Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,254
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire RX590
Mac
  1. iMac
Actually I wake up around 3:00am every day (even weekends) :)

Sounds like Silicon Valley syndrome (getting up early to avoid the traffic and congestion).........I live nearby and worked in Silicon Valley for many, many years.....and I still wake up early, it's become a habit after years and years of getting up early.....:)
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9 10980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
  • Have you run Kext Utility to rebuild the kernel cache?
  • Do you have a full bootable backup?
  • Are you able to boot into Recovery from the Clover Boot Menu?

Yes, have run Kext Utility didn't fix

Didn't get to the bootable backup section yet.

Yes, can boot into recovery.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,401
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sounds like Silicon Valley syndrome (getting up early to avoid the traffic and congestion).........I live nearby and worked in Silicon Valley for many, many years.....and I still wake up early, it's become a habit after years and years of getting up early.....:)
Quite so! I despise traffic and will never justify wasting hours of my life each day stuck in it... The other reason for switching to this insane schedule was to reduce the effects of jet lag when traveling abroad for business.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,401
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, have run Kext Utility didn't fix

Didn't get to the bootable backup section yet.

Yes, can boot into recovery.
  • Did you also update Clover when you updated Lilu and WhateverGreen?
  • Do you still have the USB install disk? (This was used to install macOS.)
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9 10980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
  • Did you also update Clover when you updated Lilu and WhateverGreen?
  • Do you still have the USB install disk? (This was used to install macOS.)
  • No didn't update clover - but there is an update available.
  • Yes still have the install disk, and I'm also about to boot from it into the desktop.
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,148
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@NorthAmTransAm,

The Asus Thunderbolt EX-3 firmware you posted contains both the Asus and Intel NUC firmware.
  • The first (Asus) is at the standard 0x4000 offset.
  • The second (Intel NUC) is at the alternate offset 0x82000.
  • Because the first 4 bytes are 0xFFFFFFFF, it means that the address of the active partition is located at offset 0x1000.
    View attachment 455699
  • When we go to offset 0x1000 we see this:
    View attachment 455696
  • So the active partition is the one at offset 0x82000. When we go there we find the Intel NUC firmware:
    View attachment 455697
  • And when we go back to 0x4000 we find the actual Asus firmware:
    View attachment 455698
My Asus Thunderbolt EX-3 contains:
Awesome info, thank you!

I'll adjust that today when I get the nvm26 firmware from @Loloflatsix :)

Speaking of, Lolo, if it works fine today as is then yay! It should. But, we've got two more files coming:

1) The firmware I "patched" that is updated according to this comment

2) A fresh patched firmware from our dear friend @Elias64Fr that is patched. We just need your backup for NVM26. I believe Elias64fr is already working on NVM18 and I love the idea of a slimmer more intentional file.
 
Last edited:

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,148
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How to recorect CRC32?

Open Hackintool and go the Logs tab. Select system and then refresh (at the bottom). Now command+F to search for DROM. Scroll to the error and it should tell you what to change.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2018
Messages
216
Motherboard
Asus Dominus Extreme
CPU
3175X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro

Attachments

  • Asus-UX550-TB Firmware by Elias64Fr.zip
    115.9 KB · Views: 25

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,401
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • No didn't update clover - but there is an update available.
  • Yes still have the install disk, and I'm also about to boot from it into the desktop.
  • Good -- do not update Clover yet.
  • Booting from USB install disk might also fail, but please try it first.
  • If you cannot boot from USB install disk, then first try this:
    • Remove USB install disk.
    • Reboot computer.
    • At Clover Boot Menu, press space bar, then use arrow keys to move down to Verbose and press space bar to toggle it on. Then press ESC to go back to Clover Boot Menu.
    • Put your smartphone into video capture mode. Start capture video of the computer screen.
    • Select the normal option to "Boot macOS from Mojave" and capture the whole thing with your smart phone.
    • When kernel panic occurs, stop video recording. Then scrub the frames of the video until you get to the point just before the kernel panic. Grab and post those screenshots.
 
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ and others,

Been following this thread again since a week or two since a 6-month break and a broken hackintish. Reinstalled my stuff 2 weeks ago, all seems perfectly fine again, and I'm following the TB developments with great interest, even though my TB (audio-interfaces) requirements are working fine as is.

Anyway, just spotted some chatter about updating clover. Just wondering what would be the appropriate way to do so, since I've struggled with that in the past. If I remember correctly, clover installer allows various checkboxes such as rf scripts etc. Is there some clover upgrade guide available that you know of? Can we simply install clover upgrades over functional hacks, or should certain boxes be checked whilst doing so?

Anyway. Really thankful for all your efforts and those of others around here. Keep up the great work, it's much appreciated!
 
Top