Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
237
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Could be a moot point but I made sure my Fenvi card was properly plugged in, unscrewed and then re-screwed all the antennas at the back and then ensured the flimsy cable that fenvi provide to connect the pcie card to the motherboard usb header was properly connected (the holes on the connector of the fenvi cable aren’t amazing and don’t line up as well as other similar cables, like the ones that come with your case’s usb 2 poets, so don’t break the pins by pushing too hard!)

After doing that, my hand off and airdrop perform admirably. I still am looking at sleep issues with handoff but connectivity wise I can’t fault the card in terms of Bluetooth range
Hmmm. I actually removed the card and reinstalled it a couple of days ago including the usb cable and it's still about the same. Works fine if I move the mouse closer to the machine, but at a distance, it's not good at all. Thanks.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2014
Messages
149
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
We just have to add HS14, which has been done in the attached file. The rest of the micro-guide still needs to be followed.
Is it possible you provided the wrong file for my R6 Define case with USB-C in the front?

My iPad Pro still gets power from the front, but now it doesn't recognize the iPad anymore (data).

From your start-post, the following files are normally included when you have a R6 define case:

Screenshot 2020-04-21 at 20.12.26.png


So, I think I need to add HS14 to "SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-USB2-ON-TB-V3.aml" instead of added HS14 to "SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-V3.aml" (which then will be V4 of course).

Is this correct?
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Messages
280
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@CaseySJ

Quick update on Handoff and sleep. Unfortunately sleep still eludes the machine, even with disabling proximity wake and tcpkeepalive. Disabling handoff in system preferences, general, makes sleep work perfectly FYI.

I did notice one thing however. Sometimes sleep does work, however the one time it absolutely doesn’t work is if the pc is asleep, and I tap the mouse or keyboard to wake it, but don’t enter a password when it wakes. At that point the display will turn off after 2 mins and the pc will remain awake for hours. However, eventually if I tap in my password, do some stuff every now and then, the pc does sometimes fall asleep (but for the most part it doesn’t, and looking at pmset it blames handoff as the preventidlesleep reason).

Just pointing this out if it helps, although it could mean complete rubbish! If you have any ideas please let me know. I’m thinking of reinstalling one more time as I honestly don’t remember this being a problem last time. If it still has a problem then, I’ll just turn off handoff for now and wait till the intel drivers mature a bit (fingers crossed).
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
bluetooth2.png

@hamzab
Yeah. For the most part, I'm happy with my Fenvi card.
The build quality is nothing to write home about but much better than other Broadcom Wi-Fi cards from AliExpress/Alibaba. The Wi-Fi connection is very stable and fast.

But the Bluetooth part causes trouble from time to time. I don't experience any sleep issue with Fenvi. But unlock with Apple Watch never worked to begin with, and recently(maybe after installing 10.15.4), Continuity Camera/Apple Pay/SideCar is not working anymore, while Continuity Documents/AirDrop/AirPlay is working. The range is okay but am experiencing random jitters with my AirPods/magic mouse occasionally. Maybe I have a bad batch or maybe it's my lack of experience :think:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
919
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
3 months in with my Hack and I have to say all is working very well. Massive thanks again to Casey et al for their continuing, and most excellent work here.

Since getting the system together, the only thing I have done is to replace the "OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi" driver with the 2 mentioned in the update within this thread.

What are the advisable steps to maintaining my hack for the next year or two? I think I will likely stick with Mojave 10.4.6.

Do I need to update Clover? I've switched off automatic OS updates

Could I in theory, leave my system as-is for the foreseeable? I will likely only update applications like Cubase, Pro Tools, plugins etc. but not much else.
I am on 10.14.6. I use my hack as a DAW and for photo editing mostly. It works well. I will not update until forced to.
I have an extra test SSD with Catalina. It works OK, but I don't see a feature that I really need, and the software that I use on daily base doesn't run any better.
It's different for people that are into hackintoshing because they like a challenge, then part of the fun is probably living on the bleeding edge with the latest macOS.

I like to tinker with computers, but I first and foremost need an affordable and powerful machine that reliably runs my favorite soft- and hardware.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,104
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I noticed now that a number of Handoff functions are not working on my Test Bench:
  • Unlock with Apple Watch
  • Apple Pay
  • Sidecar
  • Continuity Camera
Booting from a pre-supplemental update backup of 10.15.4 also has the same issue. Will check these functions on my main system shortly.

In your case, please try setting shikigva=80 in Clover Configurator --> Boot --> Arguments. Then reboot and try Sidecar again.
** Update: Fixing Handoff, Unlock w/Apple Watch, Continuity Camera **

It's all working 100% now -- even Continuity Camera is back! What did I do?
  • Shutdown iPad, iPhone, Apple Watch
  • Restart iPad, iPhone, Apple Watch
  • Log out of iCloud on iPad
    • When iOS asked if I wanted to delete local copies of various items I said yes
    • Everything was on iCloud anyway
  • Log out of iCloud on iPhone
    • When iOS asked if I wanted to delete local copies of various items I said yes
    • Everything was on iCloud anyway
  • Log back into iCloud on iPad
  • Log back into iCloud on iPhone
  • Then un-pair Apple Watch using iPhone, and re-pair the Watch.
Then on Hackintosh:
  • Logout of iCloud
    • When macOS asked if I wanted to delete local copies of various items I said yes
    • Everything was on iCloud anyway
  • Reboot
  • Log back into iCloud
  • Then shutdown, remove power plug, wait full 5 minutes.
    • You may not need to wait so long... I was just doing other things...
  • Reconnect and power up.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,104
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hmmm. I actually removed the card and reinstalled it a couple of days ago including the usb cable and it's still about the same. Works fine if I move the mouse closer to the machine, but at a distance, it's not good at all. Thanks.
Have you tried using an outboard antenna such as this?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,104
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is it possible you provided the wrong file for my R6 Define case with USB-C in the front?

My iPad Pro still gets power from the front, but now it doesn't recognize the iPad anymore (data).

From your start-post, the following files are normally included when you have a R6 define case:

View attachment 464024

So, I think I need to add HS14 to "SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-USB2-ON-TB-V3.aml" instead of added HS14 to "SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-V3.aml" (which then will be V4 of course).

Is this correct?
You didn't mention which of the two SSDTs you are using so I assumed you were using the normal one: SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-V3. Simply un-comment the HS14 lines in the dsl version and save it as type ACPI Machine Languae (aml). This is done using MaciASL, which is available from the acidanthera GitHub site.
 
Top