Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
79
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. Mac Pro

CaseySJ's Coffee Lake in Phanteks Evolv X ATX Case:
Gigabyte Designare Z390 - i7-9700K - UHD 630 - AMD RX 580

(Please do not quote this build guide in its entirely. Post a link instead.)

View attachment 373051


Upgrading to macOS 10.15 Catalina (from Mojave)? Please see this and this first!

WARNING:
Read this before updating to Catalina 10.15.1 (from Mojave or Catalina 10.15.0)
Mini-Guide for Fresh Installation of Catalina 10.15.1 or Newer
Experimental OpenCore Mini-Guide for Beta Test Volunteers​
...
Hello. I have same system but after a fresh catalina install after boot it goes to black screen is there something i can do? thank you , i also attached my EFI folder to see if i did something wrong.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    7.4 MB · Views: 20
Joined
Apr 28, 2018
Messages
208
Motherboard
Asus Dominus Extreme
CPU
3175X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
Tonight I flashed a GB Titan Ridge with NVM 23 (both chips) with Reveltronics Revelprog-IS; very easy.

Next, I soldered pin 3,5 on back of PCB (no need to use jumpers; I verified with ohmmeter before soldering that these 2 pins are correct).

This system (not Designare, but with a similarly built-in TB chip) shows a TB presence in SystemInformation, but no expanded node in IORegistryExplorer.

Tomorrow, I'll replace a second, as yet un-modified GB TR in the X299 build with the NVM 23 board and see how it works.

You have to flash only the chip with the blue dot!
 
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
243
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Phantom
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks so I can read the alpine ridge without any issues but for some reason I can not read the titan ridge. I am going to grab OSY bin and put it on the alpine ridge and cross my fingers.
edit
it is reading it now...
Grabbing the OSY bin and flashing my Alpine Ridge didn't work for me. My Alpine ridge is a different chip has a different controller (JHL6240 Thunderbolt 3 chip and TPS65982 controller).
Second - I tried reading up "Patching Ridge NVM" and modifying my firmware but unfortunately didn't succeed. There were too many differences in my native firmware and the closest apple match.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,441
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Grabbing the OSY bin and flashing my Alpine Ridge didn't work for me. My Alpine ridge is a different chip has a different controller (JHL6240 Thunderbolt 3 chip and TPS65982 controller).
Second - I tried reading up "Patching Ridge NVM" and modifying my firmware but unfortunately didn't succeed. There were too many differences in my native firmware and the closest apple match.

I guess you did better then me lol because I did not even find the bin. DSB2 in a post somewhere else reference like he modded Alpine ridge PCI firmware.
 
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
243
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Phantom
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I guess you did better then me lol because I did not even find the bin. DSB2 in a post somewhere else reference like he modded Alpine ridge PCI firmware.
It's easy to find the post but he didn't post any .bin for the Alpine Ridge.
Post #679 , pg 28 - MP 1,1-5,1 testing TB3 AIC with MP 5,1
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,441
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's easy to find the post but he didn't post any .bin for the Alpine Ridge.
Post #679 , pg 28 - MP 1,1-5,1 testing TB3 AIC with MP 5,1

Right and that is unfortunate : / I have an Alpine Ridge card and I would like to use it since it does not require power.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
72
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7960X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In Titan Ridge AIC, power is optional, not required.

I´ll upload my SSDT shortly :headbang:

Edit: Uploaded PEG / PXSX SSDT with "ThunderboltDROM", "ThunderboltConfig", Magic over modified NVM23 Titan ridge.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TB3_PEG_BR1A.aml
    6.3 KB · Views: 101
  • SSDT-TB3_PXSX_RP21.aml
    6.1 KB · Views: 111
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
89
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390 - F6
CPU
i5-9600
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Looks like some excellent work going on here with thunderbolt. I have an antelope audio interface so I'm watching with a lot of interest. Thanks everyone for all the hard work, fingers crossed it'll be fully functional soon!

Sorry to detract from all the Thunderbolt work but my UHD 630 still isn't working properly after myCatalina update:

Please try the attached config.plist -- just copy serial numbers back into SMBIOS/RtVariables. Not much is different in this version, so if the problem continues, we can try adding other options such at DVMT Pre-Alloc.
  • What is the make/model of your monitor?
  • Are you using any video adapters or straight HDMI-to-HDMI connection?


Thanks Casey, I've tried your config but with no luck. The HDMI monitor stays black while the TB-DP monitor exhibits flickering lines if booted with the HDMI monitor plugged in. The system reports the UHD 630 correctly though.

After applying casey's config I'm occasionally getting the following crash of the system and wondered if anyone could shed some light on this as it may be released to my issue:

Code:
panic(cpu 0 caller 0xffffff8000a288b7): "AppleHDAHDMI_DPDriver::setPowerState(0xffffff803d480100 : 0xffffff7f8277e730, 0 -> 1) timed out after 10172 ms"@/BuildRoot/Library/Caches/com.apple.xbs/Sources/xnu/xnu-6153.81.5/iokit/Kernel/IOServicePM.cpp:5302
Backtrace (CPU 0), Frame : Return Address
0xffffffa3b061bb40 : 0xffffff800033bb2b
0xffffffa3b061bb90 : 0xffffff80004734d5
0xffffffa3b061bbd0 : 0xffffff8000464f4e
0xffffffa3b061bc20 : 0xffffff80002e2a40
0xffffffa3b061bc40 : 0xffffff800033b217
0xffffffa3b061bd40 : 0xffffff800033b5fb
0xffffffa3b061bd90 : 0xffffff8000ad2aa9
0xffffffa3b061be00 : 0xffffff8000a288b7
0xffffffa3b061be50 : 0xffffff8000a28479
0xffffffa3b061be60 : 0xffffff8000a3f82e
0xffffffa3b061bea0 : 0xffffff8000a27228
0xffffffa3b061bec0 : 0xffffff800037d7e5
0xffffffa3b061bf40 : 0xffffff800037d311
0xffffffa3b061bfa0 : 0xffffff80002e213e
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2018
Messages
208
Motherboard
Asus Dominus Extreme
CPU
3175X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
@juantrix just to understand it better.... You use it in combination with the custom firmware or do you inject both SSDTs at once?

Ahh... One for the Titan other to fix egpu.
 
Last edited:
Top