Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Corsair One Pro (MSI Z270i, i7-7700k, GTX 1080)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
MSI Z270I GAMING PRO CARBON AC
CPU
Intel 7700K
Graphics
GTX 1080
intoth3rainbow's Corsair One Pro (MSI Z270i, i7-7700k, GTX 1080)

Components

Corsair One Pro 7700K GTX 1080(SKU CS-9000007-NA) - Amazon

Western Digital My Passport SSD 512GB - Amazon
(I decided to go for this one, since I need at least 512GB for my OS X drive, and I’m already having a perfect working PC that I don’t want to mess with. Also the drive comes with USB-C and USB 3.0 / 2.0 compatible connector too!)

Already Owned
  • Monitors: Acer Predator X34 100hz, Dell U2515H
  • Sound: Bose Companion 50
  • Peripherals Filco Majestouch 2 TKL, Steel Series Ikari Laser, Steel Series Stratus XL (only works with Windows)

Comments

Hi everyone, I have just joined this forum a few days ago, and this is my very first attempt at Hackintosh, despite being a long time mac user for over 12 years now.

Lately, my Macbook Pro (mid 2015 i7 2.8Ghz R9 M370X) has been showing its age, especially when I upgraded my monitors set into 2x 1440p monitors. Connecting to those monitors, the MBP's fans kept running at max speed (over 6000rpm) all the time, even when I was just browsing YouTube videos. Editing photos is a pain despite it's one of the strongest MBP till date.

I need a machine that is strong enough for gaming, photo editing, while its heat being well managed and noise being kept as quiet as possible. The Corsair One dual booting Windows 10 and Mac OS X seems to be my best option.

BIOS setup (MSI z270 / z270i)
  1. Restore to default BIOS
  2. Legacy USB Support -> Auto
  3. Fast Boot -> Disabled
  4. Secure Boot Support -> Disabled
  5. Resume By USB Device -> Enabled

Overview:

Bug Fixed:

Summary

What Works:
  • iMessage
  • iCloud
  • Ethernet
  • Time Machine (even restoring from My Macbook Pro's old snapshot)
  • All USB (type A, type C, 2.0, 3.0, 3.1 etc)