Contribute
Register

[Success] Clover install: GA-Z68X-UD4-B3, i7-2600K, GTX 570

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD4-B3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
GTX 570
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I recently got hold of a PCI-mounted Apple Wi-Fi/Bluetooth card (BCM94360CD) for native Handoff / Continuity support, so decided it was time to install Yosemite on my desktop.

This was a tricky install! I’ve kept this system updated with each OS X release since Snow Leopard, and this was the first time in a while that I’ve run into major problems – mostly to do with the learning curve of switching to Clover. It’s a little less simple than a straight Unibeast/Multibeast install, but much more stable it seems.


Hardware

i7-2600K
GA-Z68X-UD4-B3
GeForce GTX 570 (Gainward Phantom)
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD
16GB DDR3

Apple BCM94360CD Wi-Fi/Bluetooth on PCI-E
Firewire 800 PCI-E


Setup

1) First I installed the beta UEFI firmware for my Z68X Gigabyte motherboard.

In the BIOS settings I loaded the Optimised Defaults, and then set the following:

* EHCI Hand-off: Enabled
* SATA mode: ACHI
* VT-d: Disabled
* Via 1394: Disabled (Onboard Firewire 400 – I have a Firewire 800 PCI card, so this was uneeded)

This mobo doesn’t have on-board graphics, so did the entire install with the GTX 570 in place.

2) Removed the Wi-Fi and Firewire cards (to ensure that the LAN Ethernet port gets assigned en0 for iCloud and App Store).


Install

* Made an installer USB as per Tony’s Clover guide.

* I used Tony’s Clover config.plist – specifically, “config.plist-GE=Yes-NVIDIA.zip”

* I needed to add “nv_disable=1” for me to boot properly. The entire line looked like:

Code:
<key>Arguments</key>
<string>dart=0 kext-dev-mode=1 -v nv_disable=1</string>

* I added my SSDT.aml to the /EFI/EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/ folder (attached).

After that, the install went smoothly. Followed the rest of the install as per the Clover guide.


Post Install

* Once on the Yosemite desktop (sluggish because of booting in with “nv_disable”) I installed Clover to my Yosemite drive.

Note: I skipped Tony’s recommendation to convert the EFI partition to FAT32. When the EFI partition is FAT32, it shows up by default on Clover’s boot screen, and I didn’t like the clutter. Haven’t run into any problems leaving this the default HFS.

* I used the first set of settings Tony provides. The “Custom Install: UEFI-Capable Systems” option wouldn’t let me boot, and I had to start over. To be specific, I had success when installing Clover with:

> “Install for UEFI booting only”
> “Install Clover in the ESP”
> Drivers -> OsxAptioFixDrv-64
> "Install RC Scripts on target volume”

* From here, I added these kexts to Clover’s 10.10 kexts folder:
- FakeSMC.kext
- NullCPUPowerManagement.kext
- RealtekRTL81xx.kext

* At this point, to get a flawless boot I needed to edit Clover’s config.plist to add “npci=0x2000”, so it reads:

Code:
<key>Arguments</key>
<string>dart=0 kext-dev-mode=1 -v npci=0x2000</string>

* Added my SSDT.aml to the /EFI/EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/ folder again.


* On reboot, Yosemite started up perfectly and graphics are working fine. Made sure I could connect to the Internet via LAN, then powered off and reinstalled my Wi-Fi and Firewire cards. Once back to the desktop, double–checked that the LAN was still assigned to en0 (System Report -> Ethernet Cards)

* For the rest of the drivers, I decided to just download and place the kexts manually in Clover’s 10.10 kexts folder. Clover injects them on bootup, and this felt a little quicker and simpler than using Multibeast or placing the kexts in the Library folder by hand.

I used Clover Configurator to mount the EFI partition. Then I added these kexts to the Clover kexts folder:

- AHCI_3rdParty_SATA.kext (Enables all the “GSATA” ports on the mobo)
- AHCI_3rdParty_eSATA.kext (Enables eSATA)
- GenericUSBXHCI.kext (Enables USB3)

* For sound, ran toleda’s Clover ALC (audio_cloverALC-100.command) to patch AppleHDA.kext and enable my Realtek 889.

* Once all the hardware was working fine, I used Clover Configurator to set the system definitions (SMBIOS) to Mac Pro 3,1 - just in case I upgrade GFX card and need to use the nVidia web drivers.

* Finally, the latest version of Clover had an… interesting… Christmas-inspired theme. While I was at it, used the Configurator to install a less offensive one :)


Notes

Handoff, Continuity, App Store, USB3, Networking – all working 100%.

The only thing that isn’t working is Sleep – had to disable sleep in the Energy settings in System Prefs.

Thanks to Tony and the community!
 

Attachments

  • ssdt.aml.zip
    556 bytes · Views: 584

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,784
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I recently got hold of a PCI-mounted Apple Wi-Fi/Bluetooth card (BCM94360CD) for native Handoff / Continuity support, so decided it was time to install Yosemite on my desktop...
OSXWIFI is a USA company/vendor that tonymacx86 referenced in his http://www.tonymacx86.com/network/1...apple-mini-cards-pcie-mini-pcie-adapters.html. OSXWIFI PCIe card: Apple Broadcom BCM94360CD - 802.11 A/B/G/N/AC + Bluetooth 4.0 with Adapter for PC/Hackintosh. The OSXWIFI product uses an actual Apple iMac card.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
yosemite
CPU
Intel Core i7 2700K / 3,5 GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte - R687OC-1G
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello Meshsmith, i have a little question, i install Yosemite on my hack with the tonymac tutorial everything is ok but i have no sound in my GA-Z68X-UD4-B3, i select realteck 889 nothing, i select all one by one in the custom sound section but always no sound.
I read your post and i download the link you give: toleda’s Clover ALC (audio_cloverALC-100.command) but when i try to open it, he ask me a password, but i can't type anything on the terminal window ??
I think i miss something but don't know what ??
do you have an idea or a solution ??
Sorry for my poor english.
Friendly
Yugorgel
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
24
Motherboard
GA-z68x-UD3h-B3
CPU
i7
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD6850
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
OSXWIFI is a USA company/vendor that tonymacx86 referenced in his http://www.tonymacx86.com/network/1...apple-mini-cards-pcie-mini-pcie-adapters.html. OSXWIFI PCIe card: Apple Broadcom BCM94360CD - 802.11 A/B/G/N/AC + Bluetooth 4.0 with Adapter for PC/Hackintosh. The OSXWIFI product uses an actual Apple iMac card.

