459628-9d6246fc035324ab7c4812981cb99f38.png

Screenshot 2021-01-12 at 5.15.21 PM.png

cinebench-ryzen5900-6800.png

COMPONENTS
visiond-base.jpeg

Other tools needed
  • 16GB USB Key (for Catalina install)
  • MountEFI & Propertree (for editing)
  • Spare Hackintosh/Mac (for creating Catalina USB stick/editing if necessary)
  • USB 3.0 external slot drive (for copying/editing files and data)

Comments

What works

NVMe detection and bootup​
AMD RX6800 (limited - until proper macOS driver arrives)​
USB 3.1, 3.0 & 2.0 (hot-plugging and eject on USB 3.1 works)​
Full sound ports including digital out with volume adjustment​
Ethernet​

What doesn't

Bluetooth​
WiFi​
Thunderbolt (still testing)​
GPU graphics (currently set to VESA mode)​
Sound (getting crackling from the board)​

Reasons Behind Purchase
I work in the imaging industry, and for the work we need speed and the ability to access and process large or large numbers of files on the fly without interruption is of particular importance to our work. Too many systems currently based on the standalone Intel architecture are not just cut up for the job. I've been using Hackintoshes myself for nearly 8 years, and I came to it simply because Apple couldn't provide us what we wanted - good performance for a reasonable price. As a seasoned Apple user who went from PCs and PowerMac 8400s to G4s/G5s/Powerbooks and iMacs/Mac Pros/Macbook Pros, it has been my experience that Hackintoshes are generally (compared to real Apple Macs at least) a lot more upgrade-friendly, wallet-friendly, great value for money and surprisingly reliable. As my last Hack lasted about 7 years with constant daily use, the only thing that was ever broken was the PSU and that got replaced - it was that solid.