Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,867
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** EXTREMELY IMPORTANT **
Make a full bootable backup of Catalina 10.15.3 before attempting to install 10.15.4

There seems to be a high failure rate with the update to 10.15.4. It may or may not be due to WhateverGreen. Like COVID-19, we don't have a solution for it right now. Don't take chances. If you cannot make a full bootable back right away, do not update.

I do not have WEG installed because I do not like it and the piker black screen fix works perfectly for me. I also use Opencore and VirtualSMC. Long ago I noticed that if you have more than one monitor plugged in things act strange during an install/update. I also noticed that the older OC version that I was using caused some garbled text on the screen during install rather then the apple logo but the bar was there and keep moving forward.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,329
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Is this an issue?

Good question:
  • If you initially used the Catalina Mini-Guide to install Catalina, then you're all set. Nothing more to do because all Hackintosh kexts are only installed in CLOVER/kexts/Other.
  • If you upgraded to Catalina from Mojave, you might have Hackintosh kexts in /Library/Extensions. Those should now be deleted, then rebuild kernel cache by running Kext Utility, and copy the kexts from Catalina Mini-Guide (Zip file attached to that guide) into your CLOVER/kexts/Other folder.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,329
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Elias64Fr
You gave me three files for the test: TB_Z170x-UD5_TH_AlpineRidge_on_board_Dump_patched_test0[1-3].bin
In the first file, you changed 6 bytes, in the second file - 10 and and the third file - 13 bytes.

Elias64Fr, CasySJ, what should be patched in the my original firmware and where to look for it? I read yours Thunderbolt DROM Decoded but there is a lack of information. I understand about time and desire, but I'm not asking for fish... give me please a fishing rod to catch it. :)
How did the three firmware files perform? If I remember correctly, there are still issues?

To determine what to patch in the firmware file, please look at Osy86's article on GitHub. You may click here. All of us are learning from his pioneering work.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello again guys and Thank you CaseySJ for all you are doing for us ,i was able to get rid of that pesky clover pre boot menu ,however i dont know what exaclty did it because as i was reading through our thread here i read all the catalina guides that you have been making for us and decided to re do my clover efi as described in the fresh catalina install guide ,i removed the third party kexts from Library /Extentions rebuild permisions and cache with kext utility and then build my efi exactly as shown in the fresh catalina install guide with two minor diffrences. for the AMD.plist i was already using the 19.1 smbios so i just copied over the board number and serial from my older plist made sure everything was the same in RT Variables ,and in the kexts/Other folder i replaced Lilu,Whatever Green and AppleALC with the latest ,i only have one issue regarding ethernet ,i cleared network preferences from library system configuration in order to double check but it seems one of the ethernet ports is not working i was using the i211 before but i switched over to the i219 because that one is not working now ,any ideas?
More on my predicament, i saw someone else had a similar problem and it was suggested to make sure the bios settings are correct and use the IORegistryExplorer ,i looked at my bios they seem to be in order and the i211 shows up fine ,i also run the IORegistryExplorer and it shows up there too ,only it seems it is still connected to the FakePCIID which i have removed from Library/Extentions
Screenshot 2020-03-25 at 8.01.51 PM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,329
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ

For my 5700 XT i use two monitor on hdmi

Do you think it is works with two cable DVI ?
I have always been a proponent of using current-technology computer monitors that natively support HDMI 1.4/2.0 and DisplayPort 1.1/1.2/1.4. I do not like to use adapters, especially for old standards such as VGA and DVI. However, you can always try/test a DVI adapter.
...
Have you seen my response for my sound card you have ask me ?
Yes I saw your reply about Apollo Twin Reverb Mk. II but I didn't understand it! :)
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good -- this at least confirms that the right DROM is being injected. However, the two USB ports under DSB2 are not present. The full device tree should look like this:
View attachment 456886
Can you please compress and post your CLOVER folder? Please remove serial numbers from SMBIOS before posting. I can try booting my test bench with exactly your files to see what happens.

