Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,262
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all,

i have a nooby question but after whole two days of unsucessful trials I will need your help. So, my friend wanted to build a hackintosh since he is a long time Apple user. We went thorugh the forum guides and selected the components which are the following:

- Intel i7 9700K
- Gigabyte Z390 Designare
- Sapphire RX 5700 XT Nitro+
- Corsair Vengeance Lpx 3200 MHz 32GB (2×16GB)
- Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
- Adata XPG 8200 Pro 1TB (For Windows)

i have put the components together yesterday and everything is working OK, BIOS version on the motherboard is F9. We have followed the guide in the opening post, set up the BIOS, prepared the USB drive. When we boot the Clover Install Catalina option some text lines appear for a minute or so, there are some errors such as location doesn't exist etc... I have searched the internet, tried different EFi configurations, different Clover Configurator settings, because each tutorial has very different settings for the same motherboard. When trying out outher EFI configurations, prepared by other users on the internet, I normally get the error "Error allocating 0x11c7f pages at......".

Can someone please point me to the right direction where to start from scratch since nothing seems to be working. I think that our Clover Configuration is not OK and want to set it up properly and try again. I can provide further details if someone is willing to help us at our first build.

Thanks in advance!
Hello @bvader

Some comments:
  • You might already know this, but we must download the full Catalina installer, which is about 8GB.
  • When the "location doesn't exist" error happens, please take a photo.
  • If you have verbose mode enabled (with -v boot argument) then a lot of log messages show various errors, which in fact are okay.
To repeat, when the fatal error occurs, please grab a photo or provide sufficient context (i.e. at what stage did it happen? Did Apple logo appear? Did progress bar move? At what stage of the installation process did this occur? etc.).
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
150
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey all, and thanks @CaseySJ and all who've helped me sort things out with this build.

I believe I've finally got it all working as it should, so I thought I'd share what's worked with my setup & config in case it benefits anyone else.

Hardware:
-----------------------------
Designare Z390 (F7 BIOS - as it seems to give the best benchmarks)
9900K
Gigabyte 5700 XT OC 8GB
64GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2666 DDR4 - running with XMP Profile 1 in BIOS)
WD Black NVME 500GB (not the newer SN750 model)
Padarsey BCM94360CS2 WiFi Bluetooth Airport Wireless Card on this PCIE card:
https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B07NRYGZ7Q/?tag=tonymacx86c0c-20
Various other SATA SSDs (WD BLUE, 3x Samsung QVO in a Mac raid array, ADATA, Crucial MX etc)
Corsair 850w PSU (overkill prob, but quiet)
Universal Audio UAD Apollo hardware (Apollo DUO Silver, Apollo x8, Satellite Octo TB2 & a QUAD PCIE card - TB3 to TB2 adaptor where needed). TB1 devices do NOT work though.
-----------------------------

I believe the only piece of hardware that was an issue was the graphics, and it was the source of my problems in the end.

Initially I was using an install that reached Catalina from a few OSes back, and was transplanted across 3 machines over the last few years. I was getting random system freezes (completely unresponsive requiring a power cycle to reboot), bad audio performance, apps crashing all the time. I suppose I was asking for too much by upgrading and transplanting too much. Oops.

After a while I did the right thing and performed a complete wipe and fresh install. I followed @CaseySJ 's Catalina Fresh Install Mini Guide for Catalina and it worked out very well. My thunderbolt audio devices were acting perfectly, and actually connecting much quicker at boot and/or after a power cycle on any of the units. Apps no longer crashed. But...the dreaded system freeze still remained. At first I thought it was a sleep issue, but then the system began to freeze randomly while working on things, and not just when left idle or left/put to sleep.

My solution was to take @CaseySJ 's suggestions from when I was still tinkering with my upgraded install and apply some of those tweaks to this fresh install. What solved my last and worst problem was modifying the boot args in the fresh install config.plist so that:

shikigva=16 (changed from shikigva=32)
shiki-id=Mac-7BA5B2D9E42DDD94 (deleted)

All other boot args, drivers, kexts left as is from the 'config-AMD-GPU.plist' provided in the fresh install mini guide. The only other changes were updating to the latests kexts in the clover kexts/other folder. I'm guessing that my issues were the graphics freezing up the system. I tried everything from CPU/RAM/IGPU/VOLTAGE BIOS settings, to different EFI drivers, to sleep settings and tweaks. The freezing remained and it was consistent.

Everything works now: IGPU+DGPU, H264/HVEC hardware encode/decode, sleep, wake, handoff, messages, iCloud, airdrop, sidecar, protected content in TV+, Netflix, iTunes etc. I noticed that when testing out the DRM content on TV+ and Neflix etc, the playback and loading of the content was smoother faster than with shikigva=32 & shiki-id=Mac-xxxx (seeking ahead was snappier and playback resumed more quickly). Weird right? The irony is that I don't even use this machine to watch TV+ or Netflix etc, or use sleep functions ever, but it's worth noting I guess.

