M for now. When I'm ready to install Windows I'll remove the macOS NVMe until it's finished installing.

Also glad to report my build went well and everything is up and running beautifully! I'll post my Radeon Boost results in a separate post here in a minute.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
17
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700 (non-K) - Power Limits removed!
Graphics
RX 580
*** OpenCore 0.5.7 Experimental Setup for Designare Z390 ***
(Please do not quote this guide in its entirety. Post a link instead.)

Hi CaseySJ and friends. In reference to the OpenCore experimental setup, how should we approach this guide if we are installing fresh from scratch (particularly the part about product number, serial number, etc.)? It seems the guide is moreso tailored for swapping across from Clover. Is most of the guide from Dortania applicable, not mentioning the specific Kexts / SSDTs that can be taken from the Clover guide?

Thanks very much!!
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Finished installing Catalina 10.15.4 from the fresh install mini guide last "night." Thank you so much @CaseySJ!

I had a minor flub where I flashed the BIOS to f9b and set it up according to post #1...but did so AFTER unlocking the motherboard instead of before. Once I realized my mistake things went much better. Everything is working wonderfully although while adjusting settings in the BIOS to match post #1 I ended up having to disable XMP. The first time I set up all the settings as described there, I got a notice that the BIOS had been reset to safe settings. Trial and error led me to just leaving XMP disabled and then all was well. My RAM is:

Corsair CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 Vengeance RGB PRO 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 3200 (PC4-25600) C16 Desktop Memory Black

Once everything was complete I ran some benchmarks. For some frame of reference on what I'm upgrading from, my "video editing rig" up till now has been a 2012 Mac mini with 16GB of RAM and an upgraded SSD. Poor Thing.
Screen Shot 2020-04-29 at 3.57.22 AM.png

I have to say I'm thrilled with how it's all working. My only question would be whether or not there's a way to get XMP working.
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,136
Hello @Rulebreaker01 ,
Just 4 posts above yours, I referred to alternative download locations that were kindly shared by @hamzab

I noticed that as well.
GFX AVG in Intel Power Gadget would not go above 0,48 on my system while playing the 4K video.

I just tried VideoProc > Setting > Harware Accelerate Enginge Options, and ran the accelation tests.
GFX AVG would jump tp 1.20 almost immediately, see screenshot.
View attachment 465609

hi,

i realized that when i ran the acceleration test on video proc,the avg. gfx value jumps correctly to 1.2 ghz but it doesnt go down after. It stays on 1.2 ghz. When i send the machine to sleep after wake up theavg. gfx goes down to zero and when i rerun the acceleration testit goes up to 1.2 ghz and afterwards as well done to zero but at first bootor after restart it behaves on full 1.2ghz and doesnt go down. Do you have the same behaviour? As i see from your printscreens iramon probably yes...
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
520
Motherboard
GA-Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9900K
Graphics
UHD630 & Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The mystery of not knowing/understanding what was causing the odd behaviour was killing me (proverbially), pushing me to keep searching for an answer and dragging @CaseySJ along. Your observation concludes the quest and gives peace of mind, along with my normal hours of sleep ;)

A big thank you to @SuDoDmz and @CaseySJ!

Glad there is some rhyme and reason to this issue. Good job damaging your board :p
That said, the missing parts are "just" resisters and there is a pretty good chance the board will work fine by simply bridging the space between the missing resisters with a conductive ink /solder pen. should be able to get that for like $10.
g\

EDIT- get a crabon based pen since it has some resistance anyway
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Pro WiFi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Hello

I would like to connect a NZXT KRAKEN X62 USB port on Motherbord z390 aorus pro wifi but all USB ports are used as follows:

1- fenvi T919 wifi card in F_USB2

2- GC-TITAN RIDGE in F_USB1

3- Where to connect Nzxt kraken x62 on my motherboard ?????

If the cable shown in the attached picture works, can you please send me the purchase link from amazon? and If there is another way, tell me about it Thank you very much and appreciation
 

Attachments

  • problem no usb hub 2.0.jpg
    problem no usb hub 2.0.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 39
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
You should definitely go with resoldering (if you ask me). Simple reason(s):
1. you consider buying a new mainboard anyway, so why not fix it?
2. More experimenting :twisted: (means more learning)
3. Price for components such as these are mere cents.
And you would need a good pair of tweezers and an even better magnifier :lol: Or a member here could help us out, but definitely worth trying. Would be pity to throw such a good board away, just because three components worth a few cents are missing.
Glad there is some rhyme and reason to this issue. Good job damaging your board :p
That said, the missing parts are "just" resisters and there is a pretty good chance the board will work fine by simply bridging the space between the missing resisters with a conductive ink /solder pen. should be able to get that for like $10.
g\
EDIT- get a crabon based pen since it has some resistance anyway
Last night after @SuDoDmz cracked the mystery, I ordered a new board right away and it should be arriving tomorrow.
I'm loving the experimental side, but it has been just about the only thing I've been doing for the last week or so.

I might try soldering my board the quick-and-dirty way as suggested by @genzai. A friend that lives nearby is into electronic projects and I believe he has a proper soldering station ... if so, he just might be the right guy to fix it the proper way for me, with replacing the correct resistors.

Kind words, really, buuut...
...have whacked some components myself, back in the day. That tiny stuff really isn't robust, at all. You could take those down with your fingernail. I think these are the reasons, why I noticed :)
Damn, you cracked my secret how the components went AWAL as well ;) Although I think it was the SOIC8-clip doing the whacking in my case.
If it means anything ... your unfortunate experience back in the day was very helpful for me.

Thanks guys!
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Hello

I would like to connect a NZXT KRAKEN X62 USB port on Motherbord z390 aorus pro wifi but all USB ports are used as follows:

1- fenvi T919 wifi card in F_USB2

2- GC-TITAN RIDGE in F_USB1

3- Where to connect Nzxt kraken x62 on my motherboard ?????

If the cable shown in the attached picture works, can you please send me the purchase link from amazon? and If there is another way, tell me about it Thank you very much and appreciation
Hello @Olass
You would need a USB splitter cable. Casey has listed them including amazon links in the first post, in the section Components New.
Screenshot 2020-04-29 at 12.43.44.png


Bonus tip
After you've hooked up your Kraken X62 to USB using the splitter, have a look at these tips to Monitor and Control NZXT Kraken All-in-One Coolers in macOS.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
99
Motherboard
GA Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello

I would like to connect a NZXT KRAKEN X62 USB port on Motherbord z390 aorus pro wifi but all USB ports are used as follows:

1- fenvi T919 wifi card in F_USB2

2- GC-TITAN RIDGE in F_USB1

3- Where to connect Nzxt kraken x62 on my motherboard ?????

If the cable shown in the attached picture works, can you please send me the purchase link from amazon? and If there is another way, tell me about it Thank you very much and appreciation

I use this: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Aqua-Compu...Hub-schwarz-/293205713027?hash=item44446c2083
 
Top