Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare - Clover
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
iMac
Amazing guide, thanks!!

I followed it step by step, loved the screenshots, helps a lot.
The only problem I had is when entering the command in terminal
cd /System/Volumes/Data/Users/Shared
tail -f EFIClone.log
Result was item can't be found.
Copy finished correctly, but when opening the EFI partition it was empty. I copied the EFI folder from my original drive, rebooted and the copy worked perfectly well. I am guessing it is not normal that I have to manually copy the EFI folder. Does this has something to do with the missing item EFIClone.log? If so, where did I go wrong?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Amazing guide, thanks!!

I followed it step by step, loved the screenshots, helps a lot.
The only problem I had is when entering the command in terminal
cd /System/Volumes/Data/Users/Shared
tail -f EFIClone.log
Result was item can't be found.
Copy finished correctly, but when opening the EFI partition it was empty. I copied the EFI folder from my original drive, rebooted and the copy worked perfectly well. I am guessing it is not normal that I have to manually copy the EFI folder. Does this has something to do with the missing item EFIClone.log? If so, where did I go wrong?
EFIClone-v4.sh is in TEST mode when you download it. In order for it to copy the EFI folder contents you have to change TEST_SWITCH="Y" to TEST_SWITCH="N".
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,492
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
EFIClone-v4.sh is in TEST mode when you download it. In order for it to copy the EFI folder contents you have to change TEST_SWITCH="Y" to TEST_SWITCH="N".
Correct.

I'm thinking of changing the default back to "TEST_SWITCH=N" so that it operates in normal mode instead of test mode. If there are no objections, I'll make the change towards the end of the day (it's about a quarter to 6am right now).
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
155
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
2 x Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
CaseySJ, I've been away from the boards fro a bit and it looks like a lot has changed, from the sold move over the OC (at least to resolve dependance on free2000 memory driver as well as picking up native NVRAM. I wanted to ask what your thoughts were on migration to this more modern approach. Is everything captured in the primary build guide (starting back on Page 1) or are there mini-guides sort of sprinkled through out the 1500 posts that really need to be followed in order to be successful? Thank you for you guidance...
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
CaseySJ, I've been away from the boards fro a bit and it looks like a lot has changed, from the sold move over the OC (at least to resolve dependance on free2000 memory driver as well as picking up native NVRAM. I wanted to ask what your thoughts were on migration to this more modern approach. Is everything captured in the primary build guide (starting back on Page 1) or are there mini-guides sort of sprinkled through out the 1500 posts that really need to be followed in order to be successful? Thank you for you guidance...
There is a mini guide, with updates, which also links to a mini guide for NVRAM. Click Here.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Correct.

I'm thinking of changing the default back to "TEST_SWITCH=N" so that it operates in normal mode instead of test mode. If there are no objections, I'll make the change towards the end of the day (it's about a quarter to 6am right now).
I would advise to never recommend people use scripts that modify their system on the first run without any control.
While the script should be stable, there are no guarantees. The log will still be generated in Test mode, that's what it's for, so that's definitely not a reason to disable it by default.

While with disabling the test switch the advantage is that the script will work on the first try, the disadvantage is that worst case, any and every bit of data on the entire system could be wiped. These odds are weighed extremely towards the disadvantages, so I would recommend always leaving the test switch enabled under all circumstances when first downloading the script.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
188
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
IMPORTANT NOTE: Because this file is downloaded from this website (i.e. from the Internet), it may automatically receive a "quarantine" flag in macOS. Simply run Terminal, "cd" to the folder containing the file, and type xattr -d com.apple.quarantine EFIClone-v4.sh. Then quit Terminal and continue to next step.
I am having some trouble with this. Permission denied...

Screen Shot 2020-02-24 at 10.23.50 (2).png

Then when I clone the SSD, the script appears to run at the end within CCC, but my log looks like this:

Screen Shot 2020-02-24 at 10.26.28 (2).png

And all of that came up when I first typed the command when CCC got to the part of running the script, nothing seemed to happen in the terminal.

I've split my System drive and Home folder, if that matters at all....
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,492
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am having some trouble with this. Permission denied...

View attachment 451388

Then when I clone the SSD, the script appears to run at the end within CCC, but my log looks like this:

View attachment 451389

And all of that came up when I first typed the command when CCC got to the part of running the script, nothing seemed to happen in the terminal.

I've split my System drive and Home folder, if that matters at all....
Normally we would remove the "quarantine" flag when the script is in the Documents or Downloads folder. But because you're trying to modify the file inside the protected CCC Scripts folder we have to use sudo, like this:
Code:
sudo xattr -d com.apple.quarantine EFIClone-v4.sh
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,492
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
CaseySJ, I've been away from the boards fro a bit and it looks like a lot has changed, from the sold move over the OC (at least to resolve dependance on free2000 memory driver as well as picking up native NVRAM. I wanted to ask what your thoughts were on migration to this more modern approach. Is everything captured in the primary build guide (starting back on Page 1) or are there mini-guides sort of sprinkled through out the 1500 posts that really need to be followed in order to be successful? Thank you for you guidance...
Good questions:
  • Regarding the move to native NVRAM, I believe this is something everyone should do whether they're using Clover or OpenCore, Mojave or Catalina.
  • Regarding the switch from Clover to OpenCore, I strongly suggest that only advanced users attempt this. There is no GUI screen, no way to modify settings right at the boot menu, no way to use multiple config.plist files and easily switch between them, no option to dump ACPI tables, and on and on. OpenCore is in alpha stage (hence version number begins with 0) and non-trivial changes can be introduced from build to build.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
188
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Normally we would remove the "quarantine" flag when the script is in the Documents or Downloads folder. But because you're trying to modify the file inside the protected CCC Scripts folder we have to use sudo, like this:
Code:
sudo xattr -d com.apple.quarantine EFIClone-v4.sh
Thanks CaseySJ

I just went back to square one instead and ran that command line whilst the script file was in my downloads folder. There was not any sort of confirmation from the terminal after I did this. But there was also no error message either. How do I know if it worked?

So now I have completed the dry-run, and not very much appears in my EFIClone.log. As per your update about the test switch edit date 15-Jan. But I only get the following in the terminal:
Screen Shot 2020-02-24 at 12.33.34 (2).png

And all of this came up at the beginning of the cloning procedure when I first entered the command: tail -f /EFIClone.log
When CCC was running the script, nothing came up in the terminal.
 
Last edited:
Top