Contribute
Register

[Success] GA-Z370 Aorus Gaming 7 + i7-8700K + RX 5700 XT + OC

Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
GA--Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Svart's Build OpenCore Big Sur 11.2.2 Refresh:
Core i7-8700k - Z370 Aorus Gaming 7 - 32GB RAM - RX 5700XT


Components

Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7 Motherboard
https://www.amazon.de/GIGABYTE-Z370-AORUS-Gaming-7

Intel i7-8700K Coffee Lake 6 core 3.7 Processor
https://www.amazon.de/Intel-i7-8700K-Processor

G.Skill TridentZ DDR4 32GB PC 3200 CL14 Kit Tri/Z RGB (F4-3200C14D-32GTZR)
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram

Samsung 960 PRO SSD 512GB 2.1/3.5G PCIe M.2 NVMe
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147596

Fractal Design Define R6 Blackout Tempered Glass
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811352076

be quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 850W Power Supply
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=1HU-004H-00042

Noctua NH-D15 CPU Cooler
https://www.newegg.com/p/1B4-0172-000B7?Description=Noctua

Noctua NF-A15 HS-PWM 140x150x25 fans
https://www.newegg.com/noctua-chromax-black-swap-case-fan

Gigabyte Aorus RX 5700XT
https://www.newegg.com/gigabyte-radeon-rx-5700-xt

Samsung 970 PRO SSD 512GB 2.1/3.5G PCIe M.2 NVMe
https://www.newegg.com/samsung-970-pro-512gb


Comments

I upgraded my Catalina build to Big Sur. Main usage for this machine is office stuff and audio post production.

The Build
Everything stayed the same, so I didn't upgrade any hardware. I used my second M.2 SSD as a backup drive for Catalina, and, later on, as a test drive for Big Sur which makes it very easy to test out the different things.

When Big Sur came out I had no luck with a stable installation. It installed with no issues. But than, after awhile of usage, the system froze. I couldn't find out why, so I decided to wait for optimized OpenCore bootloader. With OpenCore 6.7 I managed to get BigSur installed and running. Well, as I figured, I didn't convert my earlier oc configs correctly to the newer versions, but you can't fool me twice config.plist! (Pprobably it will, but yeah! :) )

BIOS Settings
BIOS is the latest F15a.

1 Save & Exit → Load Optimized Defaults
2 M.I.T. → Advanced Memory Settings Extreme Memory Profile(X.M.P.) : Profile1
3 System → CSM Support : Disabled
3 BIOS → Fast Boot : Disabled
4 BIOS → LAN PXE Boot Option ROM : Disabled
5 BIOS → Storage Boot Option Control : UEFI
6 Peripherals → Initial Display Output : PCIe 1 Slot
7 Peripherals → Above 4G Decoding : Enabled
8 Peripherals → Intel Platform Trust Technology : Disabled
9 Peripherals → Network Stack Configuration → Network Stack : Disabled
10 Peripherals → USB Configuration → Legacy USB Support : Auto
11 Peripherals → USB Configuration → XHCI Hand-off : Enabled
12 Chipset → Vt-d : Enabled (disabled in the config.plist but if you use Windows you can enable it)
13 Chipset → Wake on LAN Enable : Enabled
14 Chipset → IOAPIC 24-119 Entries : Enabled
15 Chipset → Integrated Graphics : Enabled

Smart Fan Settings set to silent mode so all 6 fans are below 1000 rpm and nearly inaudible.

OpenCore
I followed the OpenCore Desktop Guide for my Coffee Lake CPU. I also used the Hackintool and the New Beginner's Guide to USB port Configuration for mapping out my USB ports.

I switched from iMacPro1,1 back to iMac19,2. Mandatory needed boot-args: agdpmod=pikera and igfxonln=1 without this I got stuck at booting "Nvidia IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0 error".

For audio I chose first the boot-arg "alcid=11" instead of the default "alcid=1" and later added it to Device Properties in the config.plist instead.

Mapping out the USB ports with USBMap tool like the guide mentioned wasn't as clear as with Hackintool form me. But both work.



Conclusion

I got working iMessage, DRM playback, all USB ports, both UAD cards, sleep/wake and Bluetooth via USB. Since I don't have WIFI installed, Airdrop isn't available. The app MonitorControl, which is controlling the brightness of my screen, is working very nicely.

So everything so far tested is working great. Nevertheless, I did get a freeze with a green screen two times, but I don't know what's causing it. Need to investigate more and report back here.

Right now I'm running the latest OS 11.2.2 and OC 0.6.7.
- Updated to OC 7.0 and OS 11.4

Thanks again to this awesome community and happy hackintoshing!
 

Attachments

  • Svarts OC67 EFI iMac19.2.zip
    2.2 MB · Views: 391
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
68
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus G7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi @Svart!
Can you contact @Inqnuam so you can add Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7 Motherboard to HackinDROM's list?
It would be very helpful for a lot of us..

