Contribute
Register

Success - GA-X79S-UP5-Wifi – i7-3930K - GTX 760 - 64 GB Ram

Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
32
CPU
i7-3930K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
centris's Build: GA-X79S-UP5-Wifi – i7-3930K - GTX 760 - 64 GB Ram​

Components


Gigabyte GA-X79S-UP5-Wifi Motherboard
http://www.ebay.de/itm/Gigabyte-GA-X79S-UP5-Wifi-S2011-8-SAS-2-SATA3-4-SATA2-2-eSATA3-6GB-S-DDR3-in-/111291587165?ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:DE:1123

Intel Core i7-3930K Processor
[AMAZON-de]http://www.amazon.de/dp/B00681D9ZI/[/AMAZON-de]

Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 CPU Cooler
[AMAZON-de]http://www.amazon.de/dp/B0062K6BIC/[/AMAZON-de]

GeForce GTX 760 OC 2048MB
[AMAZON-de]http://www.amazon.de/dp/B00DJMGWZ8/[/AMAZON-de]

NVIDIA GeForce 210 GPU only for reaching the BIOS later replaced by GTX760
[AMAZON-de]http://www.amazon.de/dp/B004KABG1I/[/AMAZON-de]

Corsair Graphite Series 600T
[AMAZON-de]http://www.amazon.de/dp/B004X63JWS/[/AMAZON-de]

Samsung 840 Pro SSD
[AMAZON-de]http://www.amazon.de/dp/B009NB8WTI/[/AMAZON-de]

Corsair AX760 Pro Series PSU
[AMAZON-de]http://www.amazon.de/dp/B00A74X9SO/[/AMAZON-de]

Corsair Vengeance 32GB (4x8) DDR 3 RAM 2x:
[AMAZON-de]http://www.amazon.de/dp/B00B147JIA[/AMAZON]

Kingston USB-Stick
[AMAZON-de]http://www.amazon.de/dp/B009DA7FCO/[/AMAZON-de]

Seagate Barracuda 2 TB harddisk
[AMAZON-de]http://www.amazon.de/dp/B006H32Q3S/[/AMAZON-de]

PCIe WiFi Card
[AMAZON-de]http://www.amazon.de/dp/B007GMPZ0A/[/AMAZON-de]


Already Owned

MacBook Pro 17" 2008 with Lion installed from Thumb Stick
I downloaded the Mavericks 10.9.2 Installer from the App Store on it.
Doing the Preinstall things like the Install stick with it


Comments

This is my first Hackintosh. The new Mac Pro is too expensive, and I do not like the missing possibility putting more disk drives in it. So, I try to build a Mac Pro like computer. I need it almost for Post production Photoshop work.

After building all the parts in the case. I had problems getting into the BIOS. I get stuck at the start screen.
Kuehler_druff.jpg Innenleben.jpg No_Bios.jpg
I have trying everything like clear CMOS and removing all but 1 RAM stick, or put the GPU in other PCIe slots, etc. Got stuck at this damned start sreen. F12 or DEL, etc., did not work. I had success with changing to an cheap old GPU Geforce 210. Then, I reached the BIOS with pressing the DEL Key while POST

The next problem was the Q-Flash utility. Trying to flash the Bios From F3 to F4 the Q-Flash was called "outdated", so i could not flash the BIOS to F4.

Outdated.jpg notablebios.jpg
With the help of nice guys in a German speaking Forum (I am German and have some problems understanding some of the English terms so i got some help in a German Forum too), I flashed the Bios from a bootable DOS-stick. Then everything was fine.

I changed to the GTX760 GPU. No problems with reaching the Bios anymore. i only had to change the Memory settings

I made an installation USB stick for mavericks 10.9.2 like in the Tonymacx86 Guide for Mavericks.

Next, I booted with the installer stick holding down "F12" and choose the installer stick.

Boot Flags: are -v -x cpus=1 npci=0x3000 UseKernelCache=No GraphicsEnabler=No

After Mavericks installed, I booted again from USB stick but choosing the new SSD.

Boot Flags: -v cpus=1 npci=0x3000

Mavericks.jpg Boot_plist.jpg Multibeast_konfig.jpg
I did the post installation with the new MultiBeast. http://www.tonymacx86.com/413-multibeast-6-2-update.html

In the new MultiBeast, the Voodoo kext for hexacore CPU is included. So no need for the Kext Wizard installation.

