Contribute
Register

[Success] Coffee Lake - Gigabyte Z370 HD3P - i5-8600K - MSI GeForce GTX 1080 DUKE

Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 HD3P
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have the same MoBo and a i5 8400, and I get stuck at the installation saying "macOS could not be installed on you computer."

Do I need to insert your efi folder into the USB using Clover? How do I do it?

You should have a bootable USB with the EFI I provided, a High Sierra installer from the App Store, and the latest version of Multibeast, all loaded prior from an existing real Mac computer onto your USB. That should be enough to at least get you setup. Everything has been laid out in the first post regarding what gave me trouble. If you run into trouble you can refer to what worked for me. There's guides on here with the exact steps that I took bits and pieces of. Just look under the installation tab for a guide on how to create a High Sierra bootable USB.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 HD3P
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Monstrez,
I've been following your guide, and this is my first time building a computer. I've looked at a few guides but haven't found one with Nvidia driver install step by step. Which driver version did you use and what were the steps? I read about horrible problems when its not installed properly like infinite reboot and black screens...please can someone point me towards a good direction?
I have just finished the MultiBeast install with your settings.

Thanks really appreciate any help :D

The Nvidia driver set up is pretty straight forward. Just boot up into High Sierra, go to the Nvidia website, then download the latest driver and reboot. Make sure you have the correct settings in Clover Configurator for you config.plist. There’s heaps of info on here and the web if you get stuck.

Hope this help
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 HD3P
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC GAMING ACX 3.0
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you! I installed the driver and everything seems to be working, the graphics card is recognised and I followed all the steps. But when I try to edit on Premiere Pro CC18 it is so slow, slower than my Macbook Pro which is the whole reason I built the hackintosh...Did I miss something? I installed the .106 Nvidia driver because the new ones apparantly lag, I patched it to work on Mac 10.13.3. Do I have to install CUDA, is that what I'm missing? I looked at the guide for CUDA but I cannot understand it...
I really hope this machine will work out for video editing...
Thank you!
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.4 KB · Views: 200
  • NVDAStartupWeb.kext.zip
    17.8 KB · Views: 39
  • Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 01.50.19.png
    Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 01.50.19.png
    951.6 KB · Views: 245
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 HD3P
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you! I installed the driver and everything seems to be working, the graphics card is recognised and I followed all the steps. But when I try to edit on Premiere Pro CC18 it is so slow, slower than my Macbook Pro which is the whole reason I built the hackintosh...Did I miss something? I installed the .106 Nvidia driver because the new ones apparantly lag, I patched it to work on Mac 10.13.3. Do I have to install CUDA, is that what I'm missing? I looked at the guide for CUDA but I cannot understand it...
I really hope this machine will work out for video editing...
Thank you!

Hmm I'm not sure if I can really speak on that issue. I'm not familiar with installing CUDA or Premiere issues. I still haven't updated my computer to the 10.13.3. Still running the 10.13.2, as I've seen some of the issues people have been dealing with and just don't have the free time to handle them if they do arise, as this is my main everyday computer. I would browse the forums and web to see if you can find your issue or someone who has experienced something similar. I think CUDA might solve your problem, but that's just a shot in the dark so don't take my word for it:lol:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
81
Motherboard
ASUS H170 Pro Gaming
CPU
i5-7600
Graphics
GTX 750 TI
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. LC
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I attatched my EFI with all the proper info. Also the fix shutdown option did not do the trick. I had to manualy edit my config.plist and add "FixShutdown_0004" in order for the issue to reside.

Hello, my spec is listed in profile, it troubles me a while I don't remember since when maybe the update to 10.13.3 just 2 weeks ago. I searched so much and came to the last resort here seem most promising, but all steps are done, still no luck...my Hack
stills choose automatic reboot at shutdown:beachball:, I kind of hate it now.:lol:
 

Attachments

  • 2018-02-04 at 11.10 PM.jpeg
    2018-02-04 at 11.10 PM.jpeg
    250 KB · Views: 196
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 HD3P
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, my spec is listed in profile, it troubles me a while I don't remember since when maybe the update to 10.13.3 just 2 weeks ago. I searched so much and came to the last resort here seem most promising, but all steps are done, still no luck...my Hack
stills choose automatic reboot at shutdown:beachball:, I kind of hate it now.:lol:

I'm not too sure what would be causing that. As stated in my first post, what was causing mine was a mixture of two things. The Corsair H100i Link cable connected to the motherboard and just checking off the Fix Shutdown in Clover didn't work. I went into Text Edit and manually entered it there. I also don't have "halt enabler" checked off like you do. Not sure if that would make a difference or not. Have you tried updating you BIOS? I've had some issues that didn't subside until a BIOS update.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
129
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
i finally built my machine. here are my notes about how the USB ports are mapped on this board. i don't actually know if the board has a slot for wifi or bluetooth so some of the missing SS/HS ports in the list might actually exist...

also i don't have anything that can plug into the USB3.1 header on the motherboard so i'm not sure where those devices live in the IORegistry. i also couldn't test the usb-C port on the back, but since the red USB port seems to work, i suppose it probably does too. it's on a totally different controller than the rest of the USB ports...

anyway, here are the mappings:


USB port mapping, Z370 HD3P

motherboard:

USB3 header:

SS05, HS05 & SS06, HS06

USB2 headers:

nearer to sata ports: HS11 HS12
farther from sata ports: HS13 HS14

back panel:

