Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 27, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hello @dadest,

Your CLOVER configuration has two competing USB port definitions:
  • CLOVER/ACPI/patched/SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-HS8-HS13-TEMP.aml
  • CLOVER/kexts/Other/USBPorts.kext
You can temporarily remove the second one (USBPorts.kext) and reboot. Also please check whether USBPorts.kext exists in /Library/Extensions. If it does, it should be removed (and then run Kext Utility to rebuild the kernel cache).

Also please check that latest UAD drivers for macOS are installed, and that the Apollo itself is running the latest firmware.

Hi @CaseySJ, Thanks for the response!

I had no luck with my previous Mojave Hackintosh settings, so I decided to freshly install Mojave 10.14.6 using Unibeast/Multibeast today. I used the latest settings and files from the 1st post in this thread and EFI/Mojave system folders look like this now:

Code:
SSDT-DESIGNARE-Z390-NO-CNVW.aml
SSDT-DTPG.aml
SSDT-EC.aml
SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V7.aml
SSDT-Z390-DESIGNARE-RX580-V2.aml
SSDT-Z390-DESIGNARE-TB3HP-V4.aml
Code:
WhateverGreen.kext
Lilu.kext
USBInjectAll.kext
FakeSMC.kext
Code:
SMCHelper-64.efi
ApfsDriverLoader-64.efi
AudioDxe-64.efi
DataHubDxe-64.efi
EmuVariableUefi-64.efi
FSInject-64.efi
HFSPlus-64.efi
OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi

Code:
ACS6x.kext
AHCI_3rdParty_eSATA.kext
AHCI_3rdParty_SATA.kext
AppleALC.kext
ArcMSR.kext
ATTOCelerityFC8.kext
ATTOExpressSASHBA2.kext
ATTOExpressSASRAID2.kext
CalDigitHDProDrv.kext
FakePCIID_Intel_GbX.kext
FakePCIID.kext
FakeSMC_ACPISensors.kext
FakeSMC_CPUSensors.kext
FakeSMC_GPUSensors.kext
FakeSMC_LPCSensors.kext
FakeSMC_SMMSensors.kext
FakeSMC.kext
HighPointIOP.kext
HighPointRR.kext
IntelMausiEthernet.kext
klif.kext
klnke.kext
Lilu.kext
PromiseSTEX.kext
SmallTreeIntel82576.kext
SoftRAID.kext
USBInjectAll.kext
WhateverGreen.kext
XHCI-unsupported.kext

ietB3WD.png

xYLrvZ3.png

GO2NA4S.png

A5KCUcH.png

ohfWBFe.png

myYQE5U.png

BPGUg5I.png

zjCkEfx.png

lfK2dyF.png

YP0bRxN.png

hy6865f.png

dU3tWF2.png
Ee2Te2A.png

2atqDfI.png

TN3PXas.png
lMBcqnP.png
SPjzg4M.png

I installed UAD Apollo Drivers but the system still doesn't see any device – even when plugging in the interface at the clover boot screen during the countdown (I read some people had success with this approach using UAD devices on Hackintosh)...

Thank you very much for your help!

UPD: The issue was in BIOS settings – I switched 'TBT Host Router' to 'One port' and enabled 'TB Toot Support' – don't know which one of these two helped.

Thanks again!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Anyone having issues updating clover? This is the first time I've updated it. Clover configurator will only let me update up to 5104. When I choose any higher version and click update, nothing happens. It also reports the "Current booted revision" as 5098 (the one I've always been on). I also downloaded the Clover_r5107.pkg directly and ran it. It seems to install fine but when I reboot and then check with clover or clover configurator app it still says it booted from 5098. I am choosing my main drive when I install.

EDIT: I do see some files have changed in the EFI partition but don't understand why it reports as still on 5098.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,321
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks! Both my CLOVER folder and my OpenCore folder are attached. It makes no difference for the Thunderbolt issue which one I use. Everything else works just fine. Note that there’s no Unibeast/Multibeast involved in my system, I used the Vanilla method. Also note that I have MSR 0xE2 unlocked.
Some results after using your Clover EFI on my Test Bench:
  • When I first booted the system with your Clover EFI, my Thunderbolt port speeds were reduced to 20 Gbps and DSB1/DSB4 device trees corresponding to Thunderbolt ports 1 and 2 would not populate.
  • At first I tried to isolate the problem by editing out and modifying various elements of your SSDT, but eventually gave up.
  • Then I replaced only your Thunderbolt SSDT with mine, and everything worked.
  • This means that the Thunderbolt SSDT that we use in the main build guide does not work and should not be used after enabling Thunderbolt Bus.
Instead, please do this:
  • Download the Thunderbolt SSDT located in the Thunderbolt DROM Micro-Guide for Designare Z390.
  • Copy it as-is into the CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder. (Let's stick with Clover for now.)
  • Move or delete the existing Thunderbolt SSDT from that folder.
  • Reboot and check System Information --> Thunderbolt. Feel free to post relevant screenshots with UIDs blacked-out.
  • Eventually, replace the UID with a custom UID.
Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 11.50.49 AM.png Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 12.30.56 PM.png
 
