Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Aug 22, 2014
Messages
284
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@CaseySJ I've gone through the start post and (a lot!) of posts following. Thank you very much for all the write-ups you do, I've already learned a lot.

I have a current build (which differs from yours) on MacOS 10.15.4 which is working perfectly fine (stable-wise). I want to replace it with new hardware. I want to basically buy the same build you have (some components I already own, such as the Fenvi, RX 570, SSD's).

So my question; can I use my current (pre-installed) SSD, using your EFI, and replace mine? If so, which files should I use from your start post? What do you recommend in my situation?

Hopefully, you can help me out a little bit.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
"Preparation:
  • This procedure depends on Native NVRAM.
    • This guide will do most of the work for you, but you must unlock your motherboard's MSR 0xE2 register by following the simple Micro-Guide by clicking here.
    • Unlocking MSR 0xE2 register is required. This installation process will fail immediately if this is not done."
I have never done that, but if I want to do a clean install of 10.15.4 must do I this "unlock" ? Even if I have a Native NVRAM...
Hello @zgonda
If you haven't done that (unlocking the MSR 0xE2 register) then you do NOT have Native NVRAM. It's more likely that you have emulated NVRAM via Clover RC scripts on your current system, but that is not the same as Native NVRAM.

If somebody hasn't Native NVRAM, should he do that ?
What is the benefit of this unlock ?
This question has been asked (and answered) before in this thread. Casey has outlined the many benefits perfectly here (please read!).

If you want to follow Casey's Mini-Guide for Direct Installation of Catalina 10.15.4, Native NVRAM is no longer optional but required as stated in the guide:
Screenshot 2020-03-29 at 12.07.38.png


You can verify if your MSR register is unlocked or not (and unlock the register if necessary) by following Casey's Micro-Guide: Unlocking MSR 0xE2 on Gigabyte Designare Z390.

Be aware that if you want to enable Native NVRAM on your existing installation, there are other changes you need to make! There is a perfect guide to enable NVRAM on existing installations. This includes unlocking the MSR register, making changes in Clover Configurator, adding an SSDT to your EFI/CLOVER folder, and removing Clover RC scripts.

Hope that this clarifies things for you.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,262
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
Just did the reprogramming using @Elias64Fr NVM23 modified firmware (may thanks @Elias64Fr) along with a modified version of the SSDT for personalized DROM / UID as per the mini guide. Reprogramming done without a hitch. Port 7 is now visible in IOREg, as well as Thunderbolt bus. :) . Thank you very much!
Will do some more testing now.
As an aside (but nothing really serious): it looks like that boot time is a bit longer now. Also, wake / sleep is working but at wake up I can hear the RX580 spining up and down prior (just as during the boot process). This was not the case before. Are these behaviors related to your quote on the firmware not being perfect? many thanks and best.
Awesome!

Regarding slow boot time, if it’s bothersome then try this (insane?) procedure...
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
789
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
anyone know what the deal is with clover installer 5107 skipping destination select in mojave 10.14.6?
do you have just one disk in your system with an EFI partition? maybe the latest clover skips the Change Install Location option if there is only one EFI partition available. just guessing.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
136
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
This is very puzzling. Maybe we should wait for next version since a hot fix was added 4 days ago. Probably best to revert to 0.7.3 until 0.7.6 comes out...

View attachment 457951


The other day I've tried upgrade to 0.75, my USB devices went south, so immediately back to 0.73
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,262
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ I've gone through the start post and (a lot!) of posts following. Thank you very much for all the write-ups you do, I've already learned a lot.

I have a current build (which differs from yours) on MacOS 10.15.4 which is working perfectly fine (stable-wise). I want to replace it with new hardware. I want to basically buy the same build you have (some components I already own, such as the Fenvi, RX 570, SSD's).

So my question; can I use my current (pre-installed) SSD, using your EFI, and replace mine? If so, which files should I use from your start post? What do you recommend in my situation?

Hopefully, you can help me out a little bit.
This should be possible:
  1. Backup your existing system (including EFI partition).
  2. Download Zip file from Catalina 10.15.4 mini-guide.
  3. Replace all files in your Clover “drivers/UEFI” folder with corresponding files in Zip.
  4. Replace all files in your Clover “kexts/Other” folder with corresponding files in Zip.
  5. Replace all files in your Clover “ACPI/patched” folder with corresponding files in Zip.
  6. Copy your SMBIOS and RtVariables sections into config-AMD-GPU.plist in the Zip file. Then rename that file to config.plist and replace your existing config.plist with the new one. See the bottom of this post to see how this can be done easily.
  7. Reboot and see if it works...
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @zgonda
If you haven't done that (unlocking the MSR 0xE2 register) then you do NOT have Native NVRAM. It's more likely that you have emulated NVRAM via Clover RC scripts on your current system, but that is not the same as Native NVRAM.

Thank you for your attention, but I had Native NVRAM by following the "perfect guide" before this new "Mini-Guide for Direct Installation of Catalina 10.15.4 and Newer". Is it necessary, in case of Direct Installation of Catalina 10.15.4, to follow the "Micro-Guide: Unlocking MSR 0xE2 on Gigabyte Designare Z390" when we have Native NVRAM by following the "perfect guide" ?
With terminal, I have : TestVar Hello
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Thank you for your attention, but I had Native NVRAM by following the "perfect guide" before this new "Mini-Guide for Direct Installation of Catalina 10.15.4 and Newer". Is it necessary, in case of Direct Installation of Catalina 10.15.4, to follow the "Micro-Guide: Unlocking MSR 0xE2 on Gigabyte Designare Z390" when we have Native NVRAM by following the "perfect guide" ?
Oh I see, so you unlocked the MSR register to enable Native NVRAM on your motherboard for an earlier installation?
In that case, you don't need to unlock it again.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank You !!
To put it another way: does the procedure "Unlocking MSR 0xE2" for replacing the previous one activate the NVRAM Native, is it better ?? (for new users)
May be it's not the same thing, even if Native NVRAM unlock MSR 0xE2, Unlocking MSR 0xE2 doesn't enable Native NVRAM ?
In this case why not favor the Native NVRAM procedure ?
 
Last edited:

z4k

Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Curious issue. After 2 months of using my Hackintosh exclusively with no problems, yesterday this grey area started appearing in the left side of my login screen out of the blue. It seems to be there every time I restart, or on cold boots. Any ideas about the cause of this?

(10.14.6 // OC 0.5.5)

LWScreenShot 2020-03-29 at 14.22.28.png
 
Top