If the card is genuine apple, should it say that manufacturer is Apple for the card? The one I got from OSXWIFI.com reports Broadcom, and I had not got any reply from them to this question. - Handoff sound to iPhone5s running 8.1.1 is very bad and at times there are dropouts going to BT headsets ...
Problem could be USB related though ...
 

Attachments

  • Mac_Pro.png
    Mac_Pro.png
    49 KB · Views: 387

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,784
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If the card is genuine apple, should it say that manufacturer is Apple for the card? The one I got from OSXWIFI.com reports Broadcom, and I had not got any reply from them to this question. - Handoff sound to iPhone5s running 8.1.1 is very bad and at times there are dropouts going to BT headsets ...
Problem could be USB related though ...
From, OSXWIFI.com's web site page:
Adapter Supports and Designed for:

Apple Broadcom BCM94360CD - 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac with Bluetooth 4.0 (included)
The handoff problem could be caused by several problems including the USB connection. Make sure your USB connection is firmly in place and, if it still not working, try another motherboard USB connection if you motherboard allows. Finally, email to their support account, you could have a bad cable and or PCIe board.
 

wfj

Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
1,170
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-SLI
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Nice work! One question...Why install nullcpupowermanagement on the EFI partition of your system boot drive? I think you would want the powermanagement active.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD4-B3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
GTX 570
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello Meshsmith, i have a little question, i install Yosemite on my hack with the tonymac tutorial everything is ok but i have no sound in my GA-Z68X-UD4-B3, i select realteck 889 nothing, i select all one by one in the custom sound section but always no sound.
I read your post and i download the link you give: toleda’s Clover ALC (audio_cloverALC-100.command) but when i try to open it, he ask me a password, but i can't type anything on the terminal window ??
I think i miss something but don't know what ??
do you have an idea or a solution ??
Sorry for my poor english.
Friendly
Yugorgel

Hi yugorgel

Just type your password as normal - you won't see anything being typed on screen - and press enter. This is normal behaviour when typing your password in the terminal window.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD4-B3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
GTX 570
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Nice work! One question...Why install nullcpupowermanagement on the EFI partition of your system boot drive? I think you would want the powermanagement active.

Hi wfj

Thanks for this! I've never quite understood power management for hackintoshes, or the relationship between the DSDT/NullCPU/AppleIntelCPU kexts. In the past I had major problems with this motherboard and letting OS X sleep/hibernate.

Generally speaking, is it preferable to remove NullCPUPowerManagement after install? Would I need to install a patched AppleIntelCPU kext to enable power management/speedstep?
 

wfj

Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
1,170
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-SLI
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi wfj

Thanks for this! I've never quite understood power management for hackintoshes, or the relationship between the DSDT/NullCPU/AppleIntelCPU kexts. In the past I had major problems with this motherboard and letting OS X sleep/hibernate.

Generally speaking, is it preferable to remove NullCPUPowerManagement after install? Would I need to install a patched AppleIntelCPU kext to enable power management/speedstep?

Yes, ideally you want OS X to have the powermanagement active. I ran the UEFI BIOS on a Z68X-UD3H-B3 for 3 years or so without any DSDT and just the overclocked SSDT file provided in Multibeast. The whole point of Clover is to take advantage of the UEFI BIOS communicating directly with the operating system. I don't believe patching should be necessary and Clover should take care of this for you. On the ACPI tab of Clover Configurator the only items I have checked off (I"m going from memory here...at work right now) are the generate p and generate c states.

One of the Clover experts on this site is kduvernay so you might want to run this thread past him for his input. One thing I found really helpful/educational was reading through the Clover WIKI.

Edit - If you look back at the clover install guide you'll see that they don't have you copy over nullcpu to the system drive after installing Clover.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD4-B3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
GTX 570
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Yes, ideally you want OS X to have the powermanagement active. I ran the UEFI BIOS on a Z68X-UD3H-B3 for 3 years or so without any DSDT and just the overclocked SSDT file provided in Multibeast. The whole point of Clover is to take advantage of the UEFI BIOS communicating directly with the operating system. I don't believe patching should be necessary and Clover should take care of this for you. On the ACPI tab of Clover Configurator the only items I have checked off (I"m going from memory here...at work right now) are the generate p and generate c states.

One of the Clover experts on this site is kduvernay so you might want to run this thread past him for his input. One thing I found really helpful/educational was reading through the Clover WIKI.

Edit - If you look back at the clover install guide you'll see that they don't have you copy over nullcpu to the system drive after installing Clover.

Great, thanks very much!

First attempt at removing NullCPU resulted in a KP on reboot... I'm also using the Multibeast SSDT (overclocked), with Generate C & P states on. Sigh... Looks like I have a lot of reading to do :)

I suspect this is a SSDT issue, or that it doesn't like my overclocked CPU. Any immediate ideas as to why I might get a KP without NullCPU?

Going to tinker with it, but thanks again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top