Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] [GA-Z77X-UP5-TH] Yosemite with Clover

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
84
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH F12 (GA-Z77X-UP5-TH)
CPU
INTEL i7 3770K
Graphics
Radeon RX 580 8 GB (GV-RX580GAMING-8GD)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You can get the bios from here:

http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte/48085-gigabyte-modified-bios.html

You can read about patching it with Ozmosis here:

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/291655-ozmosis/

And here: ((download Ozmosis.zip)

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/301407-guide-insert-ozmosis-into-uefi-bios/



Yes it supports both OS X and Windows (both UEFI and Legacy Boot)

I won't share mine as it contains info unique to my OSX (MLB and Hardware ROM)

Good Luck :thumbup:



I am just wondering, what's the good thing to flash a custom ROM for a customac?


Edit: Never mind me. I've found out the reason. Thanks...
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
Mavericks 10.9.5
CPU
3770k
Graphics
560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
You can get the bios from here:

http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte/48085-gigabyte-modified-bios.html

You can read about patching it with Ozmosis here:

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/291655-ozmosis/

And here: ((download Ozmosis.zip)

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/301407-guide-insert-ozmosis-into-uefi-bios/



Yes it supports both OS X and Windows (both UEFI and Legacy Boot)

I won't share mine as it contains info unique to my OSX (MLB and Hardware ROM)

Good Luck :thumbup:

Hi arehep. Do you change anything else except adding MLB and ROM into OzmosisDefaults.plist, then compiled by Kext2Efs? Do you change the string in this plist file such as 1F8E0C02-58A9-4E34-AE22-2B63745FA101, 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102 and 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82. If you changed it, then where do you get this Ids? Thanks.

By the way, do you add other kexts except those mentioned in the tutorial? Thanks again.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
113
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 660 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here is the config.plist for Clover I use for my motherboard (GA-Z77X-UP5-TH) + NVIDIA GTX 650Ti BOOST. I disable the Intel GFX as I am not using it.

.....

That's all you need. Follow the instruction http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-desktop-guides/144426-how-install-os-x-yosemite-using-clover.html how to create the USB drive but use my instructions above to configure the clover, you should have a fully working system.

l

So I'm following Tonymacs clover guide whilst trying to set up my GA-Z77X-UP5-TH and 3770K based system, same as the original posters. (jk2309)

I have a few newbie questions if anyone can help?

1 - Even though I'm going to use the kexts and files provided by jk2309 I still need to use the custom settings described in TM's clover guide right? i.e. Step 17 and accompanying screenshots in TM's guide.


2 - When jk2309 says 'use my instructions above to configure the clover' he's talking about steps 20-25 in Tonymac's clover guide, correct?

ie. The kexts and files jk2309 provided are copied onto the USB device, pre OSX install onto my main HD/SSD. Oh and I'll have to create the 10.10 folder in the kexts folder on the USB drive too yea?

What about NullCPUPowerManagement.kext? It's listed in Tonymacs guide but there's jk2309 provides everything needed for this mobo...?

3 - What about the config.plist? Replace the one on the USB drive with jk2309's config.plist at the same time as the files above? (same mobo and CPU as mine) or stick with the default Tonymac provided config.plist until post install?

Thanks :)
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
Mavericks 10.9.5
CPU
3770k
Graphics
560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
So I'm following Tonymacs clover guide whilst trying to set up my GA-Z77X-UP5-TH and 3770K based system, same as the original posters. (jk2309)

I have a few newbie questions if anyone can help?

1 - Even though I'm going to use the kexts and files provided by jk2309 I still need to use the custom settings described in TM's clover guide right? i.e. Step 17 and accompanying screenshots in TM's guide.

I follow the screenshot, but you don't need the NullCPUPowerManagement.kext in step 23.


2 - When jk2309 says 'use my instructions above to configure the clover' he's talking about steps 20-25 in Tonymac's clover guide, correct?

ie. The kexts and files jk2309 provided are copied onto the USB device, pre OSX install onto my main HD/SSD. Oh and I'll have to create the 10.10 folder in the kexts folder on the USB drive too yea?

Copy these files your USB or SSD, which you will use to boot and install the Yosemite. Don't copy NullCPUPowerManagement.kext. I have same configuration with you, I didn't use NullCPUPowerManagement.kext.

What about NullCPUPowerManagement.kext? It's listed in Tonymacs guide but there's jk2309 provides everything needed for this mobo...?

3 - What about the config.plist? Replace the one on the USB drive with jk2309's config.plist at the same time as the files above? (same mobo and CPU as mine) or stick with the default Tonymac provided config.plist until post install?

