Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,906
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So this is new.
Dont know when exactly it happened as it didnt show status as unavailable until I did a refresh. :/
Not sure if this is an OpenCore Issue, a SSDT issue or what.



View attachment 445843

my boot args are:
slide=0 keepsyms=1 dart=0 alcid=11 shikigva=16 agdpmod=pikera
As a first step it might be good to review jaymonkey's DRM/skikigva update here:
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
60
Motherboard
Designare
CPU
9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Yes! That worked! Thanks again, @CaseySJ!
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 1.10.00 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 1.10.00 PM.png
    586.5 KB · Views: 64
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K Coffee Lake
Graphics
MSI Radeon RX 580 Armor 8G
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

I'm sorry to bump in between these discussions but my questions are related to this thread. First I tried to find answers by searching this site and on the internet but unfortunately I can't find solutions myself.

When I found this website a few weeks ago I became very excited to build my own system. I’ve chosen this successful build because I needed the thunderbolt for my audio interface and since I saw that some users reported the successful use of an audio interface with thunderbolt my decision was made. So the motherboard was fixed and I looked at the list of supported hardware so I came up with my system, see attachment. The install of Mojave was, with this very good guide, rather easy to do and I successfully had my first Hackintosh running. Before I continued to install software and tuning I bought backup software and a good external ssd drive and that was a very good thing.

1. Issue number one: I installed Black magic disc speed test. I run it and was disappointed. The two M.2 discs showed a read speed that is less or equal to the write speed, that is very odd.

Any thoughts? See pictures. In Bios it says M2M NVMe 3.0 x4 @ 3.0 x4, equal for the M2P. Under PCI x4 switch it says PCH side, is that the best option or should I use the other?

2. Issue number 2: I tried to do the speed test on the system disc (still don't know that the speed results are, what do I have to change to the permissions safely to grant access for the speediest?), but the software reported that it was read only, so I changed something in the permissions by means of Finder and shortly after the system became unstable and I had to use the reset button on the casing (most likely I changed the permission in such a way that access wasn't granted anymore).

After a lot of effort because I first tried to restart etc. I was able to boot from the backup disc and cloned the working image to the system disc. Then I continued to install software but again the screen froze no mouse movement anymore but I was able to reboot. I did a CMOS reset and entered the good bios settings again and now I’m preparing this text so far so good (after the last reboot busy for about 1,5 hours).

I’ve attached the config.plist file (without serial). Any advice on stability? Settings in config.plist? Change of efi-files or settings?

For completing the nformation: I use the graphics card, MSI Radeon RX 580 armor 8G, with a display port cable to connect a monitor, as you see in the plist. I have the on board graphics still enabled.

3. Question 1: should I disable wifi in the bios, because I have a working Fenvi 1200 for wifi and bluetooth?

4. Question 2: my internal drives, so one sata and two M.2 attached to the motherboard directly, are shown as external drives. I can eject the two M.2 by clicking with the right mouse button and selecting that option, what I didn't obviously. Why is this and how can I change this?

5. Question 3: brightness control of the monitor, what do I have to do to be able to control this from the keyboard? I also don’t see brightness control when I open Displays Preferences, no slider.

6. Issue number 3: I also bought this monitor recently, after trying to calibrate it and testing different settings, brightness started to change automatically. After system defaults reset for the monitor this seems now to be fixed or can this be something from the system?

7. Issue number 4: since today after a reboot, a programme is started spontaneously, seems to be chosen randomly,
what can cause this?

8. Question 4: I have clover configurator 5.9.0.1 installed, can I use all newer versions without issues?


Thank very much.

Best regards.
 

Attachments

  • bootlog.txt
    31.6 KB · Views: 22
  • Clover_Install_Log.txt
    2.4 KB · Views: 33
  • config without serial number.plist
    9.1 KB · Views: 26
  • In clover folder on system disc efi files.png
    In clover folder on system disc efi files.png
    59.5 KB · Views: 28
  • Kext in other on EFI system in Clover folder on system disc.png
    Kext in other on EFI system in Clover folder on system disc.png
    322.6 KB · Views: 28
  • M.2 disc apple system info.png
    M.2 disc apple system info.png
    58 KB · Views: 30
  • Speedtest Backup2 Disc.png
    Speedtest Backup2 Disc.png
    389.2 KB · Views: 42
  • System components hardware.png
    System components hardware.png
    39.7 KB · Views: 35
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
326
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello @Elias64Fr

Thank you again for the updated files and the support you are providing!