Thanks again to everyone on this amazing thread who put up with my cries for help :). Running Catalina with a newly supported GFX card and and audio system that is not officially supported in Catalina yet is just asking for troubles really.

Also, the thunderbolt research you guys are doing is saintly, and I'll be watching it blossom into awesomeness with great excitement. I hope it turns out!

Ok, now back to work (finally - haha).

——-
Update to the update, the battle never ends:

It turns out that the system freezes were still there, but waaaaaaay fewer. But I did get 1 freeze yesterday after hours of working. I removed shikigva=16 enirely and lost DRM features. I still got graphics glitches like I used to before the system would freeze up, but now the system didn’t freeze up after a random screen glitch as it always has so far.

So I disabled my on-board graphics in BIOS and moved over to an iMac Pro 1,1 SMBIOS without any shikigva values in my confg.plist I still get DRM, and no screen glitching or system freezing to be seen yet. FCPX renders a little but slower with this SMBIOS but DaVinci Resolve works more than twice as fast During renders. DAW audio performance and Thunderbolt stuff seems the same. Overall my gut would say that this seems stable so far and probably more powerful in real use on the video side of things, although Geekbench 5 benches it a tad lower in CPU multicore scores on this SMBIOS.

FINGERS CROSSED

After the rollercoaster ride that is this build, I’m back to where I started with random and persistent system lockups and freezing. Although iMac Pro SMBIOS gives my build better video performance in apps with the 5700xt, it still gives me freezing issues which makes the build useless really. I had other issues with an upgraded install, but the system freezing is really the main one In the end.

At this point I think it’s all related to the 5700 xt and Catalina. I was reading in some egpu forums elsewhere about the issues that people were having with their 5700 xt egpu display ports and Catalina (10.15.2 specifically). They were also experiencing black screens, boot issues, complete system freezes, particularly when using display ports. I don’t pretend to understand the intricacies of why, but it seems like the 5700 xt just isn’t ready for use yet.

I run 3 monitors from mine, so perhaps that’s the issue, but I tried 2, and still got the system freezing up. There are so many possibilities as to what’s causing the system to crash, but all things seem to keep pointing to the 5700 to my disappointment. Maybe it’s just mine or my brand (Gigabyte)? Maybe it’s my monitor configuration? PCIE slot? Etc? At this point after tweaking so many variables to no avail, it seems I should just try out a different graphics card and test things out.

It‘s funny, I went to Catalina in the first place so I could run a 5700 xt, but it’s crashing and the benchmarks for graphics are about the same as the old RX 580 that I had. I even tried out 10.15.3 beta 2 last night - same freezing problems.

I am going to try a 580 and see what happens, I just find it hard to believe that so many others have got their 5700 working fine on Catalina. What’s the secret? Haha.

On the bright side, looks like @CaseySJ and team are making great progress with the Thunderbolt 3 firmware/SSDT!
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
795
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i have put the components together yesterday and everything is working OK, BIOS version on the motherboard is F9. We have followed the guide in the opening post, set up the BIOS, prepared the USB drive.

Thanks in advance!

Instead of the one in the opening post, try following the updated one in the mini-guide HERE. I haven't compared them to see what the differences are but it has been updated.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
795
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have hardware nvram fully working using clover. I just added SSDT-PMC.aml in patched ACPI folder, removed EmuVariableUefi-64 from drivers, removed nvram.plist from EFI partition, and removed clover rc scripts.

Variable persistence between reboots is working, clover remembers last boot drive, and changing startup volume from system preferences is working good.

I'm using latest F9b bios as well and didn't try this on earlier versions.

Where did SSDT-PMC.aml comes from?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,262
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@bigboosh

My main system with Catalina 10.15.2 and PowerColor Red Dragon RX 5700 XT is rock solid. And the test bench I built yesterday with an RX 580 and Catalina 10.15.2 (installed from scratch using the Catalina Mini-Guide) is also rock solid -- in fact it seems more tolerant of my Thunderbolt escapades than the primary system. For example, I don't lose network devices when Thunderbolt Local Node appears.

Anyway, as I've mentioned to others several times, often we must (a) Simply the Setup and (b) Use the Process of Elimination when faced with an intractable problem such as this.

In your case:
  • Simplify the Setup:
    • Is the system reliable with just one monitor?
    • Are there any non-"essential" devices connected? If so, disconnect everything but the essential devices.
  • Process of Elimination:
    • Is the system reliable right after a fresh install?
      • This means: Do not rush to install your third-party applications. Just test the system for a couple of days with the basic apps that accompany Catalina.
    • If basic system is reliable, then install one "major" third-party app at a time and check for system stability.
    • If basic system is not reliable, then we must begin to isolate components.
      • Certainly, the graphics card can be an issue.
    • If you suspect GPU, try with iGPU only (physically remove AMD GPU).
      • This means setting Platform ID to 0x3E9B0007 and preferably using a USB-C to DisplayPort cable to connect either of the two Thunderbolt/USB-C ports to a DisplayPort input on the monitor.
      • Again, connect only one monitor.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,262
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Where did SSDT-PMC.aml comes from?
Please look here:

I'll update Catalina Mini-Guide for native NVRAM via Clover (soon).
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2017
Messages
338
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Designare
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am going to try a 580 and see what happens, I just find it hard to believe that so many others have got their 5700 working fine on Catalina. What’s the secret? Haha.

