Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z390X Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the link! I'm wondering, though, why native NVRAM might be working with OpenCore without unlocking the MSR or modifying the firmware in general? I would assume that the same is achievable with Clover?
It doesn't work without unlocking MSR in both Bootloaders. If NVRAM is locked in the hardware, nothing is possible.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z390X Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can I follow this tutorial for ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING motherboard?
In general yes, but there are lots of details, that could be different on a ASUS board and we will not be able to answer board specific questions.
Look here for "experts" on your board:

 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,007
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for that info. I disabled sleep and power nap however If I leave the computer on with a session open after a couple hours the -38 error code still rears it's ugly head. Would you recommend having screen savers or no?

Also even when booting both UAD devices first some sessions still have the -38 error code happen. I assume I should be turning on the first device in the chain followed by the second device? Is there anything I can do BIOS wise to maybe change something to see if that would help? I'm somewhat at a loss now...

Moderators, please bump this post or thread, etc: I have no idea where exactly to place it except for DAW experiences, etc., and I don't want to clog the build thread with a DAW troubleshooting column. Please and thank you.

Your BIOS is probably fine. Check your settings: See Post #1 of this guide and "Going the Extra Mile" to check your other work.

Spoiler:
You must connect and power-up all Thunderbolt devices and let them settle for several seconds before powering up your machine. There is no powerswap/hotswap for UAD nor other Thunderbolt-node devices. Unfortunately, there are no shortcuts. The errors are from privacy permissions not being set and from not powering up all Thunderbolt devices before cold start your machine.

If you can connect the MOTU device via USB or AVB/Ethernet then do so.

IDK what OS you're running, so go to the links below and follow the instructions. It can be tricky and you're on a clock. I recommend staying with Mojave for now. You don't need to monkey with screen savers. Just turn off your monitor. Also check your audio engine settings. Everything should be slaved/clocked to your interface unless you have an external clock. Choose an interface and avoid creating aggregate devices if you don't absolutely need them. The UAD satellites are for DSP only.

https://help.uaudio.com/hc/en-us/ar...ting-No-Devices-Found-Other-Connection-Issues

https://help.uaudio.com/hc/en-us/articles/360016096271-macOS-10-14-Mojave-Compatibility-Info

As of January 25, 2020: "Please note that Catalina is not yet fully tested with UAD software."
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,343
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all,

had the system up and running for a few weeks, my issues are still....

1. System hangs when left unattended for a while, even with an app running (eg gemini 2).
2. Bluetooth is flakey (using the FENVI in the bottom port), at start up.... sometimes sees my Magic Mouse and keyboard and sometimes not.
3. System will not shut down consistently, sometimes all good, others it will just hang on the Catalina wallpaper, no app icons no mouse pointer.

Can anyone help where to start.

Thanks.

Hemi
Please also see this post regarding (a) Simplification and (b) Process of Elimination.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,343
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** Mini-Guide: Enable Native NVRAM in Clover **
Please do NOT quote this guide in its entirely. Post a link instead.