Here is a link with instructions.

Thank you!
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
GA--Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
2
Motherboard
GA-Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @Svart
I have almost the same setup here, Z370 Aorus Gaming 7 but with an i7 8700K and an RX 580 (followed golden build 'GIGABYTE Z370 Gaming 7 + Intel Core i7-8700K + RX 580 + (2x) Dell P2715Q 4k @ 60Hz' when I put it together a couple of years ago). I had a working 10.15 machine running with Clover, and of course Big Sur broke it. I found your EFI and switched to OC, worked well. I figured I'd just get it going and learn about OC in reverse... which has also worked out well. Sooooo.. a couple of things were problematic for me with your EFI, which I fixed and thought others may have a similar experience.

0) Thing that works now but didn't with Clover (besides Big Sur, that's a big one...) - Both eth ports now work!

1) Only the front panel headphone jack was working. I changed the layout-id to 1 from 11 and my back panel is happy again.

2) USB map was not correct. I was able to use my SSDT-UIAC.aml from before and it's happy again - I removed USBMap.kext and replaced SSDT-UIAC.aml with my old one. It seems to still show too many USB ports if I don't load USBInjectAll.kext, so you'll want that. Also, don't enable XhciPortLimit quirk. Make sure your config.plist matches the changes. With my aml file and USBInjectAll, all ports are working in both USB 2 (HSxx) and USB 3 (SSxx) modes, and there are no extras.

I've attached the aml file, and a jpg showing all the USB ports and their labels.

Here's a working plist entry for USBInjectAll (I assume you can find the latest version of the actual kext on your own):

<dict>
<key>BundlePath</key>
<string>USBInjectAll.kext</string>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>Inject USB Ports</string>
<key>Enabled</key>
<true/>
<key>ExecutablePath</key>
<string>Contents/MacOS/USBInjectAll</string>
<key>MaxKernel</key>
<string></string>
<key>MinKernel</key>
<string></string>
<key>Arch</key>
<string>Any</string>
<key>PlistPath</key>
<string>Contents/Info.plist</string>
</dict>
 

Attachments

  • AorusGaming7_USB_labels.jpg
    AorusGaming7_USB_labels.jpg
    284.4 KB · Views: 103
  • SSDT-UIAC.aml
    660 bytes · Views: 39
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2021
Messages
23
Motherboard
Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I7 8700K
Graphics
3080 RTX
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
hello bro
thank you for this
my desktop

i7-8700K
Z370 Gaming 5
RTX 3080
RAM 32GB 3200

I decided to install Big Sur 11.2.2 and downloaded it and burned it and I want to boot without Nvidia graphic card because it is not supported on Mac
I used your EFI but when booting s reboot in Apple logo
I made a topic, please solve the problem


thank you
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Messages
18
Motherboard
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
I7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. Apple
  3. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@Svart --Thanks for offering up your work. I too have a similar config, except for RX5700 (Vega 64) and Samsung SSD (I have the Samsungs but also Sabrent and 980Pro).

Wondering if there is anything preventing a new version of OC? Because I need my Hack to work, I'm gonna use the same, v.67 once I upgrade MB firmware. :)

Starting momentarily.

Thanks again for sharing.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
GA--Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
@Svart --Thanks for offering up your work. I too have a similar config, except for RX5700 (Vega 64) and Samsung SSD (I have the Samsungs but also Sabrent and 980Pro).

Wondering if there is anything preventing a new version of OC? Because I need my Hack to work, I'm gonna use the same, v.67 once I upgrade MB firmware. :)

Starting momentarily.

Thanks again for sharing.
Hi Jacknva,

right now I'm running OC 7 with no issues. I didn't have any issues when I updated to a new OC sofar. I always checked the "old" config.plst against the "new" one for changed entries, there were always a couple of entries I needed to add AND delete (very important).
I updated the OS to the latest version, 11.4. I'm very happy with the machine.

Hope you have success aswell!
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
GA--Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
hello bro
thank you for this
my desktop

i7-8700K
Z370 Gaming 5
RTX 3080
RAM 32GB 3200

I decided to install Big Sur 11.2.2 and downloaded it and burned it and I want to boot without Nvidia graphic card because it is not supported on Mac
I used your EFI but when booting s reboot in Apple logo
I made a topic, please solve the problem


thank you
Hello CodeZad,

sorry for the late reply, gmail didn't forward some emails from tonymac, don't know why...

It seems that your EFI is trying to boot with the rx5700xt graphic card, you should go through the dortania guide and look for the section "device properties". There under "add" you can find the properties for the iGPU.
You might also want to delete the ACPI entry "SSDT RX 5700XT.aml" in the EFI folder and the config.plst.

I never tried to exclude my graphic card from booting OS X while it is installed, so I'm not sure if this is already enough, you might need to tweak your boot args and SSDTs
Feel free to search the forum, maybe you can get help with this guide.
 
Top