Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 10, 2014
Messages
211
Motherboard
Lenovo U410 i7
CPU
i7-3537U
Graphics
HD 4000
Do you see the PowerColor RX 5700 XT in my signature? :)

With WhateverGreen 1.3.6 we seem to be having fairly good success with the Navi/RDNA GPUs. The Catalina Mini-Guide is compatible with RX 5700-series.
Ahh okay, my mistake. Would you say the RX 5700-series are some of the best card's for this setup?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,795
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ahh okay, my mistake. Would you say the RX 5700-series are some of the best card's for this setup?
For video editing, the Radeon VII tends to be faster, but it has been discontinued. Among the AMD GPUs on the market today, the RX 5700-series are the fastest. A rumored RX 5750 XT might be coming out soon at a higher price point.

I'm sure you know that the fastest GPU is not always the most appropriate GPU. There is no reason to spend lots of money on a GPU if it will not be used for GPU-intensive work.

My only reason for purchasing the RX 5700 XT was to modify the Catalina build guide to work with that card and to be able to support users who might be facing problems with that card. Things we do for the community!! :)

So we should choose a graphics card that is suitable or good enough for the kind of work we do on the computer.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2014
Messages
211
Motherboard
Lenovo U410 i7
CPU
i7-3537U
Graphics
HD 4000
For video editing, the Radeon VII tends to be faster, but it has been discontinued. Among the AMD GPUs on the market today, the RX 5700-series are the fastest. A rumored RX 5750 XT might be coming out soon at a higher price point.

I'm sure you know that the fastest GPU is not always the most appropriate GPU. There is no reason to spend lots of money on a GPU if it will not be used for GPU-intensive work.

My only reason for purchasing the RX 5700 XT was to modify the Catalina build guide to work with that card and to be able to support users who might be facing problems with that card. Things we do for the community!! :)

So we should choose a graphics card that is suitable or good enough for the kind of work we do on the computer.
Thank you for the information. I plan on creating a dual boot (Mac OS and Windows) build for music production and gaming and i was considering the Radeon VII. I feel a 5700-series card would suffice but yes, as you say theres no reason to go over board in regards to GPU. Heres what i have on my shopping list at the moment;
  • Gigabyte Designare Z390
  • i9-9900K
  • RX 5700 XT (undecided)
  • 2 x 512GB Samsung 970 Pro M.2 (Mac and Win boot drives)
  • G.Skill TridentZ 32GB RGB Memory
Already owned (from a hack built in 2015);
  • H60 CPU cooler (likely need to get a new cooler?)
  • Corsair AX 760 power supply
  • Samsung 850 pro 512gb
  • WD black 3tb
  • LG blu ray drive
  • Fractal Design R4 case
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Messages
119
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
5700 XT
I did it!! The problem its one of the USB dock. I tried a disk speed test, and in one of dock the speed is 80 Mb/s and in the other dock only 10Mb/s. After seconds in this dock, the HDD froze.

Well, thanks for your patience!!
@CaseySJI'm going crazy! A friend has left me a dock to check. It works transfer data and the same problem! System eject HDD or freeze Finder. I don't understand. I tested in a MacBook 2015 and works perfectly. I think more faster. Maybe its my EFI folder don't work correctly??

I am running Mojave 10.14.6 (18G1012).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
209
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey, everyone! I think I saw this question. However I am not sure if it was answered. When booting Clover, I’m getting a lower resolution causing my Clover Boot screen to look massive. I tried going in and adjusting GUI in config to 3840x2160 but no change occurred. Is there another way to get it to boot at proper resolution?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,795
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
*** Carbon Copy Cloner Mini-Guides for Mojave and Catalina Have Been Updated ***

Thanks to @byteminer and @EliM, a serious problem in EFIClone script has been found and fixed. All users are encouraged to updated to EFIClone-v4 that is provided in the two mini-guides below.

Procedure:
  • Download EFIClone-v4.sh.zip from one of the mini-guides linked below, or from the bottom of this post.
  • Note that this script has TEST_SWITCH set to Y, which means no files will actually be copied. Please read the paragraph at the top of the Mojave or Catalina mini-guide (links below) for further instructions.
  • Run Carbon Copy Cloner and select Utilities --> Reveal CCC's Scripts folder.
  • Drag and drop EFIClone-v4.sh into that folder and authenticate when requested by entering your macOS password.
  • From Carbon Copy Cloner, select Utilities --> Secure CCC's Scripts folder.
  • At the bottom of the Carbon Copy Cloner main window you will see a section called AFTER COPYING FILES. It will be in the ADVANCED SETTINGS section.
  • Here you will see Run a Shell Script: EFIClone-v3.sh
  • Click the X next to it to delete EFIClone-v3.sh.
  • A file icon will appear in place of the X. Select the file icon.
  • Choose EFIClone-v4.sh
Screen Shot 2020-01-15 at 5.57.05 PM_resize.png

Links to Mini-Guides:
 

Attachments

  • EFIClone-v4.sh.zip
    4.7 KB · Views: 307
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
108
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming WiFi
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OpenCore Configurator:mrgreen::mrgreen: I TRIED IT IT WORKS
 

Attachments

  • OpenCore Configurator.zip
    7.8 MB · Views: 74
Joined
Apr 16, 2014
Messages
152
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580 8 GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hello again @CaseySJ! Wish you an excellent 2020! Hope you're well!

I recently updated my BIOS to F9b and also adopted OcQuirks-4.plist in conjunction with OcQuirks-4.efi and FwRuntimeServices.efi in order to replace OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi. So far everything has been working great except for too small but kind of annoying issues:

1. When performing the BIOS update, I forgot to save my CPU settings for Overclock. I thought I´d pretty much remember all the numbers, so I dialed what I remembered back in for FREQ and VCORE voltage after the update. Now, my CPU is no longer able to reach 5Ghz anymore. I don't care too much about OC. Have you or anyone experienced something similar? The system is performing well. It just feels kinda lazy when pushed and freezes if I dial 5Ghz on FREQ and run a benchmark in OSX.

2. After the BIOS update, I'm getting an ACPI error as shown in the image below:

Screen Shot 2020-01-16 at 01.37.25.png


For what I can read, it says something like:

Code:
No arguments are initialized for method [_STA]

ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\TZ.TZ10._STA] (Mode ffffff"somerandomnumber"), SOMETHING_SOMETHING_INITIALIZED_LOCAL ("somenumber"/parse-632)
ACPI Error: Method execution failed [\TZ.TZ10._STA] (Mode ffffff"somerandomnumber"), SOMETHING_SOMETHING_INITIALIZED_LOCAL ("somenumber"/parse-632)

Do you have any idea what this might be referencing to? Perhaps SATA implementation?

I'm also uploading my IOreg file in case that might be useful and a screenshot of my EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder
Screen Shot 2020-01-16 at 01.25.06.png

Hope you had a great holiday season,

Cheers!
 

Attachments

  • iMac_nifranza.ioreg
    9.1 MB · Views: 37
Top