Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] [GA-Z77X-UP5-TH] Yosemite with Clover

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
58
Motherboard
Z390 M GAMING
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Thanks so much for posting your how to! I've got the same board and everything is working except the DVD drive. If I use the tonymac default config.plist the then my mac sees the drive. If I use your config then it doesn't.

I can't figure out what would be causing the DVD burner not to be seen by Yosemite. I disabled the color patch because I like knowing what drives are external, but this didn't fix it. I think it's something in the ACPI but man, all the options in here are like Calculous for a toddler and I'm the toddler.
Any suggestions?

b

UPDATE: well, for some reason my DVD player works now. I booted into my Chimera installed Mavericks where it worked, then back into Clover Yosemite and it works now. Still not sure why it wasn't working, but it does.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
2
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770k
Graphics
nVidia GTX 760
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
View attachment 110416



- To fix onboard sound- ALC898 - follow this guide http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/112458-mavericks-audio-realtek-alc-applehda-guide.html

To use Apple services (Message, Facetime, iClound), you will need to configure the smbios. Use Clover Configurator for that.
This link provides all the information you need to get the services working - http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-help/110471-how-fix-imessage.html

NOTE: NO! JK2309 is WRONG ABOUT HOW TO GET SOUND!

Once you're done with his good Clover Yosemite installation guide:

Simply download Multibeast 6.1.0, install withoutDSDT 898 driver and restart your computer. Once you're back in, go to system preferences and select internal speakers!

It took me hours upon hours to figure this out because he was leading me in the wrong direction! I posted this elsewhere for any poor guy that is having the same frustration as me.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2011
Messages
55
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi folks,

So this is an interesting one for me. After having read how successful some folks have been with Ozmosis, I read up and built my own ROM based on the tweaktown Rom mentioned earlier in this post.

So far, so good. I've managed to get Yosemite installing. I also managed to get RAID 0 to boot (interesting, because I didn't think it WOULD)

No iMessage of course, but as I have a few legitimate machines (including some old Mac Pro 2,1 both running Yosemite via the custom kernel available from Piker-Alpha and a 2014 MacBook Pro Retina) it's not a big problem.

I'll report back a little later on RAID 0 with Yosemite. I need to rebuild my Raid 0 anyway, and I have a backup of both THAT system and another backup elsewhere, so hopefully I won't screw any pooches.

I've also good chameleon hiding on a drive somewhere on the 20TB mass that is my studio machine.

Nikki.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I know this is getting a bit old in the tooth but I'm desperately trying to understand Clover on my Hack... and it's not working out well. I had to switch from Chimera due to Wifi bugs and abysmal USB3 performance, but Clover is proving a bigger battle than what I'm able to take on.

I'm on my 3rd install now, and I can't seem to get Ethernet to even exist on my system. Any clues??
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
That worked perfectly! Thanks!

Now for question #2: no matter what I do, even if I'm following the guides to the letter, I can't boot from my SSD. I can boot from it only if I go to boot menu on launch and select it, but for some reason, even if it's properly setup in UEFI, it won'T boot from it automatically...?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
84
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH F12 (GA-Z77X-UP5-TH)
CPU
INTEL i7 3770K
Graphics
Radeon RX 580 8 GB (GV-RX580GAMING-8GD)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Now for question #2: no matter what I do, even if I'm following the guides to the letter, I can't boot from my SSD. I can boot from it only if I go to boot menu on launch and select it, but for some reason, even if it's properly setup in UEFI, it won'T boot from it automatically...?

Perhaps you didn't select the correct boot disk order in the BIOS/EFI menu of your motherboard? Your scenario sounds like it.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I'm sure I did, as I basically only have one bootable disk right now...

EDIT: ok never mind my previous princess rant, I haven't slept much lately :)
Seems like my BIOS resets the boot order on it's own... I've never seen this happen. Could Clover EFI be causing this?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
84
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH F12 (GA-Z77X-UP5-TH)
CPU
INTEL i7 3770K
Graphics
Radeon RX 580 8 GB (GV-RX580GAMING-8GD)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Maybe try to use only EFI boot mode, instead of Legacy BIOS/EFI in the BIOS menu.

The audio problem i pretty sure can be fixed, and the link is in bottom of the post. And also there is a member pointed finger at me saying the link about fixing the sound is wrong. You can follow his instruction to get the sound working. (although I don't use Multibeast to fix the sound issue) (I am assuming you have the same MB as mine). The only issue with the onboard sound is you pretty much need to repatch the kext whenever there is an upgrade from Apple.

As I mentioned in my post, I don't use the onboard sound because I am using the USB TangoBar sound bar from XtremeMac, and the USB sound works just fine.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
5,853
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
RX580 / HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
technosinner said:
Now for question #2: no matter what I do, even if I'm following the guides to the letter, I can't boot from my SSD. I can boot from it only if I go to boot menu on launch and select it, but for some reason, even if it's properly setup in UEFI, it won'T boot from it automatically...?

Instead of setting the HDD/SSD in first of boot order, make the UEFI entry as the first boot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top