Ethernet, Wifi, sound and sleep works without any further work necessary .
Hacki.jpg

Everything runs almost fast like an new 6-core MacPro -
just 1 second slower with the "Huge" Digilloyd performance test than the new MacPro 6-core :D
Here's my Geekbench score.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
57
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
hi! PLEASE HELP ME, i have this mother GA-X79S-UP5, i install maverick 10.9.3
all work perfect, but this is the problem.

i need to connect more than 8 hard disk, so, i need use the 8 SAS CONNECTORS, non RAID, individually hard disk.
when i connect hard disk in SAS connectors, the colour grey connectors, they arent recognizes it, didnt appeare in finder and disk utility.

can you???? can you try this???

you solve this problem??? a lot of people didnt know this, and i dont know what to do.

please help me.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
32
CPU
i7-3930K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello, i do not have SAS drives in my hack.
I have 1 ssd and 2 serial ata drives which work stable and fast.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
57
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello, i do not have SAS drives in my hack.
I have 1 ssd and 2 serial ata drives which work stable and fast.
yes, but please connect the 2 SATA disk in the sas connectors, for testing if works for you?
please.

because all people say that this 8 sas connectos dosnt work in OSx, because not exist drivers for it.

you maybe connect this 2 SATA in black connectos, please please please, test if you connect this 2 sata or only 1 sata in SAS CONNECTOS the grey colours. and tell me if works and in the finder appeare this hard disk. please, i dont know if maybe a must to change the mother, because i need connect the 8 sas connectos with 8 HARD DISK, but for me didnt work. even only 1 sata didnt works.

thanks. and please help me to know if i works in your hackingtosh.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
32
CPU
i7-3930K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
i will try it after my summer holidays in 2 weeks. when back home.
can i use the same serial ata connectors- cables?
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
57
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
i will try it after my summer holidays in 2 weeks. when back home.
can i use the same serial ata connectors- cables?
yes, use the same SATA CABLE, is the same SATA CONNECTORS, but use the GREY CONNECTORS
the mother have, 2 white, 4 black and 8 grey SAS connectors. connect in the grey,

in 2 weeks is too late pleaseee!!!, is really fast, please please i need to know now or in one day, no more, because the warranty expires this tuesday, in two days and if didnt work, i MUST CHANGE THE MOTHER, because in need connect NORMAL SATA HARD DIKS in the 8 sas connectos, but maybe didnt works for you as well.

please is fast, just connect the same sata cable but in one grey connects and reboot, is to fast, please i need your help, anyone of this forum help me and i need to know if someone else connect SATA disk works for you. please. please.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
32
CPU
i7-3930K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello sorry but i can not help you at the moment.
I am on a holiday travel about 600 kilometers from my mac away.
I am at home in 14 days.
Sorry....
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2010
Messages
162
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99p-sli
CPU
Xeon E5-2660 v3
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 TI FTW
Mac
MacBook Air
yes, use the same SATA CABLE, is the same SATA CONNECTORS, but use the GREY CONNECTORS
the mother have, 2 white, 4 black and 8 grey SAS connectors. connect in the grey,

in 2 weeks is too late pleaseee!!!, is really fast, please please i need to know now or in one day, no more, because the warranty expires this tuesday, in two days and if didnt work, i MUST CHANGE THE MOTHER, because in need connect NORMAL SATA HARD DIKS in the 8 sas connectos, but maybe didnt works for you as well.

please is fast, just connect the same sata cable but in one grey connects and reboot, is to fast, please i need your help, anyone of this forum help me and i need to know if someone else connect SATA disk works for you. please. please.
The SAS connectors WILL NOT WORK IN OS X no matter what. They are not supported by the OS in any way.
You will need a RAID or HBA card for what you want to do.

That and the lack of native PM with an i7 3930k were the reasons I sold that board.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
57
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
What do you Think about the mother
GA-x79-up4???
i need socket 2011, for i7 4930k and 64gb RAM.
this mother is ok? Or you Think Maybe buy other mother?
thank

The SAS connectors WILL NOT WORK IN OS X no matter what. They are not supported by the OS in any way.
You will need a RAID or HBA card for what you want to do.

That and the lack of native PM with an i7 3930k were the reasons I sold that board.
 
Top