Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Messages
121
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
5700 XT
Hello @CaseySJ I reinstalled the system..now I'm in Mojave 10.14.6 (18G103),he replaced OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000 with FwRuntimeServices but when I update Clover to 5108, I've seen in the driver64UEFI folder. They have disappeared a few files. The other files I have copied to new driver folder (drivers/UEFI), and I have this..its correct? Thanks¡¡
Captura de pantalla 2020-04-02 a las 6.26.44.png
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,835
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ @Elias64Fr @scottkendall @NorthAmTransAm
Here are my results with the flashed GC-AlpineRidge card.

I think the BIOS on my board doesn't like when 2 TB3 controllers appear, since the card seems to not want to function like the Titan Ridge does. Also similarly, the stock firmware checksums don't match before and after updating the card with Gigabyte TBTFlash utility.

not sure my system digs the alpine ridge AIC and Titian ridge AIC in the system together either if that makes you feel better.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2018
Messages
210
Motherboard
Asus Dominus Extreme
CPU
3175X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Whoa,
what plist file is that??

g\

The firmware contains an additional plist file where you can see those entries which describes the related parts.

So in the end all of the other besides from top and back are "thunderbolt ports" related to the MPX modules. Nothing more, nothing less.

Did you extract the firmware via Linux? Any news for us?
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Designare-EX
CPU
E5 1660 V3
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi,CaseySJ. My gigabyte alpine v2 card cannot be used after brushing the firmware (v1 and v2) provided by you. I don't see anything under the IOReg. After brushing the NUC firmware came the Thunderbolt device tree. But the LG monitor can not use, can recognize.
 

Attachments

  • QQ20200402-0.png
    QQ20200402-0.png
    426.6 KB · Views: 47

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,779
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
NVM18 , By the way: ASUS IC needs to be disassembled and flash。
To easily flash Asus ThunderboltEX-3, we should use the capacitor/resistor circuit described below. This method works consistently. The card must, of course, be removed from PCIe slot.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,779
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @CaseySJ I reinstalled the system..now i'm in Mojave 10.14.6 (18G103),he replaced OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000 with FwRuntimeServices but when i update clover to 5108 i've seen in the driver64UEFI folder they have disappeared a few files,the other files i have copied to new driver folder(drivers/UEFI)and i have this..its correct? thx¡¡
View attachment 459033
Hello @yapiyapo,
  • Clover 4xxx stores EFI drivers in CLOVER/drivers64UEFI
  • Clover 5xxx stores EFI drivers in CLOVER/drivers/UEFI
So after upgrading from Clover 4xxx to 5xxx, please do this:
  • Copy all drivers from CLOVER/drivers64UEFI --> to --> CLOVER/drivers/UEFI that are not already in CLOVER/drivers/UEFI.
  • Then delete the old CLOVER/drivers64UEFI folder and empty the trash.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,779
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ @Elias64Fr @scottkendall @NorthAmTransAm
Here are my results with the flashed GC-AlpineRidge card. All of these tests were done with complete power shutdown, and with resetting BIOS optimized defaults after each HW change.
...
I think the BIOS on my board doesn't like when 2 TB3 controllers appear, since the card seems to not want to function like the Titan Ridge does. Also similarly, the stock firmware checksums don't match before and after updating the card with Gigabyte TBTFlash utility.

Code:
-Stock from box-
5d3eaa15ebe19c43c2417e7681dadd0492788e2a  GC-AlpineRideBackup-3.bin
-After TBTFlash Update-
4e45e9894eb504ea394cd2304c7d266a9e24d8c1  GC-AlpineRideBackup-4.bin

Attached are the stock firmware dumps I made to see if there are any differences in what everyone has been working with (doubtful).

Cheers!
Apologies for the late reply...
  • The only difference between the two firmware files in your post are these handful of bytes.
  • These differences, fortunately, can be ignored because they are in Scratch Area 0.
    • Flash Region 0 spans 0x0000 to 0x0FFF
    • Flash Region 1 spans 0x1000 to 0x1FFF
    • Scratch Area 0 spans 0x2000 to 2FFF
    • Scratch Area 1 spans 0x3000 to 3FFF
Screen Shot 2020-04-02 at 4.17.17 AM.png

However, the table clearly shows system confusion when both on-board and add-in-card controllers are active. Time to upgrade to a new system? :)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,779
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,CaseySJ. My gigabyte alpine v2 card cannot be used after brushing the firmware (v1 and v2) provided by you. I don't see anything under the ioreg. After brushing the NUC firmware came the thunderbolt device tree. But the LG monitor can not use, can recognize.
Hello @Mace,

Which version of firmware did you try: NVM20-V1 or NVM20-V2 or both?

Because I don't have GC-Alpine Ridge, let me ask:

All,

If anyone is using a GC-Alpine Ridge with firmware flashed from the Repository, please let us know:
  • Which NVM was flashed? (NVM20-V1 or NVM20-V2)
  • Does Thunderbolt Bus appear?
  • Do Thunderbolt devices connect and operate?
  • Which motherboard is it in?
  • Are you using THB_C header cable or are you connecting pins 3 and 5 to force power on?
 
Last edited:
Top