Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gabedamien's first build: Maximus V Gene - 3770K - 16GB RAM - GTX 670 - FT03 - OS X 10.8

Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
windows 7
CPU
i 7 2600k
Graphics
560ti ultra
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have two systems I'd like to dual boot. one on a Ga-z77n(video editing) and one on the ASUS Gene V Z77 mother board. My problem lies in which system gets what. I have an i7 2600k and an i5 3570k and a GTX680 plus I'm getting a GTX660 or 660ti. one for video editing and the other is for gaming/dual boot OS X . I've heard that OS X 10.8 and later do not work with Sandy bridge CPU. Any suggestions?
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2013
Messages
62
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
128K, iBook, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just wanted to thank you for posting the details of your build, I followed them and it worked the first time. I'm using the same SilverStone FT03 case, which is pretty attractive. I wound up leaving off one of the internal fans because the Noctua took up too much space. I really had to wrestle with the big power cord that runs right through the case. It was always in the way. I went with an 850W PSU, in anticipation of future graphics cards. I'm also not a big fan of the internal USB3 connector, it's really easy to dislodge from the header. Now to get all the ports working. Thanks again. DSC_5157.jpgDSC_5156.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
123
Motherboard
Asus Maximus V Gene
CPU
Intel 3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Graphics
Asus GTX 670 DCII 2GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ugh, the USB 3.0 cord caused me no end of problems. I'd already stuffed so many cables through the few ports available, that one was nearly the one that prevented the whole thing from coming together. I didn't have a ton of confidence in it either by the time it was done, but ultimately, a PC doesn't really move around at all, right? I've since transported it via car several times and everything still works, so I wouldn't worry too much about it.

The power cable was also annoying because it looks like it's SUPPOSED to go underneath the bottom fan, where there's a small pass-through port, but there was no way to force one end through to make this work - the terminations are just too thick. Too bad, because my airflow in that section is just not great, what with all those cables taking up space.

I ended up using a different route than you though, I looped my cable back around and then up through a port *above* the bottom fan (where it still comes out near the A/C terminal port), whereas you passed it through the opposite side and then presumably had to cross all the drive bays to reach that port. Damned either way I guess.

Super glad to hear that everything worked for you on the first try. :headbang:
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
Hackintosh in Progress
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
Asus DirectCUii 3GB 7970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey have read your guide/thread as I set up my Hackintosh.
I built a similar system in anticipation for Apples support for the AMD 7970. So I have been stuck with windows for far too long.

I ran into a problem during the installation and could not find a fix. Perhaps you guys have a solution. (I of course removed the 7970 card before install.)

I receive the following error, after using: GraphicsEnabler=Yes "GraphicsMode"="1920x1080x32" -v
WARNING: IOPlatformPluginUtil : getCPUIDInfo: this is an unknown CPU model 0x3a
-- power management may be incomplete or unsupported.


I used the Bios update, and flashed it successfully, as recommended, as well as set my setting identical to the screenshots that were shared earlier in the thread.
My build is as follows:

Intel Core i7 3770K
Asus Maximus V Gene
G.SKILL F3-12800CL10Q-32GBZL Ripjawsz 32GB 4X8GB DDR3-1600 CL10
2x Kingston HyperX 120GB SSDs (Were in RAID0, but dismantled the raid for this install)
Asus DirectCu ii 3GB 7970
5x Asus ProArt 23" IPS monitors (For 5x1 eyefinity)
OCZ Z-SERIES 850W 80+ Gold Certified 24PIN ATX 71A Modular Power Supply
Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme All-in-One Liquid Cooling System
Fractal Design Define Mini mATX Computer Case
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
Hackintosh in Progress
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
Asus DirectCUii 3GB 7970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Ok, so no response, but I made some progress. Hopefully I am not talking to a wall, because I need some more help.
I reread the thread and caught a post about someone with the same error, and saying that it works.

At this point, I have been able to install OS X, but I cannot boot without "-x".
I installed chimera 2 but cannot boot with it even with the -x command.
I followed Gabedamiens screenshot of multibeast settings, and my bios has been flashed to the modded version.

I set multibeast to verbose mode but I cannot see any errors except for the previously mentioned one.
It just hangs at some point. Is there a log of the boot that is stored somewhere on my system that I can post?

I did not write down what it says when it hangs on boot off my system drive.
When I boot off of my install USB with -x it runs a few more lines then boots to login screen.
I will edit with details this evening.

EDIT: So my boot hangs on "macx_swapon SUCCESS"

Should I be changing my definition to something other than MacPro 3.1?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
1,299
Motherboard
ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS
CPU
2x Intel Xeon E5-2683 v3
Graphics
Sapphire AMD FirePro W9100
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
that message you got:
WARNING: IOPlatformPluginUtil : getCPUIDInfo: this is an unknown CPU model 0x3a
-- power management may be incomplete or unsupported.

is due to using Sandy Bridge PowerManagement on an Ivy Bridge CPU, if you use the proper Ivy Bridge PowerManagement it will go away.

Also "GraphicsMode"="1920x1080x32" should be "Graphics Mode"="1920x1080x32" and is only required for the HD3000/HD4000
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
Hackintosh in Progress
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
Asus DirectCUii 3GB 7970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
that message you got:
WARNING: IOPlatformPluginUtil : getCPUIDInfo: this is an unknown CPU model 0x3a
-- power management may be incomplete or unsupported.

is due to using Sandy Bridge PowerManagement on an Ivy Bridge CPU, if you use the proper Ivy Bridge PowerManagement it will go away.

Also "GraphicsMode"="1920x1080x32" should be "Graphics Mode"="1920x1080x32" and is only required for the HD3000/HD4000
Thank you for your answer PJALM!

I have made some progress.
I was able to boot into OSX without the -x on the integrated HD4000 graphics. Then I installed my Asus 7970 directCU ii, and got that set up, but could only boot into safemode. I tried the "sleep trick", when I boot normally, as I get the "white screen". But after I wake it up, I get a black screen with a cursor. I understand that this is probably not the right place to ask this, but please take this in the context of sleep/wake issues for the Maximus V Gene. If you have sleep/wake issues, is what I am describing in line with other failures? Or could this just be a different issue?

I unfortunately did not test the sleep/wake function when I had it operational on the HD4000, and now that I have made so many changes to accommodate the 7970, I have not put in much effort to get it to boot outside of safemode on the HD4000 again.

Any change you could guide me as to my next step in diagnosing the issue?

Thanks!
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
116
Motherboard
gigabyte z77x-ud5h
CPU
intel i7 3770k
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Your PC is Pweeety! :thumbup: nice job man
 

a0R

Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
Asus Maximus V Gene
CPU
Intel i5 3570K
Graphics
ASUS GTX 670 DirectCUII 2GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I build my first Hackintosh this week using your guide, thanks alot! The next step is to OC my build and it
seems not to be working. My current specc is 4.2 GHz in BIOS but i cant manage to get it to work in OSX. When I run Geekbench 3, I only scored 2,5k points, but in stock clock i get about 10k points.

Any clue what might be the problem? I use mac mini profile (6.2, i5). I also ran MB setup after OC.
 
Top