Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 5, 2020
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64 Crossfire Vega 56
Installing 10.15.4 from scratch or updating to 10.15.4 from an earlier version can be very tricky. The procedure I summarized in the Mini-Guide may or may not work on other boards. But one of the key steps is to use config-AMD-GPU.plist from the ZIP file and copy your existing RtVariables and SMBIOS sections into it.

If you're updating to 10.15.4 (not a fresh install) then please see Plan C:

Thanks for your detail reply. I tried creating a new clover USB and after numerous trial and error I have recognized a simple solution.

Switching off InjectAti.

And everything is working fine again. Hope it may help anyone stucked by this. Do you have any idea for the reason behind? Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
789
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
Some other things to check:
  • Did you switch SMBIOS recently?
  • Did you move from Clover to OpenCore or vice-versa?
  • Has your SystemUUID changed (in SMBIOS) intentionally or accidentally?
  • Has your Board Serial Number changed intentionally or accidentally?
  • Has your main Serial number changed intentionally or accidentally?
  • Does the problem occur with any of Apple's services such as iCloud, Messages, FaceTime, App Store, Music Store, etc.?
  • Or does it happen only with third-party apps?
CaseySJ--I've never understood the significance of Board Serial Number. could you pls give us a quick lesson as to its significance and information on if and how to generate it? thanks!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 25, 2019
Messages
61
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
I7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Guys, I ran into a Freeze/Wake/Sleep problem lately. I am still on 10.15.2. Everything worked very well. No changes, no updates besides installing Audotdesk Fusion 360. I did everything as summed up in #11918 here (cloverwise, energy saving preferences, and USB hardware disconnected) but still when I dont touch the computer it freezes after some minutes. When I do somethin this does not happen. Problem is I cant let it e.g. copy a larger file to a hard drive etc. cause it would freeze.

Any Ideas how to proceed would be very appreciated. I was not really able to follow this thread for a while since it is growing so quickly but as I understood from the fist post we are already on 10.15.3 resp. 10.15.4 and OC is really a thing to consider meanwhile. Should I do a fresh install? I of course got the clean backup.

Thank you
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Messages
339
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ocquirks v22 requires edits to the plist to function. Theme rendering in 5109 has changed. Many older themes no longer render correctly.

@doof

Is this necessary for all of us or just for Gigabyte Z390 owners?
Having a Gigabyte Z370 btw.

Thanks for clearing that up!
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
795
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@doof

Is this necessary for all of us or just for Gigabyte Z390 owners?
Having a Gigabyte Z370 btw.

Thanks for clearing that up!

Not necessary for Z370 or Z390. Totally personal choice.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
350
Motherboard
ASUS X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Guys, I ran into a Freeze/Wake/Sleep problem lately. I am still on 10.15.2. Everything worked very well. No changes, no updates besides installing Audotdesk Fusion 360. I did everything as summed up in #11918 here (cloverwise, energy saving preferences, and USB hardware disconnected) but still when I dont touch the computer it freezes after some minutes. When I do somethin this does not happen. Problem is I cant let it e.g. copy a larger file to a hard drive etc. cause it would freeze.

Any Ideas how to proceed would be very appreciated. I was not really able to follow this thread for a while since it is growing so quickly but as I understood from the fist post we are already on 10.15.3 resp. 10.15.4 and OC is really a thing to consider meanwhile. Should I do a fresh install? I of course got the clean backup.

Thank you

This sounds like same issue I found on a new build (GB Z390 Aorus Xtreme, which is almost identical to the GB G390 Designare mobo) and I saw either with Mojave or Catalina. It turns out it's related to WEG and using a Radeon VII (and from your sig, you're using the 5700XT, which is similar). My understanding it that it's related to WEG and HDMI audio problems, even if you're not using HDMI audio.

The solution for my freezes (exactly as you described) was to remove WEG and manually use SSDT's to rename iGPU and dGPU. (The thread where I found the solution is by @pastrychef here.) If you remove WEG and perform these changes, you'll need to use a DisplayPort, not an HDMI, cable.