On the bright side, looks like @CaseySJ and team are making great progress with the Thunderbolt 3 firmware/SSDT!

Thats a bummer to hear, hopefully it will be fixed in future macOS updates. I am on a Radeon VII and it's working with no issues, but AMD is supposedly not staying with this model. Not sure what my next GPU will be.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
150
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@bigboosh

My main system with Catalina 10.15.2 and PowerColor Red Dragon RX 5700 XT is rock solid. And the test bench I built yesterday with an RX 580 and Catalina 10.15.2 (installed from scratch using the Catalina Mini-Guide) is also rock solid -- in fact it seems more tolerant of my Thunderbolt escapades than the primary system. For example, I don't lose network devices when Thunderbolt Local Node appears.

Anyway, as I've mentioned to others several times, often we must (a) Simply the Setup and (b) Use the Process of Elimination when faced with an intractable problem such as this.

In your case:
  • Simplify the Setup:
    • Is the system reliable with just one monitor?
    • Are there any non-"essential" devices connected? If so, disconnect everything but the essential devices.
  • Process of Elimination:
    • Is the system reliable right after a fresh install?
      • This means: Do not rush to install your third-party applications. Just test the system for a couple of days with the basic apps that accompany Catalina.
    • If basic system is reliable, then install one "major" third-party app at a time and check for system stability.
    • If basic system is not reliable, then we must begin to isolate components.
      • Certainly, the graphics card can be an issue.
    • If you suspect GPU, try with iGPU only (physically remove AMD GPU).
      • This means setting Platform ID to 0x3E9B0007 and preferably using a USB-C to DisplayPort cable to connect either of the two Thunderbolt/USB-C ports to a DisplayPort input on the monitor.
      • Again, connect only one monitor.
Interesting, and frustrating at the same time That yours is rock solid.

I do have a lot of things plugged into this machine. I’ve been using 1 application (Cubase 10.5) almost exclusively over the past few weeks (trying to catch up on work), and it’s a relatively new update, so I’m going to check and see if it’s just that first and move on to hardware. The crashes happen when I’m using Cubase, but I’m always using Cubase so it’s hard to tell If it’s OS or the App.

i juuuust checked the Cubase forums after typing above, and my exact issues are reported in Cubase (red screen/screen glitches, GUI/system freezing/memory leak etc in 10.5 reported) Everyone seems angry. I’m hoping it’s just Cubase then! Will have to use a previous version and other apps to find out. I think I’ve gone around in so many circles that I don’t even know what to check any more, you get obsessed with blaming the hardware or the OS and forget about the latest fancy App update you started using. Arrrg.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designaire-F8
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX-580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Casey I'm going crazy because i lost audio after upgrading from Mojave to Catalina. I've tried putting back all files from post installation zip, reverting back the tweaks in Clover Configurator... What is the good practice to restore audio if it's not working? I'm on the latest bios of Z390 Designare.
Thank you, your guide is amazing btw

This happened to me, and although I've never figured out exactly how to fix it, I did discover a work wround. After the system has booted, if I unplug my (DisplayPort connected) monitor, reconnect it, and then choose the correct output device in System Preferences / Sound, then my sound will start working. It'll keep working even after the system sleeps... but if I reboot, then I have to go through this process again.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
@Racke: Thanks! So if I understood the procedure correctly I need to do the following:

- I put the EFI you provided to the EFI partition on the thumb driver I created for the installation. Do I overwrite what is allready there or totally remove the existing EFi folder and replace it wit hthe one you provided? Yes, I will generate new codes with Clover Configurator.
- I also need to put this EFI folder you provided to the SSD drvie on which I want to install the OS? When and how do I make the MacOS installation on that drive prior to Clover installation?

@[B]CaseySJ[/B]: Thanks for your advice! Yes, we have downloade Catalina installer on the Macbook Pro and created the USB thumb driver with Unibeast. I followed your instructions in full (at least I hope I did) but it somehow didn't work. Yes, the "-v" option is there yes. We will try to catch the error on camera next time as you suggested, it is a bit hard because the PC reboots when the error occurs. How come that there are so many different Clover configurations for the same motherboard? I understand that there are also some differences for the GPU but for the CPU it shouldnt matter if it is i7 9700K or i9 9900K, right?

Any suggestion on what to configure in Clover Configurator for 5700 XT? You have RX580 in your build.

What about the OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi? Some other posts suggest that this .efi shouldn't be used. Is this really the case or is it safe to be used?

What is this argument used for "agdpmod = pikera"?

@[B]Ploddles[/B]: Thanks for the tip, I will take a look at that one as well.
 
Top