Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,411
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, thanks for this amazing workaround, it works fine !

Nevertheless, I'm still a newbie and I am looking for instructions to install Windows 10 without interfering with MacOS. I didn'i get the thing with M2M or M2P :shifty:

Do you know where I could find a tutorial ? (Important : I choose to enable native NVRAM)
Please see Tips for Installing Windows 10 in the spoiler on Post #1:

Screen Shot 2020-03-19 at 8.46.51 AM.png
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Please see Tips for Installing Windows 10 in the spoiler on Post #1:

View attachment 455514
Thanks for your answer, I read this spoiler actually, but I didn't understand how I should procede for the installation.

I only have one SSD (Samsung SSD 970 EVO 1TB), what is the M2M slot ? If I just create a FAT32 partition in order to install W10, is it ok ? Or should I use Bootcamp ?

 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,411
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Elias64Fr,

I would like to create a Thunderbolt DROM Micro-Guide for GC-Alpine Ridge. The DROM inside the firmware is as follows:

Screen Shot 2020-03-19 at 8.49.11 AM.png

Code:
AD100000 00000086 8020A1E3 C9006600
ED001980 01010881 80028000 00000882
90018000 00000883 80048001 00000884
90038001 000002C5 0B866001 00640000
00000003 87800588 00000002 C9058A50
000002CB 02CC0B01 47494741 42595445
00120247 432D414C 50494E45 20524944
474500
This is my attempt to decode it:
  • AD — CRC-8
  • 10000000 00008680 — UID (Bus ID 0x10?)
  • 20A1E3C9 — CRC32_C
  • 006600ED 00198001 01 — Make/Model Identifier
  • 08818002 80000000 — TBPort 1 / DualLink Port 2 / HPMAddr 0
  • 08829001 80000000 — TBPort 2 / DualLink Port 1 / HPMAddr 0
  • 08838004 80010000 — TBPort 3 / DualLink Port 4 / HPMAddr 1
  • 08849003 80010000 — TBPort 4 / DualLink Port 3 / HPMAddr 1
  • 02C5TBSwitch 5
  • 0B866001 00640000 000000 — TBPort 6 / PCI Down Adapter DSB1
  • 038780 — TBPort 7 / PCI Down Adapter DSB4
  • 05880000 00 — TBPort 8 / DisplayPort or HDMI?
  • 02C9TBSwitch 9 ?
  • 058A5000 00 — TBPort A / DisplayPort or HDMI?
  • 02CBTBSwitch B ?
  • 02CCTBSwitch C ?
  • 0B014749 47414259 544500 — “GIGABYTE”
  • 12024743 2D414C50 494E4520 52494447 4500 — “GC-ALPINE RIDGE”
Some things look strange...
  • It seems there is TBSwitch 5, TBSwitch 9, TBSwitch B, and TBSwitch C.
  • On Titan Ridge, we only enable TB Switch 7, so the question for GC-Alpine Ridge is:
    • Should we only change 02C5 to 0285?
    • Or change them all like this?
      • 02C5 --> 0285
      • 02C9 --> 0289
      • 02CB --> 028B
      • 02CC --> 028C
  • This card contains an HDMI port, so that might explain the need for an additional switch or two.
  • HDMI port is shared with Thunderbolt Port #1.
    • When DP-IN #1 is connected, then user can choose either Thunderbolt Port #1 or HDMI (not both).
    • DP-IN #2 will only drive Thunderbolt Port #2.

Screen Shot 2020-03-19 at 9.00.11 AM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,411
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for your answer, I read this spoiler actually, but I didn't understand how I should procede for the installation.

I only have one SSD (Samsung SSD 970 EVO 1TB), what is the M2M slot ? If I just create a FAT32 partition in order to install W10, is it ok ?
As described in the Designare User Manual:
  • M2M is the upper NVMe slot.
  • M2P is the lower NVMe slot.
Screen Shot 2020-03-19 at 9.14.17 AM.png
Please use Microsoft's Media Creation Tool (click "Windows 10" from that link) to create a Windows 10 USB Install Disk, then follow the guidelines in the spoiler Tips for Installing Windows 10.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
As described in the Designare User Manual:
  • M2M is the upper NVMe slot.
  • M2P is the lower NVMe slot.
View attachment 455519
Please use Microsoft's Media Creation Tool (click "Windows 10" from that link) to create a Windows 10 USB Install Disk, then follow the guidelines in the spoiler Tips for Installing Windows 10.