Real Macs read and write data in NVRAM during many different phases of operation. Some of them are:
  • When booting the computer, NVRAM identifies the Startup Disk.
  • When booting the computer, Apple's boot loader also checks if previous session had crashed. If so, it displays a message saying "Your computer was restarted because of a problem".
  • When rebooting or shutting down, information is written or updated in NVRAM.
  • When there's a system crash, a background process stores kernel panic information into NVRAM.
  • When you're running the macOS installer (which is not MacOS), it reads and writes information to NVRAM to select the right intermediate startup disks.
  • FaceTime and Messages store various "keys" in NVRAM.
  • Information about paired Bluetooth devices is also stored in NVRAM. This allows Apple Magic Mouse and Magic Keyboard to connect via Bluetooth before macOS is booted.
  • Lots of other little details are stored in NVRAM.
NVRAM is used by:
  • Apple boot loader (boot.efi) -- this is not macOS. It's an EFI boot loader.
  • macOS installer -- this is not macOS either
  • macOS updater -- this is not macOS either
  • macOS
When we use EmuVariableUefi to emulate NVRAM, it stores NVRAM data in a file called nvram.plist in the EFI partition of the boot disk. But it requires Clover's "rc" scripts to read/write that file. However:
  • Apple boot loader cannot read/write that file
  • macOS installer cannot read/write that file
  • macOS updater cannot read/write that file
So we don't get all the functionality of NVRAM with just EmuVariableUefi and RC scripts. But with native NVRAM, all components of the system can access NVRAM any time they need to.
  • Make a full backup of your system.
  • If you're using OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi in the CLOVER/drivers/UEFIfolder, please switch to OcQuirks/FwRuntimeServices or OcQuirks/OpenRuntime:
    • If running Mojave, follow this guide.
    • If running Catalina, delete OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi and replace it with the three files below that are available in the Catalina Mini-Guide.
      • OcQuirks.efi, OcQuirks.plist, OpenRuntime.efi
  • MSR 0xE2 must be unlocked for native NVRAM. See procedure here.
    • VarOffset is 0x5C1 for BIOS F6, F7, F8, and F9b. If you're on an earlier version, please go through the full procedure to determine the VarOffset.
    • At the grub prompt, type:
      • setup_var_3 0x5c1 to see current value, which should be 0x01 (indicating "ON").
    • Then unlock MSR by typing:
      • setup_var_3 0x5c1 0
    • Confirm the new value by typing:
      • setup_var_3 0x5c1
    • If the value is 0x00 (indicating "OFF"), it's done. Type reboot and remove the flash drive.
  • Copy SSDT-NVRAM.aml (attached) to CLOVER/ACPI/patched.
  • Remove EmuVariableUefi from CLOVER/drivers/UEFI (or CLOVER/drivers64UEFI for older versions of Clover).
  • Remove Clover RC scripts (if installed) by typing these commands in Terminal: (be very careful)
    • sudo rm /etc/rc.boot.d/10.save_and_rotate_boot_log.local
    • sudo rm /etc/rc.boot.d/20.mount_ESP.local
    • sudo rm /etc/rc.boot.d/70.disable_sleep_proxy_client.local.disabled
    • sudo rm /etc/rc.shutdown.d/80.save_nvram_plist.local
    • sudo rm /etc/rc.clover.lib
  • In your config.plist, you may now uncheck the following in Kernel and Kext Patches:
    • KernelPM
    • AppleIntelCPUPM
      Screen Shot 2020-01-27 at 5.18.13 AM.png
  • Reboot and log back in before testing NVRAM below.
To test native NVRAM:
  • Open Terminal and type sudo nvram TestVar=Hello. Enter password when prompted.
  • Reboot and log back in.
  • Open Terminal again and type sudo nvram -p | grep TestVar. If you see TestVar Hello then you have working NVRAM!
Update:
  • Fixed confusion between 0x01 and 0x00.
  • Added BIOS F9b.
  • Added requirement to switch from OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000 to OcQuirks/FwRuntimeServices.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-NVRAM.aml
    121 bytes · Views: 672
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
348
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** Confirmed: Native NVRAM in Clover **

...
Just curious what the real advantage here is with native NVRAM? Other than making this closer to a real MAC, are there other advantages (boot time, consistency, stability)? Thanks,
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z390X Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just curious what the real advantage here is with native NVRAM? Other than making this closer to a real MAC, are there other advantages (boot time, consistency, stability)? Thanks,
Easy to answer:
1)The less extra kexts, efi´s and scripts you need the better the system stability.
2) The more you know about your System, the better it works

I don't build a hackintosh because it's cheaper but because I am interested in and proud if it works. That's what's always in my mind when I do my real work on my build. Every time I boot the system to mix a song, cut a video or even write my bills, I think "Great - now it has native NVRAM because WE found it"
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2018
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Dear @CaseySJ , I believe there's a little mistake in your Native NVRAM guide.
By default, MSR 0xE2 CFG Lock is 0x1 (it means it's locked, turned on).
In order to unlock MSR we actually need to change it to 0x0 (lock is removed, turned off).

So, when we confirm value change, we should see 0x0 instead of 0x1.
Just want to avoid confusion and any potential problems people may face with this very advanced mod.
 
Top