Joined
May 19, 2019
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Vega FE
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i have followed the instructions and fresh install to the t! i also enabled nvram support via changing the msr to 0x0 for the f9b designare bios firmware on the motherboard. i have serious trouble with wake and sleep freezing and half the time a black boot screen as well as the automatic restarts during boot load in clover i can't change the shikigva it is stuck at set to (40) running on display port from the internal graphics card igpu (amd vega frontier liquid cool edition). i can't find any where on any forum to set the shiki-id for this type of amd graphics igu. i'm wondering now if this is a amd vega frontier edition issue because i also can't remove the emuvariable.efi inside the clovers/drivers/uefi folder after successfully enabling the msr 0x0 nvram. the said instructions with @CaseySJ allows you to enable nvram while removing the emuvariable the default efi file to allow clover to override the system nvram. i also removed the rc scripts that was recommended in the designare msr procedure. this works then doesn't it seems to be choosy. i will attach my efi folder and screenshots to anyone who is willing to take a look at the configuration i have set up. if anyone has any suggestions on how to fix the issues with possibly the amd vega frontier edition please let me know. i really need help with the setup of shiki-id for the amd frontier edition graphics card. i have a lg 4k display using display port from the gpu. @CaseySJ suggestions? thank you in advanced !

p.s: i also can't remove the darkwake=0 in the clover boot argument section as this also negatively impacts the system from booting.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 3.10.42 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 3.10.42 PM.png
    594.4 KB · Views: 29
  • Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 3.11.44 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 3.11.44 PM.png
    184.4 KB · Views: 31
  • Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 3.12.25 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 3.12.25 PM.png
    50 KB · Views: 29
  • Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 3.19.49 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 3.19.49 PM.png
    447.3 KB · Views: 31
  • Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 3.20.47 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 3.20.47 PM.png
    26.4 KB · Views: 27
  • EFI.zip
    3.9 MB · Views: 22

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,321
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Casey i think you missed my first post which is perfectly understandable given todays post activity i am running MacOS Catalina 10.15.4
I see! Can you post a screenshot of your /Library/Extensions folder and your CLOVER/kexts/Other folder?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,321
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ , thanks for all your help with everything related on this thread.
I would like to disable my Nvidia card in slot 2, and I see the file you attached in post #1 "SSDT-Designare-Z390-Disable-Slot-2-GPU.aml", but do you know if it'll work with my Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Xtreme ?
I see that the .aml is for Designare, so wasn't sure if I could just plug it in for my setup..
Yes it should work as-is on the AORUS Xtreme Z390.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,321
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone having issues updating clover? This is the first time I've updated it. Clover configurator will only let me update up to 5104. When I choose any higher version and click update, nothing happens. It also reports the "Current booted revision" as 5098 (the one I've always been on). I also downloaded the Clover_r5107.pkg directly and ran it. It seems to install fine but when I reboot and then check with clover or clover configurator app it still says it booted from 5098. I am choosing my main drive when I install.

EDIT: I do see some files have changed in the EFI partition but don't understand why it reports as still on 5098.
At the Clover Boot Menu you can see the version number at the bottom of the screen or by pressing "A" for About.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
70
Motherboard
Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
As I earlier didnt read the thread properly. I Didnt want to ask here before I did some research. My system is working great except for one thing. The shutdown is slow. Takes ten seconds. Not that it is really slow. But it was really snappy on mojave. So config on my clover is:
- fixshutdown is checked
- Bootarg slide = 0
- Emuvariable UEFI-64 is loaded
- Aptio memory fix is off.

This was allready installed this way and after some research I guess this is the proper setup. But still the slow shutdowns. Am I doing something wrong. Anyone who can tell me? Thanks in advance.

Edit: Deleted a part which isnt allowed.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,321
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ, Thanks for the response!

I had no luck with my previous Mojave Hackintosh settings, so I decided to freshly install Mojave 10.14.6 using Unibeast/Multibeast today. I used the latest settings and files from the 1st post in this thread and EFI/Mojave system folders look like this now:
...
I installed UAD Apollo Drivers but the system still doesn't see any device – even when plugging in the interface at the clover boot screen during the countdown (I read some people had success with this approach using UAD devices on Hackintosh)...

Thank you very much for your help!
Hello @dadest,

My understanding of UAD's Thunderbolt-based Apollo devices is that they do not need to operate on USB 2.0. So HS08 and HS13 are not needed. Your latest settings look okay (there is no HS08 or HS13).

But we typically have to do this:
  • Install latest UAD macOS drivers.
  • Install latest UAD firmware on the Apollo itself.
If any UAD Apollo owners are reading this, please provide some connection advice...
 
Top