Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
This shows that a desktop size of 3840x2160 pixels is being scaled to 5120x2880 (5K) over DisplayPort 1.4 with a 533.25 MHz pixel clock. So this looks normal, but the text on your monitor is probably fairly small because you've selected a "Scaling" option in System Preferences --> Displays that displays more text at the expense of that text being reduced in scale. Typically for a 27-inch monitor we'll set the effective desktop to 2560x1440 (which will scale to 5120x2880 for that clean "retina" look). This makes text more readable.

Can you post a screenshot of System Preferences --> Displays?

View attachment 437853

Thanks again. See the attached screenshot. So it looks like the display is actually driven by 5120x2880 (5K)? I got a MacBook Pro attached to a LG Ultrafine 5K and the picture looks a lot sharper. The Scaling is the same, but it looks sharper so I though the display on my hackintosh is not 5120x2880 but something below (as the "About this Mac->Display shows 3840x2160) and the display is scaling it up ...

PL2779QQ 2019-11-27 19-20-51.jpg
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,883
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks again. See the attached screenshot. So it looks like the display is actually driven by 5120x2880 (5K)? I got a MacBook Pro attached to a LG Ultrafine 5K and the picture looks a lot sharper. The Scaling is the same, but it looks sharper so I though the display on my hackintosh is not 5120x2880 but something below (as the "About this Mac->Display shows 3840x2160) and the display is scaling it up ...

View attachment 437861
Try clicking “Scaled” and test the various options. Is there an option that makes everything look as sharp as the MacBook Pro connected to LG UltraFine 5K?
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
209
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • iMacPro1,1 uses an Intel Xeon CPU, which lacks an on-board IGPU.
  • Typically we disable IGPU in BIOS when using iMacPro1,1.
  • But we’ve also seen that IGPU can be enabled.
  • If we disable IGPU in BIOS, then there’s no need to set any platform ID and we can delete the IGPU entry from Devices —> Properties
  • If we enable IGPU in BIOS, only then should we set headless platform ID in Devices —> Properties.

  • USB port configuration can be tested by running IORegistryExplorer and scrolling the device tree on left side to XHC. If you see roughly an equal number of HSxx and SSxx ports, and the total count is 15 or less, then USB is correctly configured.
  • To confirm if IGPU is set up, scroll the device tree to IGPU. If the first sub-node is AppleIntelFramebuffer... then IGPU is properly enabled.
  • For Thunderbolt, we should check System Information —> PCI or connect a Thunderbolt device.

When I looked in IO registry looks like I do have about 14 or so and just about an even number of both so I believe USB config is solid now, and I noticed computer sleeps and wakes with no issues it’s great. I didn’t see a section listed as iGPU so don’t know if I did that properly may have to try again I did switch myself to 19,1 prior to doing it so not sure if I maybe missed something when doing so must I only use that specific version of hackintools I used the updated version could that hAve been my issue?

outaide of that computer is running awesome iCloud and iMessages services working sleep wake and efficient now I just need tocable manage my PSU cables and I’ll be done then just plug in both monitors and good. I’m trying to get the iGPU running for decoding and encoding to use quick sync and hardware accelerated encoding for a few different services here is the build ^_^

Don’t mind the RAM change in photos went from 2666 LPX and got a hell of a deal on 3200mhz 64GB RGB Corsair pro for way less
 

Attachments

  • B6839119-AAF2-4F78-A590-ED023F1CEC49.jpeg
    B6839119-AAF2-4F78-A590-ED023F1CEC49.jpeg
    107.1 KB · Views: 39
  • AC260883-2FB1-465D-9A37-DCFEAD840847.jpeg
    AC260883-2FB1-465D-9A37-DCFEAD840847.jpeg
    94.2 KB · Views: 35
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Try clicking “Scaled” and test the various options. Is there an option that makes everything look as sharp as the MacBook Pro connected to LG UltraFine 5K?

No, 2560 x 1440 is the closest thing, but its not as sharp as the MacBook Pro/LG 5K combo.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
186
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just swapped my "RX580" card for a "Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 64" card and all seems to be well, except the "About this Mac" info is wrong. Not sure what is causing this, any ideas on how to fix it?


Screen Shot 2019-11-27 at 5.29.29 PM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,883
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just swapped my "RX580" card for a "Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 64" card and all seems to be well, except the "About this Mac" info is wrong. Not sure what is causing this, any ideas on how to fix it?


View attachment 437881
Clover Configurator —> Devices —> Arbitrary probably has an invalid entry. Also, if your CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder has an RX 580 SSDT, it should be deleted.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700k
Graphics
Intel UHD 630
@CaseySJ

Hi mate! Followed the mini guide (Catalina) and kept getting a kernel panic. Couldn't really troubleshoot on my own having read the first few pages here and everything since the mini guide. iGPU on HDMI with i7-9700K on Z390 Designare. Any ideas would be appreciated!

Also, a general question: Is there a robust way to output to a log file during boot up? I had to film at high frame rate just to see that it was a kernel panic. :/
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2019
Messages
59
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
I7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK, I meanwhile managed to install Catalina doing the upgrade path from Mojave using both my iGPU and my external Sapphire Pulse 5700XT. It´s been the strangest update ride I've ever encountered.

1. Installed Mojave 100% sticking to the install guide on page 1 of this thread. Installed with iGPU and HDMI Fix.
2. Went to the App Store and chose to update to Catalina. Catalina Installer prepares, running the update. Screen starts showing all the debugging stuff and went pitch black. Still on iGPU. Nothing happens from this point in time. Waited, tried a few times, same result.
3. Installed the Sapphire 5700XT, changed BIOS initial Display Output and ran again. Debugging starts, Screen went green and purple for about 5-10 Mins with a white line on top. White line vanishes and all of a sudden GPU fans stop working and screen went black again. Mainboard still on.
4. Tried again, same result, but this time I tried to hot swap the HDMI cable shortly after the fans stop. What is see is not exactly what i expected but the Catalina Login Screen on the Monitor.

So I am on Catalina 10.15.1, ATM. Seems to be working quite good with iGPU. I tried to update to the latest Beta but every time I start the Update process the Apple logo appears and the progress bar is starting but after a short while the system is rebooting into 10.15.1. again.

eGPU stops working the moment the login screen ist up and ready. Any Idea? adgpmod=pikera was missing and did the job. Fans still stop working, that might be normal under no heavy load but system idle.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2019
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Vega FE
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone been able to get all audio jack ports play sound coming from external speakers? I have tested all audio ports on the I/O panel, and the only one that seems to work with layout 16 for Realtek 1220-vb is the audio port labeled "in" and the only audio port to work with external speakers on Windows is the audio port labeled "out". Please see picture attached and the diagram explains the the only two audio ports that currently work with the basic setup for plugging in a external dual channel left and right audio speaker 3.5 mm aux cable. Is there a way to fix for all audio ports on Back Panel to work or recognize as audio receiving? The audio selected for the hack is "line out". The second one is recognized but does not work when switching audio ports.
 

Attachments

  • designareaudio.jpg
    designareaudio.jpg
    77.8 KB · Views: 39
  • audio line out.png
    audio line out.png
    56.1 KB · Views: 41
Joined
Nov 28, 2019
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've been following this thread for a few weeks, and it all seems really interesting. I'm considering building my first Hackintosh in the next few months to replace my ageing 2012 Mac mini. I'm not looking at doing anything graphics intensive initially so I was wondering if this kind of build would work running purely on Intel graphics from a 9700K?
 
Top