Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
348
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for your reply. I’ve tried pretty much everything up to now. over the weekend I swapped out the power supply for a new one, some issues.

things I’ve tried but still get freezing:

  • unplugging all USB devices except for mouse (and used a different mouse/keyboard)
  • changed power supply for a new one
  • unplugged nvme drive and ran OS from a SATA ssd via USB 3 and internally
  • swapped nvme drive for a new one
  • unplugged all SATA drives and cables
  • disconnected all USB board headers
  • disconnected Thunderbolt audio devices and turned off Thunderbolt in bios and used a different audio interface.
  • Used 1 screen only without and with WEG/LILU
  • tried different graphics ports on card
  • disconnected wifi/bt PCIE card
  • disconnected USB 3 PCIE card
  • Swapped out 5700xt with a new different brand of 5700xt
  • swapped out for a older known working rx 580
  • tried a different power outlet from my wall
  • reseated and checked my cpu and board pins for damage
  • swapped ram for new ram
  • xmp for ram off and on
  • tried BIOS with all auto OC off and on
  • tried setting ram voltages and speeds/timings manually
  • turned off turbo/speed step cpu stuff
  • tried bios versions f7, f8 and f9b
  • reset cmos and Bios settings
  • checked motherboard and sockets for visible signs of damage
  • check all power connections to board (I have ALL optional connectors and power attached from an 850w psu)
  • turned off screen sharing settings
  • deleted and disabled photos app/library
  • checked for rogue kexts
  • checked EFI folders and files and plist 1000x times
  • tried different smbios
  • forgot all the other things I’ve tried....
Things I haven’t tried:

- reverting to Mojave (stubborn)
- swapping out the motherboard
- swapping the cpu
- disconnecting fans or swapping them
- swapping case (is that even a thing?)

Today or tomorrow I’m swapping out the motherboard, so I’m begging the computer gods to have mercy on me. It’s been 3-4 months of computer hell. Moreover, it like the graphics card just stops communicating with the system, the screens freeze the audio continues, mouse moves, then the whole system just halts and I need to hard reboot. Really only happens when working on things in audio or video apps. During the last few days of intensive testing, I found I don’t need to wait to be the freezing to happen, I can just load up a project in an app and crash it within 1-10mins.

yay!
If you run an alternate O/S (Linux, Windows) does the machine lockup? Try running Linux + some applications off of the Ubuntu or Fedora Live disk and see if the machine locks up. I would do this for a couple days before tearing the machine apart.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
348
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I finished the installation of Catalina. The only problem is that on BIOS disappeared all my bootable disks. I can enter on the Clover Boot Menu just loading the USB installation pen drive. After that, if I press boot from Catalina, it starts. What can I do?
Typically due to CSM being enabled in the uEFI
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,844
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It should certainly apply to other devices as well, as long as Thunderbolt Bus is activated "properly".

Hmmm....."properly". Sounds like more detail is needed. Any thoughts about a guide for add-in cards?
I knew that was coming!

This just means the following:
  • Thunderbolt Bus is activated.
  • Thunderbolt device appears both on the bus and under DSB1 or DSB4 (IORegistryExplorer) with the full device tree.
On add-in-cards such as GC-Alpine Ridge and GC-Titan Ridge, it might be necessary to hot-plug the device and in some cases one warm reboot might be needed.

As long as the Thunderbolt device is fully rendered in IORegistryExplorer, then it will work.

On my Designare Z390 at this very moment I have:
  • On-board controller flashed.
  • GC-Titan Ridge add-in-card in PEG1 (middle long slot) with special modified version of NVM 43 (beta testing it for someone).
On the GC-Titan Ridge, Thunderbolt devices tend to work well in Port 2 (each port is marked). An warm reboot is needed to fully materialize the device tree. After wake-from-sleep the Thunderbolt device continues to work, but it gets removed from Thunderbolt Bus. A warm boot restores it. (These issues don't exist with on-board flashed controller.)

Screen Shot 2020-04-01 at 11.19.25 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-04-01 at 11.23.12 AM.pngScreen Shot 2020-04-01 at 11.25.53 AM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,260
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Okay, let me know if you need a volunteer. My Titan Ridge works in Windows mode, but, as I do live close by.....after some time, it might be interesting to know if your process works for an X299 board with only a Titan Ridge card...

Just a thought....
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
73
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
19,1 vs iMac Pro 1,1 is what I tried. Same benchmarks really CPU wise. Graphics performance seemed to depend on the software being used. Generally, I got better performance in most video apps with iMac Pro 1,1 SMBIOS, probably because igpu was disabled.

What is really strange is that my benchmarks in geekbench 5 went up by 10k (10k!) in both SMBIOS profiles when set the PCIE x4 slot to CPU side vs PCH side in BIOS. I say strange because when I do that, the PCIE lanes for my 5700xt go down from 16x to 8x, so I’m supposed to be getting less performance....maybe there’s more to it. I tried Mac Pro 7,1 but it’s pretty incompatible with this hardware setup.
oh man , ill try it now , what your scores are?
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
73
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
I have an odd thing happening where my Mac restarts when testing VEGA VII in Geekbench 5 like every other time. Also I don't hear fans speeding up when under load. I'm not sure if its an app or my settings. Is a fresh install from a Mini Guide 10.15.4? Anyone knows why that would be happening?
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gygabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
Gygabyte GeForce GTX970 G1 Gaming Edition
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
That's the million dollar question! We're just waiting for someone (like you :)) to test an Antelope audio interface on a flashed Designare Z390. You would be the first person to do this...

Copying @qthegaijin @franzasensi because of their interest in this.
Thanks man, I can't wait to make use of the AFX2DAW stuff!
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390 - F6
CPU
i5-9600
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse RX550
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry for the late reply. Are you running Mojave or Catalina?

It sounds as if the HDMI frame buffer patch is not installed. If you are using a USB-C to DisplayPort cable connected to one of the Thunderbolt ports, then it's easy: Just follow this guide from Post #1:


View attachment 458954

If you installed Catalina from the Mini-Guide, then I would be surprised if you're facing this problem because config-IGPU.plist located in the ZIP file has this patch pre-applied.

Just to chime in here, if you do have the frame buffer installed, when I upgraded to Catalina I could not get the HDMI to work at 60hz after the login screen unless I put the machine to sleep and woke it up again, even though the monitor supports 60hz. Switching the monitor to 50hz in OSX system prefs fixed it (I used a second monitor attached to the thunderbolt port to do this).
 
Top