I'll test the changes this evening when I return home. Some questions / comments:
  • In BIOS, I have Thunderbolt --> GPIO3 Force Power --> Enabled. Do you think this should be disabled?
  • By removing _PS3, _PS0, PCED, and PCDA we lose RTPC (Run Time Power Conservation). This is not a big deal because we don't have it right now anyway. But it would be nice to enable this feature eventually... (not a priority at this time).
  • Should I perform a cold boot with no Thunderbolt device connected when testing the new TbtOnPch SSDT? And then hot plug a Thunderbolt device?
  • Usually I perform a warm boot with my OWC 14-port Thunderbolt dock connected.
  • Also, I'm curious why PCIHotplugCapable is "Zero" instead of "One"...
  • View attachment 445879
One thing to note about Apple computers with Titan Ridge controllers:
  • Apple's Titan Ridge Macs contain both a Titan Ridge controller and an Alpine Ridge controller.
  • I believe UPSB is Alpine Ridge and DSB0 (and everything under DSB0) is Titan Ridge.
  • This allows Apple to provide backward compatibility with Thunderbolt 1 devices (i.e. due to Alpine Ridge).
My understanding (which could be wrong) is that these Macs have a special MUX (multiplexer) that directs certain Thunderbolt traffic to either Alpine Ridge or Titan Ridge.
So if we look at Thunderbolt SSDT for a Titan Ridge Mac, it might contain some ACPI methods and fields that are related to the special MUX. Again, my understanding of this is limited, but I think it's important to at least mention this unique feature of real Macs.

UPDATE: I'll add these properties to NHI:
  1. TBTDPLowToHigh
  2. TBTFlags
  3. ThunderboltConfig
  4. linkDetails
  5. pathcr
;) I do it for the community and to break one of the last hackintosh wall :banghead:

  • I don't use GPIO3 Force Power because I don't have it on BIOS (only last Maximus firmware). Asus had remove it ! You should disable it for one time to see what happen. Better is to test with and without it.
  • Right, but on first time, we need to have magic Thunderbolt Local node tree.
  • Suggest to do all tests with NO devices connected on two thunderbolt ports >> one COLD BOOT, extracting ACPIDebug log and IoReg screenshot, >> one HOT BOOT , extracting ACPIDebug log and IoReg screenshot.
  • "PCIHotplugCapable" is Zero (like Macs), probably for drivers ?!
On Z270 Maximus, UpstreamBridge device-id is 0x15D3 which is different for Macs TitanRidge and AlpineRidge (0x1578) .. Drivers seems to work well with it ... for the moment.

UPDATE: Geekbench 5.1.0 OpenCL performance with OMEN Accelerator EGPU case / Sapphire RX580 PULSE have 39077 score .. which is good ?! .. or not :lol:

UPDATE2: Screen shot of the magic button for safely extract EGPU:
Capture d’écran 2020-01-20 à 23.02.24.png

Which method or device of special MUX are you refer on SSDT ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
146
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Pro
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
What CPU cooler are you using to get an idle temp of 26C?

I can also confirm that the 9900ks is working well with Z390 Designare.
Noctua NH-D15 in a Corsair Crystal 680X case. Almost totally silent in use.
IMG_2856.jpgScreenshot 2020-01-20 at 21.49.21.jpg
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
276
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This initially seemed like a few isolated incidents, but maybe there's more to it. I'll do a fresh install in about a day or two and see if I can reproduce the problem.

