Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] GA-Z77-D3H + AMD RADEON R7 260x

Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
1
Motherboard
GA-Z77-D3H
Graphics
Sapphire R7 260x
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
This is my first ever post. Decided to contribute after hours of trial and error. Hopefully I can save someone else's time.:D

I managed to get my hackintosh working on my build. So I'd like to share a quick how-to.

Installation

- Follow the instructions from: http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capita...-el-capitan-any-supported-intel-based-pc.html

- Skip step 5. Install Clover_v2.3k_r3320_UEFI.pkg instead.

- Get the GA-Z77-DS3H pack from
https://code.google.com/p/project-osx86/downloads/detail?name=GA-Z77-DS3H%20pack.zip&can=2
(I know it's a different mobo variant. Luckily the components that matter are the same, as far as I know)

- With Kext Utility, install FakeSMC, NullCPUPowerManagement, and AtherosL1cEthernet.

- I didn't bother with smbios (Should I? Let me know!) because everything seems to be running fine for me so far.

Graphics

This is my card:http://www.sapphiretech.com/productdetial.asp?pid=D63B013D-B6DC-4C61-AAA0-EE54EE39ACD7&lang=eng

- To get it working, first run Kext Utility. Then open Terminal and type

sudo nano /Systems/Library/Extensions/AMD8000Controller.kext/Contents/Info.plist

- Find this.


<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x45001002 0x46001002 0x66401002 0x66411002 0x66461002 0x66471002 0x66501002 0x66511002 0x665C1002 0x665D1002 0x67B01002 0x66401002</string>


- Add "0x066581002" among the strings. Exit, and hit Enter.

- Do the same for AMDRadeonX4000.kext

- If that still doesn't work, use Clover Configurator to add 0x66581002 to Fake ID under ATI. And Inject ATI.

- To test, play Chess. If you can make a move, then it's working.

- For some reason, my system recognises my card as "AMD Radeon HD 8xxx 2048MB". Doesn't matter. The graphics still works.

Audio

Follow this: http://www.tonymacx86.com/lion-desk...z77-d3h-via-vt2021-onboard-sound-working.html

Notes

- If your "About This Mac" shows 7MB Graphics, then you haven't configured the drivers yet. See the Graphics instructions above.

- If you can't boot into El Capitan without your USB installer, you'll need to install FakeSMC and NullCPUPowerManagement kext files.

- Last but not least. DO NOT ask me for support as I am not that tech-savvy. I can, however, provide some clarification for these instructions.

Many thanks to the people who created the apps, wrote the original instructions, created the kext files, and posted on the threads that I found.

May the Force be with you.
 
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
4
Motherboard
GA-H270-GAMING-3
CPU
Intel i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX960
Mobile Phone
iOS
This guide is very helpful. Thank you!!
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2012
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Actually I would guess you are using the non S version have re read the post. Can I ask what version of the BIOS you are using?
 
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
3
Motherboard
10.11.6
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700K
Graphics
AMD Radeon R7 260X
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
* Sorry bad english *

Wow! very thank you! I have been trying to make work the R7 260X in my hackintosh for almost a year and I almost thought that it was impossible!

But an alert for the people who also is gonna try this, those instructions have two mistyping, and if you don't notice them (like me the first time I tried to follow this), you are gonna think that this is another trick on the internet that really don't work! but it does work:

- The terminal command is: sudo nano /System/Library/Extensions/AMD8000Controller.kext/Contents/Info.plist
In the instructions it says Systems, and it is just System!

- The string you need to add among the other strings is 0x66581002, not 0x066581002. With that extra zero it's not going to work. In fact, later in the instructions is well typed.

Regards!
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87-D3HP
CPU
I5 4440
Graphics
Integrated Graphics
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have an ASUS R7 260X 2gb and could not make it work.
I ran kext utility, edited the files mentioned here (without the mistyping) but with no success.

I injected ATI in multibeast , could this be an issue ?
The monitor is connected to HDMI but for the sake of testing i also connected it to the DVI port and through an adapter to my VGA port on the monitor.

Any help is much appreciated.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
H81M-VG4 R2.0
CPU
intel core i7 4790
Graphics
Sapphire r7 260x
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi everyone, manage to get it work. i added the 0x66581002 to both AMD8000Controller.kext and AMDRadeonX4000.kext
But i did it first with AMD8000Controller.kext rebooted kinda work.
Then with AMDRadeonX4000.kext i added 0x66581002 to multiple IOPCIMatch Keys
Rebooted it work.
thank you soo much
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,957
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi everyone, manage to get it work. i added the 0x66581002 to both AMD8000Controller.kext and AMDRadeonX4000.kext
But i did it first with AMD8000Controller.kext rebooted kinda work.
Then with AMDRadeonX4000.kext i added 0x66581002 to multiple IOPCIMatch Keys
Rebooted it work.
thank you soo much
You'd be better with PEG0 ATY (injection) in a DSDT only because you'll have Graphics natively on every update.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
H81M-VG4 R2.0
CPU
intel core i7 4790
Graphics
Sapphire r7 260x
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
You'd be better with PEG0 ATY (injection) in a DSDT only because you'll have Graphics natively on every update.
My config is very modest, H81M-VG4 R2.0, R7 260x core i7 4790 non K
And i've read that it doesn't really need a DSDT
I did it with clover, but no luck (As the tutorial said)
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,957
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
My config is very modest, H81M-VG4 R2.0, R7 260x core i7 4790 non K
And i've read that it doesn't really need a DSDT
I did it with clover, but no luck (As the tutorial said)
You can use Clover yes. But more easier with )ATY injection) with either a DSDT or SSDT.
 
Top