The one in the first post is minimal, You need clover configutor to do more if you want make imessage work. Otherwise, you don't need do anything.

Thanks :)

Please see the answer above.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
84
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH F12 (GA-Z77X-UP5-TH)
CPU
INTEL i7 3770K
Graphics
Radeon RX 580 8 GB (GV-RX580GAMING-8GD)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
So I'm following Tonymacs clover guide whilst trying to set up my GA-Z77X-UP5-TH and 3770K based system, same as the original posters. (jk2309)

I have a few newbie questions if anyone can help?

1 - Even though I'm going to use the kexts and files provided by jk2309 I still need to use the custom settings described in TM's clover guide right? i.e. Step 17 and accompanying screenshots in TM's guide.


2 - When jk2309 says 'use my instructions above to configure the clover' he's talking about steps 20-25 in Tonymac's clover guide, correct?

ie. The kexts and files jk2309 provided are copied onto the USB device, pre OSX install onto my main HD/SSD. Oh and I'll have to create the 10.10 folder in the kexts folder on the USB drive too yea?

What about NullCPUPowerManagement.kext? It's listed in Tonymacs guide but there's jk2309 provides everything needed for this mobo...?

3 - What about the config.plist? Replace the one on the USB drive with jk2309's config.plist at the same time as the files above? (same mobo and CPU as mine) or stick with the default Tonymac provided config.plist until post install?

Thanks :)


tmdegpet basically answered all the questions. :)


Answer from me to your question,

1) The motherboard I used in the first post does not require NullCPUPowerManagement.kext

2) You will need to copy those files I provided to your USB and, after you've installed your OS onto your SSD, and after you've installed Clover onto your SSD, copy the exact same files I provided to your SSD Clover folder( same steps as what you've done to your USB).

3) config.plist I provided is minimal config, and use it to replace the default config.plist provided by Clover. I've removed the SMBIOS info I used so that people do not share the same info with me, thus, it doesn't have pre-defined SMBIOS information, and Clover generates one for you automatically when your system bootups .

However if you wish to use Apple's services, it is highly recommended you to use Clover Configurator ( easiest way, or unless you will to use textpad to edit those xml :) ), to generate a set of SMBIOS that you wish to use with your system.

You will have to ring up Apple Support if your smbios info has not been registered with your account before. (Customer Support Code) .

Just follow how - fix - imessage guide.

Give me a shout if you have issue with your setup.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
113
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 660 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Huge thanks everyone, I now have a working Yosemite system, yay! :thumbup:

@jk2309 - I do have a couple of other question if you're not sick of me already! :)

- Are you using an SSDT?
I had a quick play around with this last night:
Generated an ssdt.aml using SSDTPRgen and placed it in EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched
Use Clover Configurator to uncheck both the generate p and c states and then checked the dropOEM option. (DropOEM is the same as DropSSDT in Chameleon right?)
Restarted but nothing seemed to have changed, I'm just getting x16 and x35 speeds when running Geekbench and watching the CPU cores in Hardware Monitor.

- If YES to above, did you have to use any of the workaround flags (-w1, -w2, -w3) or other flags in SSDTPRGen when generating your SSDT?
In the example I mentioned above I used the -w 3 flag as I'd managed to get the stock turbo speeds working with this when using Chameleon. ie. x16 - x37 with some steps in-between.

- What SMBIOS are you using?
I guess this may depend on your answer to my first 2 questions but I've set mine to MacMini6,2 as under Chameleon this seemed to give the best speed-stepping results. I've also noticed some minor graphical glitches with the iMac13,x definitions in the past.
Although I've since changed my current SMBIOS to MacMini6,2 I noticed that Clover defaulted my system to an iMac13,2 definition (which was a nice surprise), so should I be using that instead?


Thanks again!

EDIT - Want to try and get all the above working (plus a gentle overlock @ 4.2-ish) so that my choice of SMBIOS is 'settled upon', then I can go ahead and do the iMessage fix.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
84
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH F12 (GA-Z77X-UP5-TH)
CPU
INTEL i7 3770K
Graphics
Radeon RX 580 8 GB (GV-RX580GAMING-8GD)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Huge thanks everyone, I now have a working Yosemite system, yay! :thumbup:

@jk2309 - I do have a couple of other question if you're not sick of me already! :)

- Are you using an SSDT?
I had a quick play around with this last night:
Generated an ssdt.aml using SSDTPRgen and placed it in EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched
Use Clover Configurator to uncheck both the generate p and c states and then checked the dropOEM option. (DropOEM is the same as DropSSDT in Chameleon right?)
Restarted but nothing seemed to have changed, I'm just getting x16 and x35 speeds when running Geekbench and watching the CPU cores in Hardware Monitor.

