Contribute
Register

[Success] El Capitan Install - i7 4790K - AMD R9 390 - MSI Z97 Gaming 5

Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
ASRock
CPU
Core i5-4570
Graphics
AMD R9 390 Sapphire Nitro
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
eMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
o to the Devices section and, in the ATI FakeID box (the first in the top-left corner) insert "0x67B01002" without quotes, then go to the Graphics section and check "Inject ATI", then in the same section, in the FB Name box, write "Radeon" without quotes.
Now in the menu bar, go to file > save, then close Clover Configurator.
Any idea how to get this working on macOS Sierra?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Z170-A
CPU
Intel i7 6700k
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro R9 390
Mac
Mac mini
I want to know this too. Trying to get my r9 390 working on Sierra. Reads 7mb and low resolution with screen tearing on anything intensive
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2016
Messages
1
Motherboard
Z97I-PLUS
CPU
INTEL I5 4590
Graphics
AMD R9 390
I have r9 390 msi gaming,
Intel i5-4590
Asus z97i - plus
I have successfully installed sierra, everything worked out of the box besides the video card that keeps flickering... Then I did this fake id thing OP mentioned and now when I boot I see the apple logo and when it finishes it shows a black screen? Any suggestions?
Edit: I could make a log file if you need that guys, I just need explanation how to do it because I don't know.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
Asrock z97E-ITX AC
CPU
i7 4770k
Graphics
XFX r9 390
Mac
MacBook Pro
And my r9 390 XFX?? Help me plz
I was able to get my xfx 390 running with full acceleration using an asus r9 390 vbios.

Others mentioned using a Saphire Vbios but that did not work for me, the asus r9 390 vbios worked though.

You may want to play around with different vbios versions to load to get the one that works with your xfx 390
 
B

BastianNossek

Guest
I was able to get my xfx 390 running with full acceleration using an asus r9 390 vbios.

Others mentioned using a Saphire Vbios but that did not work for me, the asus r9 390 vbios worked though.

You may want to play around with different vbios versions to load to get the one that works with your xfx 390
Hi,
nice to See that you got your r9 390 fully working. Can you explain me how to change the vbios?
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have too a system with radeon r9 390 and it works =). But, fps in games are very very low....is it possible that need gpu driver or so? i don't no what can i do =(
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2014
Messages
63
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA Z97M D3H
CPU
i5 4690k
Graphics
280x
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi all,
After some trouble trying to install El Capitan on my PC, i've figured out how to get it fullyworking.

PC Components:

  • Motherboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
  • CPU: Intel i7-4790K 4.0GHz
  • GPU: AMD R9 390 8GB
  • RAM: Patriot Viper 8GB (2x4GB)

How to install:
This installation was pretty easy, i just followed the official Tonymacx86's guide on How to install OSX El Capitan using Unibeast, and now i tell you exactly what i've done:
  • I partitioned the USB as the guide says (IMPORTANT - It MUST be 16GB or larger, 8GB don't work)
  • Next, i used Unibeast to make it bootable (using in the app as bootloader configuration UEFI Boot Mode, and NOTHING in Graphic options), then continue and install. *NOTE: It will take some time (for me more than 40 minutes) it seems stuck doing nothing, but don't touch anything, let it do his work.
  • When the install finished, unplug the usb.
  • Now restart the PC in BIOS menu (done by pressing del key when the msi dragon appears on boot) and go to OC Settings - CPU Features - Disable Intel VT-d and OC Settings - CPU Features - Disable CFG lock
  • Now plug in the OSX USB and Boot from it. At the Clover bootloader choose Boot Mac OS X from USB and install it.
  • When finished, it will reboot. At the Clover Bootloader now choose Boot Mac OSX from Mac OSX (for me its "Mac OSX" because i called my HDD "Mac OSX" in the previous steps)
  • Do all the stuff to setup the OS and when you finally finish the settings you can use OSX.

Post Installation:
First, Download Multibeast for El Capitan and start it. You have to select this options:
- Quick Start > UEFI Boot Mode
- Drivers > Audio > Realtek ALCxxx > ALC1150
- Drivers > Network > Atheros > AtherosE2200Ethernet v2.0.1
Then go to Build, and press "Install"

Once you have done, download EFI Mounter v3 and start it, it will show the EFI partition in the desktop.
Now download Clover Configurator and start it, then with it, open the config.plist located in EFI/EFI/CLOVER/config.plist.
Go to the Devices section and, in the ATI FakeID box (the first in the top-left corner) insert "0x67B01002" without quotes, then go to the Graphics section and check "Inject ATI", then in the same section, in the FB Name box, write "Radeon" without quotes.
Now in the menu bar, go to file > save, then close Clover Configurator.
Now just restart your PC and pretty everything will be alright. To make the audio work, go in the system settings, under sound, and select as output device Internal Speakers (i don't know if this is the correct name, i have OSX in Italian, so i think it may be similar to this).

Now you have a fully working Hackintosh, with audio, internet connection, and a working AMD R9 390 graphic card!

Credits:
- Obviously thanks to Tonymacx86 for the original basic guide and hard work
- marcktor, that provided the method i used to get the R9 390 to work with full RAM in this reddit post
- Clover team
Plz run BruceX benchmark test for fcpx and plz provide result ll u do that???
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
12
Mac
iMac
Hello. There is a new way to make the work ATI R9 390 . Lay the 2 kexts in clover. In ACPI / patched this SSDT.
You do not need to set any parameters in config.plist!
I attach the archive with the files.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
3,736
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
Sapphire r9 390
Thank you so much. This was in depth enough that for a complete beginner, I was able to get through it all and get my Sapphire Nitro R9 390 working! No more fuzzy boxes or screen flickering. Thanks!

Did you gfx card achieve full accleration?
 
Top