I am not implying anything in particular by saying this, but before building the Resistor/Capacitor circuit I damaged the flash chip on my Asus ThunderboltEX 3 add-in-card. I can read from it, but erase/write functions are completely inoperative. Flashrom reports that the device is in an "unknown state".

Anyway, let me first boot my test bench with your files.

Always be gentle with those clips! And it's okay to stop and try again the next day. As the late Kenny Rogers sang, "You've got to know when to hold 'em" and "know when to walk away". So absolutely do not force it...

My own desoldering parts and replacement Winbond chips are getting delivered slowly. I plan to replace the damaged chip on the Asus ThunderboltEX 3, but that's a cheap $30 board on eBay. Let me test your files first...
Thanks! Both my CLOVER folder and my OpenCore folder are attached. It makes no difference for the Thunderbolt issue which one I use. Everything else works just fine. Note that there’s no Unibeast/Multibeast involved in my system, I used the Vanilla method. Also note that I have MSR 0xE2 unlocked.
 

Attachments

  • EFI_CLOVER_JimSalabim.zip
    4.8 MB · Views: 29
  • EFI_OC_JimSalabim.zip
    8.9 MB · Views: 180

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,329
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
More on my predicament, i saw someone else had a similar problem and it was suggested to make sure the bios settings are correct and use the IORegistryExplorer ,i looked at my bios they seem to be in order and the i211 shows up fine ,i also run the IORegistryExplorer and it shows up there too ,only it seems it is still connected to the FakePCIID which i have removed from Library/Extentions
View attachment 457000
If you're running Mojave and using SmallTree82576.kext from the Mojave build guide, then you need FakePCIID.kext.

However, there is a modified version of SmallTree82576.kext in the ZIP file at the bottom of the Catalina Mini-Guide. You can use that version instead, as follows:
  • From your Mojave SSD, go to /Library/Extensions and remove these three files:
    • FakePCIID.kext
    • FakePCIID_Intel_GbX.kext
    • SmallTreeIntel82576.kext
    • Download "Catalina Fresh Install.zip" from the Catalina Mini-Guide.
    • Copy SmallTreeIntel82576.kext from there to your /Library/Extensions folder.
  • Now rebuild kernel cache by running Kext Utility
  • Reboot and check the network ports.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
92
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 SAGE/10G (3203)
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
How did the three firmware files perform? If I remember correctly, there are still issues?
Yes, all the problems are still... No hotplug, no Sysinfo.

Thank you for the link, I'll read and learn.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you're running Mojave and using SmallTree82576.kext from the Mojave build guide, then you need FakePCIID.kext.

However, there is a modified version of SmallTree82576.kext in the ZIP file at the bottom of the Catalina Mini-Guide. You can use that version instead, as follows:
  • From your Mojave SSD, go to /Library/Extensions and remove these three files:
    • FakePCIID.kext
    • FakePCIID_Intel_GbX.kext
    • SmallTreeIntel82576.kext
    • Download "Catalina Fresh Install.zip" from the Catalina Mini-Guide.
    • Copy SmallTreeIntel82576.kext from there to your /Library/Extensions folder.
  • Now rebuild kernel cache by running Kext Utility
  • Reboot and check the network ports.
Casey i think you missed my first post which is perfectly understandable given todays post activity
i read all the catalina guides that you have been making for us and decided to re do my clover efi as described in the fresh catalina install guide ,i removed the third party kexts from Library /Extentions rebuild permisions and cache with kext utility and then build my efi exactly as shown in the fresh catalina install guide
i am running MacOS Catalina 10.15.4
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
226
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ , thanks for all your help with everything related on this thread.
I would like to disable my Nvidia card in slot 2, and I see the file you attached in post #1 "SSDT-Designare-Z390-Disable-Slot-2-GPU.aml", but do you know if it'll work with my Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Xtreme ?
I see that the .aml is for Designare, so wasn't sure if I could just plug it in for my setup..
 
Top