Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
12,868
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ

So I have restored my dual monitor setup by going back to un-modified NVM 23 on GC-Titan Ridge. While I haven't tested this, I believe I could go back to un-modified NVM 43 or 50 and still have dual monitor support. I have read that Clover has had issues over the last few releases, I was on 5108, I have since updated to 5114. No issues booting on either one.
Some questions:
You mentioned having a newer NVM 50 release that you were getting better results with. Is that something I can try?
Have you tried flashing the Designare NVM 33 to your GC-Titan Ridge?
Have you been able to pass 2 monitors over your TR card?

What I keep going back to is I don't understand why the patched firmware would affect running monitors directly off the GPU? I feel like I'm missing something.

Sorry for many questions. :banghead:
Sure, please try the modified NVM 50 for GC-Titan Ridge attached here. Because I don't currently own Thunderbolt monitors, I cannot say whether this will work.
 

Attachments

  • GC-TITAN-RIDGE-NVM50-Elias64Fr-14B.bin.zip
    276.3 KB · Views: 54
Joined
Jan 28, 2010
Messages
223
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E WS
CPU
E5-2697 V3
Graphics
GTX 760
Sorry, I know it is in this megathread somewhere, but what pins are you connecting on the TB cable if no header on the motherboard? Was it 3+5? How are the pins being numbered? Thanks!
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2016
Messages
34
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-DELUXE-3105
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
...look at this
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2490.JPG
    IMG_2490.JPG
    2.1 MB · Views: 94
  • IMG_2491.JPG
    IMG_2491.JPG
    316.2 KB · Views: 84
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Messages
122
Motherboard
GigaByte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega FE Liquid
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, system audio was spotty, and only worked at low sample rates. Daisy chaining was also spotty and while hot plug seemed to work in terms of connecting the interface to the comp, audio wouldn’t work properly. On the fly sample rate changing worked but resulted in massive audio distortion. The only sample rate that did work was 44.1khz, I think because thats sort of the default rate that most things would use anyway. Occasionally channel mapping was screwy and generally unusable. The IO tree before the update had the UAD driver on a completely different section than the TB controller, and the TB controller was not recognized in System Info. It was like the computer could see the device and the driver knew what to do, but they weren’t speaking the same language in terms of syntax, ie bussing.

With the firmware update, all of these aforementioned issues seem to have been solved. Of note, turning on the device on the end of the chain, waiting for it to initialize, and so on down to booting the computer seems to be the way to go, although hot plugging does also seem to be functional once everything has been booted properly once (see note at bottom). The UAD hardware reset was necessary, having the TB cables unplugged while doing it. I did not have to do the whole “unplug all power, disconnect all cables, let it sit for ten minutes” thing described elsewhere, which frankly i think is a load of hooey,lol. Just make sure the TB cables are unplugged when resetting and turn the devices on from last to first, and then the comp PSU (because the TB controller is powered without the comp being booted). I can’t think of anything else, but if anyone has any questions with regard to getting a UAD device working I’d be happy to help!

Note: HotPlugging seems to advance the ch count in Console by 2 every time, ie 1-2 becomes 3-4 and so on with each hotplug reinstatement of the audio session.
@smashdownbabylon hi, just wondered how your getting on with the UAD? I've got the Apollo 8 TB2/3 - Quad satellite TB2 and an 8Core PCie.. I've had a more stable OS and Hack in the past - however after updating last year to newer OS and Clover updates etc I've been having a few niggles with the Apollo not being recognised, audio stuttering once or twice.. Hotplug now and then.. So I thought it may have been the updates I'd done etc. and have been trying to find a new solution, Opencore was one recent 'project', now looking to flash the onboard TB via the Pi route.. after just reading over your post I'm even more optimistic.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,654
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sure, please try the modified NVM 50 for GC-Titan Ridge attached here. Because I don't currently own Thunderbolt monitors, I cannot say whether this will work.

Is this a new firmware for GC-Titan or is this a firmware from different Titan?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys, sorry for disturbing you
I am a beginner, I would like to update Clover versions from 4 to 5.
I find the Mini Guide where there is written to run "Clover 5xxx .pkg installer"
My question is probably silly, but where can I find this ? I have to download ?
Thank you very much for your helping

By the way I have a problem with sound. When I am seeing a video (YouTube or by using VLC), the sound lost synchronization with the video by stoping few seconds. Do you know where the problem could come from ?

Have a good day :)
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Messages
284
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Assuming the motherboards come out Q1 next year with the appropriate processors, will you upgrade at that point but still maintain your Z390 system with the latest applicable MacOS releases?

I'm only asking as if you're not, I'm going to have to curb back spending at Christmas so I can upgrade with you :p. My plan was to keep this system for at least a 3 or so years, but don't mind upgrading earlier if it means you are (and won't be supporting the Z390 further).

Besides, these builds are way cheaper than Mac Pros and even iMacs, and come with more headroom for gaming etc (no thermal limitations, can upgrade SSD whenever etc) so we've saved loads of money in the long-run anyway. A Comparable iMac with i9/16GB RAM/1TB NVMe SSD and a Vega 48 (WHAT!?) comes to a whopping £3600 (granted there's a 5K screen too), which is astounding. I've always only bought MacBook Pros as they're not too bad when it comes to buying and then selling on after a few years, plus would never dream of hacking a laptop as too much effort. But I just can't justify Apple's desktop pricing. The mini is a thermal frying pan when it comes to heat, and I've read/heard setting up eGPUs with the mini and then bootcamping etc is almost as much of a pain as an actual Hackintosh!
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2020
Messages
40
Motherboard
Designare z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Has anyone tried single modules of 32GB RAM with Z390 Designare?
i.e a setup with 2x32GB or 4x32GB?

If so, has it caused any problems, what brand and model did you use?

I am using 4x32GB of OLOy memory (least expensive kit I could find). No issues at all. In clover I had to create a custom memory mapping that split it up into 8x16GB, but in OpenCore it works out-of-the-box (P.S. thanks to you and everyone else who have made that amazing guide possible). I have the XMP profile enabled, but the memory speed is set to 2666 (instead of the default 3000 for my kit) because I was having some issues with the machine waking up properly otherwise.
 
Top