Thanks for taking the time to reply to me. I checked : my SSD is actually installed in M2M. But I already have installed Catalina on it. The unclear thing for me is that the guidelines in the spoiler seems to say we have to install MacOS and Windows on two separates SSD. May I install Windows on a new partition on my SSD, besides Catalina ?
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,771
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@scottkendall Why do you use the Designare Firmware on the AIC Card?
Does the NVM23 version by @Elias64Fr for the PCIe card doesn't work correctly on your Build ?

Been so much going on here the past few days I am not sure what or who’s version of 23 I used but it had some undesirable results. It may not have been the flash it may have been something else. However, I flashed the designare firmware to the card and it had no issues. Last night I changed my SSDT to the one Casey listed in the micro guide GC Titian ridge and did the edit to the DROM. Now i have full Working TB.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
61
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Thanks for taking the time to reply to me. I checked : my SSD is actually installed in M2M. But I already have installed Catalina on it. The unclear thing for me is that the guidelines in the spoiler seems to say we have to install MacOS and Windows on two separates SSD. May I install Windows on a new partition on my SSD, besides Catalina ?
Switch the SSD position And make sure it still works before installing W10
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
326
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@Elias64Fr,

I would like to create a Thunderbolt DROM Micro-Guide for GC-Alpine Ridge. The DROM inside the firmware is as follows:

View attachment 455516
Code:
AD100000 00000086 8020A1E3 C9006600
ED001980 01010881 80028000 00000882
90018000 00000883 80048001 00000884
90038001 000002C5 0B866001 00640000
00000003 87800588 00000002 C9058A50
000002CB 02CC0B01 47494741 42595445
00120247 432D414C 50494E45 20524944
474500
This is my attempt to decode it:
  • AD — CRC-8
  • 10000000 00008680 — UID (Bus ID 0x10?)
  • 20A1E3C9 — CRC32_C
  • 006600ED 00198001 01 — Make/Model Identifier
  • 08818002 80000000 — TBPort 1 / DualLink Port 2 / HPMAddr 0
  • 08829001 80000000 — TBPort 2 / DualLink Port 1 / HPMAddr 0
  • 08838004 80010000 — TBPort 3 / DualLink Port 4 / HPMAddr 1
  • 08849003 80010000 — TBPort 4 / DualLink Port 3 / HPMAddr 1
  • 02C5TBSwitch 5
  • 0B866001 00640000 000000 — TBPort 6 / PCI Down Adapter DSB1
  • 038780 — TBPort 7 / PCI Down Adapter DSB4
  • 05880000 00 — TBPort 8 / DisplayPort or HDMI?
  • 02C9TBSwitch 9 ?
  • 058A5000 00 — TBPort A / DisplayPort or HDMI?
  • 02CBTBSwitch B ?
  • 02CCTBSwitch C ?
  • 0B014749 47414259 544500 — “GIGABYTE”
  • 12024743 2D414C50 494E4520 52494447 4500 — “GC-ALPINE RIDGE”
Some things look strange...
  • It seems there is TBSwitch 5, TBSwitch 9, TBSwitch B, and TBSwitch C.
  • On Titan Ridge, we only enable TB Switch 7, so the question for GC-Alpine Ridge is:
    • Should we only change 02C5 to 0285?
    • Or change them all like this?
      • 02C5 --> 0285
      • 02C9 --> 0289
      • 02CB --> 028B
      • 02CC --> 028C
  • This card contains an HDMI port, so that might explain the need for an additional switch or two.
  • HDMI port is shared with Thunderbolt Port #1.
    • When DP-IN #1 is connected, then user can choose either Thunderbolt Port #1 or HDMI (not both).
    • DP-IN #2 will only drive Thunderbolt Port #2.

