[Success] Dell Optiplex 990 MT 10.9.2

Discussion in 'Mavericks Desktop Guides' started by enzosdue, May 16, 2014.

  1. headbang666

    headbang666

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 2600 3.4Ghz
    Graphics:
    EVGA NVidia GeForce GTX650 Ti 1024 MB
    Oct 18, 2015 at 12:46 PM #11
    headbang666

    headbang666

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 2600 3.4Ghz
    Graphics:
    EVGA NVidia GeForce GTX650 Ti 1024 MB
    My Optiplex 990 (with EVGA NVIDIA Gtx650 Ti 1024MB) runs on OS X 10.11 El Capitan. What to do?
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capita...-el-capitan-any-supported-intel-based-pc.html (For whom might read this in the future. Post-installation with Multibeast 8.0 was not available at that time)

    I did a clean install with bootable (LEGACY) USB. To boot from usb and enter the installation I had to modify one entry in .../EFI/CLOVER/config.plist: Graphics -> Inject -> Intel -> false (changed it also after installation on the HD)

    After Installation I could boot El Capitan from the USB Clover and it ran smoothly (except sound), but after the Post-Installation procedure (see link) there were some problems. I tried a lot of things at first that didn't work, so I don't know if I forgot any important thing. But the essential configurations are:

    For the "Stepper Error 18": turn off "INTEL Speed Step" in your BIOS

    Install NullCPUPowerManagement.kext, delete AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext in S/L/E

    If someone has a patched DSDT.aml for BIOS revision A19 (please share!) than those steps might not be needed.

    I also changed the default SMBIOS from the default iMac 12,2 to MacPro3,1 ... but I don't know if it made a difference.

    Sound works with of VoodooHDA (I use the current version 2.8.8). The "white noise" problem is (permanently) fixed by copying VoodooHDA.kext from S/L/E on your Desktop, Right Click "Show Package Content", edit .../Contents/Info.plist by changing the integer value of the gain under IOKitPersonalities->VoodooHDA->MixerValues->iGain to 0. Save it and install the edited VoodooHDA.kext with something like Easykext Utility

    Thanks a lot, enzosdue, for the original post.
     
  2. haumana

    haumana

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Oct 23, 2015 at 3:15 AM #12
    haumana

    haumana

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    I'm super stoked - someone just gave me a working Optiplex 990 and am looking to upgrade it to a Hackintosh :D

    I noticed that many who have the Optiplex 990 have added in a Graphics Card, is the Hackintosh not possible with the existing on-board?
     
  3. david593ecu

    david593ecu

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    CPU:
    Dell OptiPlex 990
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jan 13, 2016 at 5:26 PM #13
    david593ecu

    david593ecu

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    CPU:
    Dell OptiPlex 990
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Im work with a basic graphic card and don't have problems (256MB NVIDIA) in yosemite 10.3 try it men and tell us
     
  4. dell990

    dell990

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Mar 11, 2016 at 9:36 PM #14
    dell990

    dell990

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Can you help me get El Capitan on my Optiplex 990? Once I run Clover I get the white Apple logo for a few minutes then a circle with a slash through it.PC: Dell Optiplex 990 SFF Core i7-2600 3.4GHz Quad 8GB 250G DVD+/-RW Win 7 Pro 64bit (onboard video)MAC: iMac (27-inch, Late 2012) with 10.11.3 El CapitanUniBeast 6.1.1 MultiBeast - El Capitan 8.1.0

    Looks like this screenshot:
    MBnxTDD.jpg

    http://i.imgur.com/MBnxTDD.jpg
     
  5. Hawkcrj

    Hawkcrj

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Dell
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 950
    Apr 1, 2016 at 7:04 AM #15
    Hawkcrj

    Hawkcrj

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Dell
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 950
    Im getting the same error, Any updates on this?


     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2016
  6. Hawkcrj

    Hawkcrj

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Dell
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 950
    Apr 8, 2016 at 1:23 AM #16
    Hawkcrj

    Hawkcrj

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Dell
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 950
    Ok

    My first time with all of this. El Captain up and running on 990, 20gb ram, i5, 250gb SSD, GTX 950.

    Having trouble getting sound to work via HDMI.

    Cannot get Nvidia web drivers to load. It loads the OX basic driver.

    also, does anyone have the drivers for a Netgear WNDA3100 WIRELESS drivers?

    thanks for the help
     
  7. Hawkcrj

    Hawkcrj

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Dell
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 950
    Apr 8, 2016 at 4:57 PM #17
    Hawkcrj

    Hawkcrj

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Dell
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 950
    Success!!!!!!

    Clover configurator helped tremendously!

    its up and running beautifully.

    Only one question, using the latest web based graphics from Nvidia and it looks a little strange on the HDMI to HDTV.

    Anyone know why?
     
  8. howmanyds

    howmanyds

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Dell Optiplex 990
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2400 @ 3.09Ghz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA*GeForce*GT*710*2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 19, 2016 at 8:29 AM #18
    howmanyds

    howmanyds

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Dell Optiplex 990
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2400 @ 3.09Ghz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA*GeForce*GT*710*2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Anybody had success with Wake-on-Lan with the onboard network card?
     
  9. howmanyds

    howmanyds

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Dell Optiplex 990
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2400 @ 3.09Ghz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA*GeForce*GT*710*2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 26, 2016 at 8:24 AM #19
    howmanyds

    howmanyds

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Mobo:
    Dell Optiplex 990
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 2400 @ 3.09Ghz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA*GeForce*GT*710*2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I can't get the system to boot using UEFI mode in BIOS, only Legacy. Has anyone had success with UEFI mode?
     
  10. M4R10L

    M4R10L

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Sep 7, 2016 at 11:21 AM #20
    M4R10L

    M4R10L

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Hi, I am trying to install OS X on my Optiplex 990 but can't boot from USB. I tried different loaders, sticks, configurations, can't understand what is the source of the problem. Any suggestions?
    Thanks
     

Share This Page