Meanwhile, the usual things to try:
  • Add "Boot Argument" -wegoff to temporarily disable WhateverGreen. This will affect your HDMI/DP ports, so physically move the video cable to different ports until you find a port that works.
  • Update to WhateverGreen 1.3.6 (and remove -wegoff flag).
  • Look at this guide for DRM content and shikigva settings.
  • One may also try OpenCore by installing the OpenCore EFI onto a USB flash disk (as a temporarily/test solution).
Thank you CaseySJ, updated whatevergreen (1.3.6) and lilu (1.4.1). Im using shikivga=16. I will try and the other steps if it doesn't work and I will report back. If I still have a problem then I will install Mojave and update to Catalina from there using your guide. Im really scared to get into the "freezes" again after so long time clean from them.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,906
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...Im really scared to get into the "freezes" again after so long time clean from them.
Yes I understand completely! That was a long and sordid saga...
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,906
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
;) I do it for the community and to break one of the last hackintosh wall :banghead:
Yes that last great barrier must come down! :)
  • I don't use GPIO3 Force Power because I don't have it on BIOS (only last Maximus firmware). Asus had remove it ! You should disable it for one time to see what happen. Better is to test with and without it.
  • Right, but on first time, we need to have magic Thunderbolt Local node tree.
  • Suggest to do all tests with NO devices connected on two thunderbolt ports >> one COLD BOOT, extracting ACPIDebug log and IoReg screenshot, >> one HOT BOOT , extracting ACPIDebug log and IoReg screenshot.
Agreed -- will test both ways.
  • "PCIHotplugCapable" is Zero (like Macs), probably for drivers ?!
I think the value probably does not matter. Only the existence of the property name "PCIHotplugCapable" matters. Anyway, I will leave it as Zero.
...
UPDATE: Geekbench 5.1.0 OpenCL performance with OMEN Accelerator EGPU case / Sapphire RX580 PULSE have 39077 score .. which is good ?! .. or not :lol:
Not as good as locally installed RX 580 on a x16 or x8 PCIe slot!! My RX 580 in x16 slot gets 40145 in GB5. Because eGPU operates at x4, the score of 39077 is not bad.
Which method or device of special MUX are you refer on SSDT ?
We can probably ignore this for now! :)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,906
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
... Before I continued to install software and tuning I bought backup software and a good external ssd drive and that was a very good thing.
Kudos!
1. Issue number one: I installed Black magic disc speed test. I run it and was disappointed. The two M.2 discs showed a read speed that is less or equal to the write speed, that is very odd.

Any thoughts? See pictures. In Bios it says M2M NVMe 3.0 x4 @ 3.0 x4, equal for the M2P. Under PCI x4 switch it says PCH side, is that the best option or should I use the other?
That switch in BIOS affects the bottom long slot (x4 PCIe slot) so it won't affect M2M or M2P.
2. Issue number 2: I tried to do the speed test on the system disc (still don't know that the speed results are, what do I have to change to the permissions safely to grant access for the speediest?), but the software reported that it was read only, so I changed something in the permissions by means of Finder and shortly after the system became unstable and I had to use the reset button on the casing (most likely I changed the permission in such a way that access wasn't granted anymore).
Catalina creates two volumes inside a single Volume Group. The two volumes are:
  • Catalina (system volume)
    • Read only
  • Catalina - Data (user files, home folders, etc.)
    • Read/Write
Disk speed testing should be done on Catalina - Data.
After a lot of effort because I first tried to restart etc. I was able to boot from the backup disc and cloned the working image to the system disc. Then I continued to install software but again the screen froze no mouse movement anymore but I was able to reboot. I did a CMOS reset and entered the good bios settings again and now I’m preparing this text so far so good (after the last reboot busy for about 1,5 hours).
How is the system stability so far?
...
3. Question 1: should I disable wifi in the bios, because I have a working Fenvi 1200 for wifi and bluetooth?
No need to do this. The NO-CNVW SSDT takes care of hiding on-board WiFi from macOS.
4. Question 2: my internal drives, so one sata and two M.2 attached to the motherboard directly, are shown as external drives. I can eject the two M.2 by clicking with the right mouse button and selecting that option, what I didn't obviously. Why is this and how can I change this?
This is very strange. In BIOS, are the SATA ports configured as AHCI? When you configured BIOS, do you remember first selecting Load Optimized Defaults?
5. Question 3: brightness control of the monitor, what do I have to do to be able to control this from the keyboard? I also don’t see brightness control when I open Displays Preferences, no slider.
Have you tried this (see Post #1 Table of Contents):
Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 2.17.37 PM.png

6. Issue number 3: I also bought this monitor recently, after trying to calibrate it and testing different settings, brightness started to change automatically. After system defaults reset for the monitor this seems now to be fixed or can this be something from the system?
Is it a subtle change in brightness or significant? Or is it a change in color temperature (i.e. Night Shift mode)?
7. Issue number 4: since today after a reboot, a programme is started spontaneously, seems to be chosen randomly, what can cause this?
Do you mean that some random application gets started automatically each time you login? Is there any suspicious task in System Preferences --> Users & Groups --> Login Items?
8. Question 4: I have clover configurator 5.9.0.1 installed, can I use all newer versions without issues?
Yes, no problem.
 
Top