Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
201
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
RX580 Nitro+
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have modified the Raspberry Pi instructions by recommending the low-cost clip over the Pomona 5250 because the low-cost version better encapsulates the Winbond W25Q80DV.

If you desoldered the chip off the motherboard then re-soldered the same chip back and subsequently confirmed that the chip is (a) readable, (b) has correct firmware, and (c) is not in an Unknown state, then there may be hope.
  • Have you used a magnifying glass to ensure there is no solder bridge between any of the pins?
  • Do all neighboring components on the motherboard look good? There are tiny SMD capacitors and resistors nearby. We need to ensure that there's no solder residue in any surrounding component.
  • Was the board wiped clean with 70% or higher isopropyl alcohol (IPA)?
It might be a good idea to re-flash the motherboard BIOS (not Thunderbolt firmware, but standard BIOS), then re-configure BIOS parameters once again.
Well I have the low cost clip and I couldn't fit it once. Must be a different one maybe.

We have not used a magnifying glass but I believe my friend did a pretty good job and was clean about it.​

Yes, he used IPA to clean the motherboard after each solder. I'm actually going to get a magnifying glass and take a closer look.​

Neighboring components look alright, maybe you can give us a second opinion.​
After your message, I went ahead and took a closer look.

As you can see from the photos, the solder of pins 7-8 looks a little weird from one angle, so I checked if they're shorted. They were not.

After comparing to some photos I took before soldering, I realized that there is one capacitor/resistor missing right above pin 7-8 of the chip.

Do you mind taking a photo of your chip and the surrounding area so we can do a comparison?
Maybe also measure what kind of resistor/capacitor is that in case it's replaceable.

Here's the "before" picture:

IMG_3694.jpg


Here's the "after"

IMG_3718.jpg

IMG_3715.jpg



After that, I checked pin 7 and the right pin of the missing component and they're connected. Then I measured the left pin's voltage while powered and it's 3,3v.

Since pin 7 was essentially disconnected, the chip wouldn't work without it. So I went ahead and connected those two pins together with some flux, then voila, thunderbolt is working.

Screenshot 2020-04-08 at 02.02.31.png


I was blown away by how everything worked just like that. My TB1 hard drive is suddenly recognized. Sleep/wake worked like a charm. WOW!

Tried a warm boot to Windows and it recognized the already connected hard drive there as well.
Under windows, thunderbolt software still doesn't show the ports and hot plug did not work.

Anyway, back to OSX, ioreg is fully populated now.
I hope the UID is properly assigned and there won't be any issues with that.

Screenshot 2020-04-08 at 01.56.55.png



@CaseySJ thank you so much for sticking it out with us, really appreciate your contribution to this community. Big shout out to my friend that soldered this for me, I didn't trust myself enough to solder something like that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@bugsyraz This could be exactly my problem, too! The small component at pin 7 is missing here as well! I think it was ripped off the board while trying to get the SOIC-8 clip in the right position.
I will bridge the two pins now (as long as we don’t know which value the capacitor or resistor is) and tell you how this works out.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
113
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Color Classic, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
@CaseySJ

So I happened to be playing some Master Chief Collection on my windows drive and I had a Thunderbolt Control Center notification pop up mid game (probably 1+ hour into gaming, so not right at system boot) then quickly disappear. I did not have any thunderbolt devices plugged in and thought that was strange. Opened up the control center and checked the "About" page, and all the thunderbolt controllers appeared! My built in Alpine Ridge AND the flashed GC-TR NVM23.

They listed the controllers as:

Alpine Ridge NVM: 18.07
Alpine Ridge Security: SL0 (No Security)


Titan Ridge NVM: 23
Titan Ridge Security: SL1 (User Auth)

The only way I know of changing the security level of the TB3 controller is in bios, which currently is set to NO SEC. Is there a way to force the Titan Ridge into SL0 No Security mode?
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Messages
23
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Having an issue where periodically my computer is not recognized by my online accounts and I have to reauthorize them (Audio plugins, Dropbox, Google accounts on Chrome). It was originally only happening with Native Instruments plugin authorizations but after over a week away from the studio due to the pandemic, when I got in and booted up today I had to reauthorize EVERY online account. Anyone know how to fix this? Assuming it's an issue with the serial #?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,991
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
...
After your message, I went ahead and took a closer look.
...
After comparing to some photos I took before soldering, I realized that there is one capacitor/resistor missing right above pin 7-8 of the chip.
It's always the little things! :)
Do you mind taking a photo of your chip and the surrounding area so we can do a comparison?
Maybe also measure what kind of resistor/capacitor is that in case it's replaceable.
I was about to post my photos...but no need now!
...
After that, I checked pin 7 and the right pin of the missing component and they're connected. Then I measured the left pin's voltage while powered and it's 3,3v.

Since pin 7 was essentially disconnected, the chip wouldn't work without it. So I went ahead and connected those two pins together with some flux, then voila, thunderbolt is working.
Congratulations!
I was blown away by how everything worked just like that. My TB1 hard drive is suddenly recognized. Sleep/wake worked like a charm. WOW!
And that makes it all worth it...
Tried a warm boot to Windows and it recognized the already connected hard drive there as well.
Under windows, thunderbolt software still doesn't show the ports and hot plug did not work.
Eh, who cares. :)

What is the make/model of your Thunderbolt 1 Hard Drive? Did it work before flashing the firmware? If it is working only now, then I'll add it to the new list of Thunderbolt devices.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,991
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@bugsyraz This could be exactly my problem, too! The small component at pin 7 is missing here as well! I think it was ripped off the board while trying to get the SOIC-8 clip in the right position.
I will bridge the two pins now (as long as we don’t know which value the capacitor or resistor is) and tell you how this works out.
If it helps, here are some photos. Since I went through the trouble of taking them, I might as well post them! :) They are taken with slightly different lighting and zoom conditions.