Attached are 2 files that should help with renaming the 5700XT as well as the iGPU. One set is for a simple re-name that WEG would perform. The other set includes specific files for a Radeon VII and the 5700XT with SoftPowerPlayTable injection (by CMMChris, the creative behind these SPPT mods), along with injecting iGPU data for an iMac19,1 SMBIOS (this latter injection may already in position inside the Devices Properties section if you're using CaseySJ's Clover/OC setup; in which case only use the simple iGPU SSDT file). That is, the more complex iGPU SSDT injects "AAPL,ig-platform-id" is 0x0300983E and "framebuffer-patch-enable" is 0x01000000 along with renaming GFX0 to IGPU.

One minor quibble is that when WEG is removed, during the Apple progress bar boot, you'll see some pink/purple lines at the top of the screen. They're of no consequence other than being less than pristine. WEG normally suppresses those artifacts, and so without WEG, you'll see them.
 

Attachments

  • iGPU-dGPU-Simple-Rename.zip
    3.6 KB · Views: 45
  • iGPU-R7-5700-Inject-DeviceProperties-and-SoftPowerPlayTable-.zip
    6.6 KB · Views: 42
Last edited:

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,198
  • Are you using Clover 5107/5108?
  • If so, try using a different Theme, such as Embedded or Tonymacx86.
    View attachment 460816
  • Regarding the multiple icons, my question is:
    • What are the names of those icons?
      • In other words, select the one on the left. What does Clover say? "Boot aaa from bbb"?
      • Then select the next one. What does Clover say? "Boot ccc from ddd"?
Ok there are 4 boot volumes or options

From left :-
1. Boot FileVault Prebooter from Preboot
2. Boot macOs Install Prebooter from Preboot
3. Boot macOs from Mojave
4. Boot Recovery from Recovery.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,431
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This sounds like same issue I found on a new build (GB Z390 Aorus Xtreme, which is almost identical to the GB G390 Designare mobo) and I saw either with Mojave or Catalina. It turns out it's related to WEG and using a Radeon VII (and from your sig, you're using the 5700XT, which is similar). My understanding it that it's related to WEG and HDMI audio problems, even if you're not using HDMI audio.

The solution for my freezes (exactly as you described) was to remove WEG and manually use SSDT's to rename iGPU and dGPU. (The thread where I found the solution is by @pastrychef here.) If you remove WEG and perform these changes, you'll need to use a DisplayPort, not an HDMI, cable.

Attached are 2 files that should help with renaming the 5700XT as well as the iGPU. One set is for a simple re-name that WEG would perform. The other set includes specific files for a Radeon VII and the 5700XT with SoftPowerPlayTable injection (by CMMChris, the creative behind these SPPT mods), along with injecting iGPU data for an iMac19,1 SMBIOS (this latter injection may already in position inside the Devices Properties section if you're using CaseySJ's Clover/OC setup; in which case only use the simple iGPU SSDT file). That is, the more complex iGPU SSDT injects "AAPL,ig-platform-id" is 0x0300983E and "framebuffer-patch-enable" is 0x01000000 along with renaming GFX0 to IGPU.

Again: if you do these changes, you need to use a DisplayPort cable as an HDMI cable probably won't work.

One minor quibble is that when WEG is removed, during the Apple progress bar boot, you'll see some pink/purple lines at the top of the screen. They're of no consequence other than being less than pristine. WEG normally suppresses those artifacts, and so without WEG, you'll see them.

With Radeon VII, you only lose the middle two DisplayPorts. The HDMI and the DisplayPort furthest from HDMI will still work. As far as I can tell, that's the only down side to removing WhateverGreen.

If/when removing WhateverGreen, we need to rename GFX0 to IGPU and PEGP to GFX0 (in that order). This can be done in config.plist. The same can be done in both Clover and OpenCore.
Screen Shot 2020-04-10 at 11.40.51 AM.png

When using IGPU heedlessly, you really don't need to set any ig-platform-id or device-id. macOS should auto detect and configure it automatically.

Correct, the pinkish/purpleish lines are just cosmetic.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2019
Messages
61
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
I7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, @pastrychef @rj510, I will try that this tonight. Do I need to change anything within the attached files for my card since its not a VII? Just checking because I did not do any Hackintosh related stuff for months. Thank you.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,431
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, @pastrychef @rj510, I will try that this tonight. Do I need to change anything within the attached files for my card since its not a VII? Just checking because I did not do any Hackintosh related stuff for months. Thank you.

I don't use the SSDTs. I just do the renames in config.plist.
 
Top