View attachment 455517
@CaseySJ

I think it would be like that :
  • AD — CRC-8
  • 10000000 00008680 — UID (Bus ID 0x10?) >> BusID might be only for macOS not for other manufacturers ?!
  • 20A1E3C9 — CRC32_C
  • 006600ED 00198001 01 — Make/Model Identifier
  • 0881 80 02 80 00 0000 — TBPort 1 / DualLink Port 2 / HPMAddr 0
  • 0882 90 01 80 00 0000 — TBPort 2 / DualLink Port 1 / HPMAddr 0
  • 0883 80 04 80 01 0000 — TBPort 3 / DualLink Port 4 / HPMAddr 1
  • 0884 90 03 80 01 0000 — TBPort 4 / DualLink Port 3 / HPMAddr 1
  • 02C5 — TBSwitch 5 (OK disabled, need to be modified to 0285 for enabling it)
  • 0B86 60 01 00640000 000000 — TBPort 6 / PCI Down Adapter DSB1 (60 suggest that it is DSB3 ?!)
  • 0387 80 — TBPort 7 / PCI Down Adapter DSB4
  • 0588 000000 — TBPort 8 / DisplayPort (?!?) or HDMI? (is that HDMI connector as an input or output ?)
  • 02C9 — TBSwitch 9 ? Port 9 disabled (C mean that port is disabled)
  • 058A 500000 — TBPort A / DisplayPort or HDMI?
  • 02CB — TBSwitch B ? Port B disabled
  • 02CC — TBSwitch C ? Port C disabled
  • 0B014749 47414259 544500 — “GIGABYTE”
  • 12024743 2D414C50 494E4520 52494447 4500 — “GC-ALPINE RIDGE”
Note that first byte on each line is data length included on length calculation; second byte include enabling/disabling data (0x8 as enabled 0xC as disabled) and port number.
From all thunderbolt definition that I saw, Alpine ridge use Port 5 as Switch and Titan ridge Port 7
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,411
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ

I think it would be like that :
  • AD — CRC-8
  • 10000000 00008680 — UID (Bus ID 0x10?) >> BusID might be only for macOS not for other manufacturers ?!
  • 20A1E3C9 — CRC32_C
  • 006600ED 00198001 01 — Make/Model Identifier
  • 0881 80 02 80 00 0000 — TBPort 1 / DualLink Port 2 / HPMAddr 0
  • 0882 90 01 80 00 0000 — TBPort 2 / DualLink Port 1 / HPMAddr 0
  • 0883 80 04 80 01 0000 — TBPort 3 / DualLink Port 4 / HPMAddr 1
  • 0884 90 03 80 01 0000 — TBPort 4 / DualLink Port 3 / HPMAddr 1
  • 02C5 — TBSwitch 5 (OK disabled, need to be modified to 0285 for enabling it)
  • 0B86 60 01 00640000 000000 — TBPort 6 / PCI Down Adapter DSB1 (60 suggest that it is DSB3 ?!)
  • 0387 80 — TBPort 7 / PCI Down Adapter DSB4
  • 0588 000000 — TBPort 8 / DisplayPort (?!?) or HDMI? (is that HDMI connector as an input or output ?)
  • 02C9 — TBSwitch 9 ? Port 9 disabled (C mean that port is disabled)
  • 058A 500000 — TBPort A / DisplayPort or HDMI?
  • 02CB — TBSwitch B ? Port B disabled
  • 02CC — TBSwitch C ? Port C disabled
  • 0B014749 47414259 544500 — “GIGABYTE”
  • 12024743 2D414C50 494E4520 52494447 4500 — “GC-ALPINE RIDGE”
Note that first byte on each line is data length included on length calculation; second byte include enabling/disabling data (0x8 as enabled 0xC as disabled) and port number.
From all thunderbolt definition that I saw, Alpine ridge use Port 5 as Switch and Titan ridge Port 7
Awesome! :)

So we'll change 02C5 (Switch 5) to 0285 (to enable Switch 5) and use macOS system log to find the correct CRC32_C checksum.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,411
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for taking the time to reply to me. I checked : my SSD is actually installed in M2M. But I already have installed Catalina on it. The unclear thing for me is that the guidelines in the spoiler seems to say we have to install MacOS and Windows on two separates SSD. May I install Windows on a new partition on my SSD, besides Catalina ?
  • I do not recommend partitioning the NVMe between MacOS and Windows.
  • One of the tips in the spoiler says this:
    Screen Shot 2020-03-19 at 10.31.10 AM.png
  • If there are any macOS drives in the system, Windows will not install.
  • So you cannot put macOS and Windows on the same disk.
 
Top