PS/2 top: HS09
PS/2 bottom: HS10
HDMI top: SS08, HS08
HDMI bottom: SS07, HS07
ethernet top: SS04, HS04
ethernet bottom: SS03, HS03

red port: RP05@1C,4 / IOPP / PXSX@0 / AppleUSB20XHCIPort

can’t test usb-C port

can't test USB3.1 header on mobo. no idea if that's even the same controller as the USB2/USB3 ports.

not seen: HS01, HS02, SS01, SS02, SS09, SS10, USR1, USR2

xhc device id: af a2 00 00 (0xa2af)​



i made an aml and removed the port limit patch, but nothing really changed, except for the fact that i had to disable one of the USB ports on the back panel to get to 15 ports.

i had hoped that doing this right would solve my "drive not ejected properly" problem when coming out of sleep. interestingly this problem seems to be tied to overclocking: i found that with stock CPU frequencies and XMP turned off in the bios, that i didn't have this problem. the minute i turned on XMP, i started having the issue. as a workaround, i copied down all the memory timings that the XMP profile sets and entered them manually, but when i overclocked the CPU, the problem came back.

i don't care that much because i tend to leave my computer on. but it really seems that there is no solution to this problem.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 HD3P
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i finally built my machine. here are my notes about how the USB ports are mapped on this board. i don't actually know if the board has a slot for wifi or bluetooth so some of the missing SS/HS ports in the list might actually exist...

also i don't have anything that can plug into the USB3.1 header on the motherboard so i'm not sure where those devices live in the IORegistry. i also couldn't test the usb-C port on the back, but since the red USB port seems to work, i suppose it probably does too. it's on a totally different controller than the rest of the USB ports...

anyway, here are the mappings:


USB port mapping, Z370 HD3P

motherboard:

USB3 header:

SS05, HS05 & SS06, HS06

USB2 headers:

nearer to sata ports: HS11 HS12
farther from sata ports: HS13 HS14

back panel:

PS/2 top: HS09
PS/2 bottom: HS10
HDMI top: SS08, HS08
HDMI bottom: SS07, HS07
ethernet top: SS04, HS04
ethernet bottom: SS03, HS03

red port: RP05@1C,4 / IOPP / PXSX@0 / AppleUSB20XHCIPort

can’t test usb-C port

can't test USB3.1 header on mobo. no idea if that's even the same controller as the USB2/USB3 ports.

not seen: HS01, HS02, SS01, SS02, SS09, SS10, USR1, USR2

xhc device id: af a2 00 00 (0xa2af)​



i made an aml and removed the port limit patch, but nothing really changed, except for the fact that i had to disable one of the USB ports on the back panel to get to 15 ports.

i had hoped that doing this right would solve my "drive not ejected properly" problem when coming out of sleep. interestingly this problem seems to be tied to overclocking: i found that with stock CPU frequencies and XMP turned off in the bios, that i didn't have this problem. the minute i turned on XMP, i started having the issue. as a workaround, i copied down all the memory timings that the XMP profile sets and entered them manually, but when i overclocked the CPU, the problem came back.

i don't care that much because i tend to leave my computer on. but it really seems that there is no solution to this problem.
What did you end up naming the red port in your DSL? USB 2 or 3? Or did you not implement it at all in your AML? I posted a reply to RehabMan's USB guide and he said the port is linked to a Thunderbolt connecter, which is why it doesn't appear under HSxx or SSxx. It only appeared for me under the AppleUSB20XCHI in the IOregistry as well. He said to not worry about it. The port still works for USB 2.0 and 3.0 devices fine. I was just worried it might cause a problem if not implemented in the SSDT. He said it should be irrelevant to any problems.

Regarding you overclocking issue, I'm not very familiar with that problem as my RAM does not support XMP and I haven't done any overclocking yet but I've read about needing an SSDT for it but according to this thread, you can simply click either of those choices in post #2. Not sure if that would help your problem but it's worth a shot.
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
129
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
What did you end up naming the red port in your DSL? USB 2 or 3? Or did you not implement it at all in your AML?

i did not implement it at all, mainly because i didn't know if i should or not (and RehabMan's guide seems to be all about the "regular" USB controllers.) anyway it's good to hear that it should be fine without any SSDT modifications.

I've read about needing an SSDT for it but according to this thread, you can simply click either of those choices in post #2. Not sure if that would help your problem but it's worth a shot.

i read that thread yesterday and and did try checking PluginType and it did not change anything... so i unchecked it again. reading threads here it seems like there's many, many people with the "drive not properly ejected" problem, and some threads claim it even happens on real macs. very occasionally i'll have a video card glitch on my existing hack which is cured by sleep/wake, and i always forget that it's going to eject my USB disks. so it would have been nice to fix it.
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
129
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
one more tidbit - for some reason i didn't have any darkwake settings in my boot flags. i found that adding darkwake=0 or darkwake=8 improved the wake-from-sleep behavior in that a single keypress will wake and start the display. without any darkwake setting it required a 2nd keypress to wake up the monitor. however this still does not change the USB eject problem.

i also found that hibernation was not working - the system would crash when loading the sleep image. there seem to be some clover options like "fix hibernate" but i don't know what they do, so i just did the trick where you make a directory called /var/vm/sleepimage which apparently prevents the OS from writing the sleep image in the first place.
 
Top