- If YES to above, did you have to use any of the workaround flags (-w1, -w2, -w3) or other flags in SSDTPRGen when generating your SSDT?
In the example I mentioned above I used the -w 3 flag as I'd managed to get the stock turbo speeds working with this when using Chameleon. ie. x16 - x37 with some steps in-between.

- What SMBIOS are you using?
I guess this may depend on your answer to my first 2 questions but I've set mine to MacMini6,2 as under Chameleon this seemed to give the best speed-stepping results. I've also noticed some minor graphical glitches with the iMac13,x definitions in the past.
Although I've since changed my current SMBIOS to MacMini6,2 I noticed that Clover defaulted my system to an iMac13,2 definition (which was a nice surprise), so should I be using that instead?


Thanks again!

EDIT - Want to try and get all the above working (plus a gentle overlock @ 4.2-ish) so that my choice of SMBIOS is 'settled upon', then I can go ahead and do the iMessage fix.



That's fine. It's great that if I can be any help.

I used to have SSDT when I was using chimera bootloader. But since I switched to clover, and I don't see any different to use with/without the SSDT I used before. All the CPU step speed are working fine without SSDT, the sleep function works fine as well (I use Sleep functionality 247, can't live without it, thus if there is something wrong with sleep, i definitely know about it).

I use Intel Power Gadget to determine if the cpu step is working fine. mine cpu speed ranging from (idle) 1.6Ghz -> 3.9 GHz (full load)depends on the load, and it changes with fairly small freq steps , for example, 2.98->3.21 Ghz... and with heavy load, 3.9Ghz .

As for SMBIOS, I used iMac13.2, because I think the real iMac13.2 has i7 support natively, maybe I should just stick with it (just my 2c). I have not used any other SMBIOS such as MacMini, as I said before, all functions on my customac with clover are working perfectly, there is no reason for me to make any changes.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
113
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 660 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the info.

I'll have a look at the Intel Power gadget shortly.

In Hardware Monitor for me the 4 CPU Core outputs all show as either x16 or x35. The CPU Package Average in HM looks a lot more like you described (gentle changes to the speed -eg: 3.19 > 3.24 > 3.30 Ghz).
My CPU never seems to go above 3.5Ghz though and the stock Turbo Boost should go up to 3.9Ghz like yours.

I'm happy enough tinkering at the moment though I'll probably try swapping back to iMac13,2 and see if there's any difference.

Good point on the sleep, its been working fine for me too. Even better, my fans don't kick in when waking from sleep like they used to under Chimera/Chameleon.

Thanks again for the help and advice. Clover rocks so far! :)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
84
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH F12 (GA-Z77X-UP5-TH)
CPU
INTEL i7 3770K
Graphics
Radeon RX 580 8 GB (GV-RX580GAMING-8GD)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for the info.

I'll have a look at the Intel Power gadget shortly.

In Hardware Monitor for me the 4 CPU Core outputs all show as either x16 or x35. The CPU Package Average in HM looks a lot more like you described (gentle changes to the speed -eg: 3.19 > 3.24 > 3.30 Ghz).
My CPU never seems to go above 3.5Ghz though and the stock Turbo Boost should go up to 3.9Ghz like yours.

I'm happy enough tinkering at the moment though, I'll probably try swapping back to iMac13,2 and see if there's any difference.

Good point on the sleep, its been working fine for me too. Even better, my fans don't kick in when waking from sleep like they used to under Chimera/Chameleon.

Thanks again for the help and advice. Clover rocks so far! :)



AFAIK, HWMonitor depends on the FakeSMC very much, you might want to try out different version of FakeSMC, to see if that fixes your issue.I am using both HWMonitor and mainly iStat Menus, and it seems to be okay.

However, try out Intel Power Gadget first. It should give you better figures.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
Mavericks 10.9.5
CPU
3770k
Graphics
560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
You can get the bios from here:

http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte/48085-gigabyte-modified-bios.html

You can read about patching it with Ozmosis here:

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/291655-ozmosis/

And here: ((download Ozmosis.zip)

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/301407-guide-insert-ozmosis-into-uefi-bios/



Yes it supports both OS X and Windows (both UEFI and Legacy Boot)

I won't share mine as it contains info unique to my OSX (MLB and Hardware ROM)

Good Luck :thumbup:


Hi arehep,
Could you post a screen shot for the modules inserted into this motherboard's bios and the files list for folder oz in efi partition? I tried to mod this motherboard, but I cannot boot directly into mac os x, which is freezing on osx logo. I have to use clover boot loader to boot win and mac os x. Thanks for your help?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top