Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 10, 2014
Messages
211
Motherboard
Lenovo U410 i7
CPU
i7-3537U
Graphics
HD 4000
Is this build possible to build with a i9-9900K?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 2, 2019
Messages
2
Motherboard
z390
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
Radeon vii
Run through it and great thank you. All working except the USB ports. Only picks up the USB 2.0 hub and none of my USB 3.1 ports work and lighting ports...must be missing something obvious?!
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
237
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is there any guide how to make you're own SSDT's for specific PCI devices ? Instead of using the 'Devices section and Arbitrary tab' ?
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
What do you mean by “blocked inside the Clover menu”? Does the Clover menu appear? Note that enabling the -1 checkbox will bypass the Clover Boot Menu and go straight to the Apple logo (boot process), but this can be interrupted by pressing any key before the Apple logo appears.

I restarted and now it goes directly inside the boot menu with the following choices :
- Boot FileVault Prebooter from Preboot
- Boot macOs Install Prebooter from Preboot
- Boot macOs from Mojave
- Boot Recovery from Recovery

If I choose "Boot FileVault Prebooter from Preboot", there's a black screen with an apple and nothing happens.
If I choose "Boot macOs Install Prebooter from Preboot", there's shortly a black screen with an apple and right after a "no entry panel" logo.
If I choose "Boot macOs from Mojave", If I choose "Boot FileVault Prebooter from Preboot", there's a black screen with an apple and nothing happens.

So I can't access to the EFI to put the "-1"
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
68
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
I7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
After I solved hardware issues to access BIOS settings, I found the persistent "Couldn't allocate runtime area" error in the USB installer. I tried to build the USB with both methods: installer media script and UniBeast, both with Mojave and Catalina, with same results. I’m focused now in the most tested Mojave OS installation. This is my build setup:

Gygabyte Z390 Designare. Firmware F8
i7-9700K
Sapphire Radeon RX580 Nitro+
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3600MHz (2 x 8 GB)
Corsair RM750 PS

All the time, I followed this post guide for “Create USB Install Disk”, the spoiler for UniBeast, the spoiler for modifying config.plist, the spoiler for set BIOS up (F8 firmware) and, optionally, the post installation steps. It is remarkable that “OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi” and “slide=0” are present in their places. Also, I tried to disable slide=0 in Clover interface (spacebar + disable KASRL). In this case, there is no allocate runtime area error, but the startup process ends in a screen with prohibited sign.

I found two differences between my workflow and this guide:

First, I can’t disable CSM (Compatibility Support Module) in the BIOS. If I do it, there is a black screen at startup.

Second, after build USB installer there is no drivers64UEFI folder at EFI/CLOVER (only “drivers” folder is present). So, I created it by hand. Is it right?

I tried with:

Both drivers + drivers64UEFI folders (See screen capture with these two folders)
Only drivers folder
Only drivers64UEFI (See screen capture with all CLOVER folder contents)

All throw "Couldn't allocate runtime area" error.

After doing all the tests that I am capable of, I need to ask for some help now. Thank you in advance!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200112_191043138.jpg
    IMG_20200112_191043138.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 24
  • IMG_20200113_105110702.jpg
    IMG_20200113_105110702.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 34
  • Screenshot 2020-01-13 11.03.25.png
    Screenshot 2020-01-13 11.03.25.png
    38.9 KB · Views: 23
  • Screenshot 2020-01-13 11.04.53.png
    Screenshot 2020-01-13 11.04.53.png
    76.2 KB · Views: 21
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
753
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After solved hardware issues to access BIOS settings I found the persistent "Couldn't allocate runtime area" error in the USB installer. I tried to build the USB with both methods: installer media script and Unibeast. Both with Mojave and Catalina, with same results. I’m focused now in the most tested Mojave OS installation. This is my build setup:

Gygabyte Z390 Designare. Firmware F8
i7 9700K
Sapphire Radeon RX580 Nitro+
Corsair vengeance RGB pro 3600Mh (2 x 8 GB)
Corsair RM750 PS

All the time I followed this post guide for “Create USB Install Disk”, the spoiler for Unibeast, the spoiler for modifying config.plist, the spoiler for set BIOS up (F8 firmware) and, optionally, the post installation steps. It is remarkable that “OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi” and “slide=0” are present in their places. Also, I tried to disable slide=0 in Clover interface (spacebar + disable KASRL). In this case, there is no allocate runtime area error, but the startup process ends in a screen with prohibited sign.

I found two differences between my workflow and this guide:

First, I can’t disable CSM (Compatibility Support Module) in the BIOS. If I do it, there is a black screen at startup.

Second, after build USB installer there is no drivers64UEFI folder at EFI/CLOVER (only “drivers” folder is present). So, I created it by hand. Is it right?

I tried with:

Both drivers + drivers64UEFI folders (See screen capture with these two folders)
Only drivers folder
Only drivers64UEFI (See screen capture with all CLOVER folder contents)

All throw "Couldn't allocate runtime area" error.

After doing all the tests that I am capable of, I need to ask for some help now. Thank you in advance!

There shouldn't be a Drivers64UEFI folder so delete that.
There should be a Drivers\UEFI folder with the .efi files in it.
Download the zip file from the Mini Guide, expand it and copy the files it says to the location it says.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
68
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
I7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Download the zip file from the Mini Guide, expand it and copy the files it says to the location it says.

Thank you for the answer. I'm starting from scratch and found new problem: When I set BIOS with the parameters in the spoiler, the computer shuts down before displaying the BIOS interface. What does that mean? It didn't happen before. I start setting up BIOS doing a full reset (joining pins with a screwdriver and unplug ten seconds)

  • Press F2 to toggle to Advanced Mode.
  • Press F7 to Load Optimized Defaults.
Now make the following settings:

  • Tweaker
    • Advanced CPU Settings → VT-d → Disabled
    • Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.) → Profile 1
  • Settings
    • Internal Graphics → Enabled
    • Above 4G Decoding → Enabled
    • Thunderbolt(TM) Configuration
      • Security Level → No Security
        This will trigger a 'Save & Exit' dialog so press ESC to close the dialog.
      • Discrete Thunderbolt(TM) Configuration
        • Thunderbolt USB Support → Enabled
        • GPIO3 Force Pwr → Enabled
    • USB Configuration
      • XHCI Handoff → Enabled
  • Boot
    • Windows 8/10 Features → Other OS
    • CSM Support → Disabled
      Some devices such as GPUs may require CSM Support to be enabled. There is no harm in setting this to either Enabled or Disabled. Use the setting that works best.
  • Save & Exit → Save Profiles → Save to Profile 1
    This preserves the firmware settings for easy recovery.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,795
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Run through it and great thank you. All working except the USB ports. Only picks up the USB 2.0 hub and none of my USB 3.1 ports work and lighting ports...must be missing something obvious?!
Hello @halfbinz

Are you using the Gigabyte Designare Z390 or a different board? The custom USB SSDT (SSDT-UIAC-Z390-DESIGNARE-V7.aml) is specifically for the Designare Z390. A different board will require changes.
 
Top