IMG_1217_resize.jpg IMG_1218_resize.jpg IMG_1219_resize.jpg IMG_1220_resize.jpg
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,991
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@CaseySJ

So I happened to be playing some Master Chief Collection on my windows drive and I had a Thunderbolt Control Center notification pop up mid game (probably 1+ hour into gaming, so not right at system boot) then quickly disappear. I did not have any thunderbolt devices plugged in and thought that was strange. Opened up the control center and checked the "About" page, and all the thunderbolt controllers appeared! My built in Alpine Ridge AND the flashed GC-TR NVM23.

They listed the controllers as:

Alpine Ridge NVM: 18.07
Alpine Ridge Security: SL0 (No Security)


Titan Ridge NVM: 23
Titan Ridge Security: SL1 (User Auth)

The only way I know of changing the security level of the TB3 controller is in bios, which currently is set to NO SEC. Is there a way to force the Titan Ridge into SL0 No Security mode?
User Authorization may be okay. Do you have any trouble connecting Thunderbolt devices to the GC-Titan Ridge in either Windows or Mac?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,991
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Having an issue where periodically my computer is not recognized by my online accounts and I have to reauthorize them (Audio plugins, Dropbox, Google accounts on Chrome). It was originally only happening with Native Instruments plugin authorizations but after over a week away from the studio due to the pandemic, when I got in and booted up today I had to reauthorize EVERY online account. Anyone know how to fix this? Assuming it's an issue with the serial #?
Your Mac's serial number might be taken by a real Mac. If that's true, it will be necessary to generate a new one in Clover Configurator.

To check if your serial number is available, run Hackintool and do this:

Screen Shot 2020-04-07 at 5.37.58 PM.png
Hackintool will then take you to Apple's serial number site where your computer's serial number will be automatically entered. Just enter the Captcha and see if you get this message:
Screen Shot 2020-04-07 at 5.38.48 PM.png
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
113
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Color Classic, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
User Authorization may be okay. Do you have any trouble connecting Thunderbolt devices to the GC-Titan Ridge in either Windows or Mac?
For example, my friends UAD interface I tested a few days ago wouldn't take the first time I plug into the AIC and boot up, it needs to be warm boot for it to fully connect. It connects first try without any driver errors using the built in under no security. If the built in is set to user auth, it behaves the same as the titan ridge needing to be warm booted or boot into windows first.

I was helping get his system setup on an X299 board with a flashed Titan Ridge card and was finally able to get the on-board alpine ridge (not custom firmware) to play nice with the Titan Ridge card with some trial and error with SSDTs. In the end we settled with using the on-board TB3 for his interface and the Titan Ridge for his external USB-C drives.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
114
Motherboard
z390 Designaire
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K, Classic, Lisa, Plus, Portable, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I got it working.
  • Updated to latest OCQuirks.efi/OpenRuntime.efi
  • Removed VirtualSmc.efi/FwRuntimeServices.efi
  • Updated VirtualSMC.kext/SMC*.kext
Looks like the plist format for OcQuirks has changed since the v15 version that was in the guide. Some entries have been renamed and it looks like there are some new ones. Is there an updated plist for designaire using the new nomenclature? Will the default plist work? In earlier versions the default settings did not work for me.
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>AvoidRuntimeDefrag</key>
<true/>
<key>SetupVirtualMap</key>
<true/>
<key>ProvideCustomSlide</key>
<true/>
<key>DevirtualiseMmio</key>
<true/>
<key>DisableSingleUser</key>
<false/>
<key>DiscardHibernateMap</key>
<false/>
<key>EnableSafeModeSlide</key>
<true/>
<key>ProtectCsmRegion</key>
<false/>
<key>ProtectSecureBoot</key>
<false/>
<key>ShrinkMemoryMap</key>
<false/>
<key>ForceExitBootServices</key>
<true/>
<key>DisableVariableWrite</key>
<false/>
<key>EnableWriteUnprotector</key>
<true/>
<key>ProvideConsoleGopEnable</key>
<true/>
<key>SignalAppleOS</key>
<false/>
</dict>
</plist>
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>AvoidRuntimeDefrag</key>
<true/>
<key>DevirtualiseMmio</key>
<false/>
<key>DisableSingleUser</key>
<false/>
<key>DisableVariableWrite</key>
<false/>
<key>DiscardHibernateMap</key>
<false/>
<key>EnableSafeModeSlide</key>
<true/>
<key>EnableWriteUnprotector</key>
<false/>
<key>ForceExitBootServices</key>
<true/>
<key>MmioWhitelist</key>
<array/>
<key>ProtectMemoryRegions</key>
<false/>
<key>ProtectSecureBoot</key>
<false/>
<key>ProtectUefiServices</key>
<false/>
<key>ProvideConsoleGopEnable</key>
<true/>
<key>ProvideCustomSlide</key>
<true/>
<key>RebuildAppleMemoryMap</key>
<true/>
<key>SetupVirtualMap</key>
<true/>
<key>SignalAppleOS</key>
<false/>
<key>SyncRuntimePermissions</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</plist>
 
Top