[SUCCESS] blouse's "Hack Pro" build: i9 9900k + Z390 Aorus Pro + dual Vega 64's

Discussion in 'User Builds' started by blouse, Nov 12, 2018.

  1. derJan

    derJan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Pro - F6
    CPU:
    i9-9900K
    Graphics:
    RX Vega 64
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 6, 2018 at 5:54 PM #91
    derJan

    derJan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Pro - F6
    CPU:
    i9-9900K
    Graphics:
    RX Vega 64
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Interesting, I don't see any changes to the CPU temperatures or Cinebench CPU scores with HWP enabled, MCE disabled and MacMini8,1 identifier.

    Also, if I add EmuVariableUefi-64.kext macOS does not boot anymore, I get an "Couldn't allocate runtime area" error. Is there any other way to get NVRAM working?
     
  2. Samuel84

    Samuel84

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 760
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 6, 2018 at 9:44 PM #92
    Samuel84

    Samuel84

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 760
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    When you update the clover driver package, or reinstall it manually, the .pkg file you can choose drivers, and, when you scroll down, you can choose the RC scripts. When using emuvariable UEFI you have to use the RC scripts. And check out other options with it like osxaptio3 as an example...
     
  3. Samuel84

    Samuel84

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 760
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 6, 2018 at 9:48 PM #93
    Samuel84

    Samuel84

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 760
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    And when you seriously want to overclock the 9900K, I would recommend some videos of der8auer on youtube. Professional German overclocker. He did a video of overclocking 9900K and as well another one of the Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7 with the 8700K where he mentioned the point as well with its important to disable multicore enhancement. I would recommend as well to disable CPU pll over voltage...
     
    blouse likes this.
  4. DenOfLore

    DenOfLore

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Master
    CPU:
    i9-9900k
    Graphics:
    GTX1070Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Dec 7, 2018 at 2:59 AM #94
    DenOfLore

    DenOfLore

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Master
    CPU:
    i9-9900k
    Graphics:
    GTX1070Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    @blouse have been painstakingly getting this board to work. When I get home, I’ll upload and send you the working audio kexts. They’re descriptors AppleALC and has all ports working.

    Also, I’d love to see your Geekbench scores comparing Mac Mini vs iMac18,3. The board UUID (serial #) generated has nothing to do with power management and everything to do with iTunes iCloud IMessage.

    Also, run activity manager processor history to see how many threads are running. I bet you’re shutting your cores.

    SMc helper and APTIOmemoryfix. The guides say different they are dirty liars. 3 days / or some 30 hrs to realize the old ways are the best ways.
     
    dinka1 and blouse like this.
  5. DenOfLore

    DenOfLore

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Master
    CPU:
    i9-9900k
    Graphics:
    GTX1070Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    blouse likes this.

    Attached Files:

  6. blouse

    blouse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Pro
    CPU:
    i9-9900K
    Graphics:
    2 x Vega 64
    Dec 7, 2018 at 6:00 AM #96
    blouse

    blouse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Pro
    CPU:
    i9-9900K
    Graphics:
    2 x Vega 64
    :clap: :clap: :clap:

    Screen Shot 2018-12-06 at 9.47.51 PM.png

    Thank you!! Wow, incredible.

    Thank you, @DenOfLore
     
  7. derJan

    derJan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Pro - F6
    CPU:
    i9-9900K
    Graphics:
    RX Vega 64
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 7, 2018 at 7:07 AM #97
    derJan

    derJan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Pro - F6
    CPU:
    i9-9900K
    Graphics:
    RX Vega 64
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I feel like an idiot – just discovered the custom install button :banghead: Thanks, I'll try that today…

    Yes, I know der8bauer and his videos, he's a fellow German. I'll see if I find the time in my lunch break to watch his video. (Edit: I noticed that my post is awaiting moderation when I include the YouTube link. I believe the video you're referring to is from der8auer and titled "Is GIGABYTE really THIS bad?".)

    Amazing work! Even though I don't have any use for the audio ports right now, I'll include it in my build later – just to have everything working :)

    Can you elaborate on this? Should I use these two kexts or not?
     
  8. Samuel84

    Samuel84

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 760
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 7, 2018 at 7:40 AM #98
    Samuel84

    Samuel84

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 760
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Of course its worth to try. SMC helper goes with fakeSMC kext. Don't use virtualSMC at the moment. Better to stick with fakeSMC at the moment virtual smc is not yet ready. A lot of sensor information are missing. But it will be the future.

    The main reason to use emuvariable uefi or not with RC scripts is to get a working NVRAM. Not always aptiomemoryfix is doing the job 100%. So when NVRAM not working every time worth to try emuvariableuefi, it‘s a method to support NVRAM on boards who don't have a writable NVRAM configured from the board manufacturer via BIOS.
     
  9. blouse

    blouse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Pro
    CPU:
    i9-9900K
    Graphics:
    2 x Vega 64
    Dec 7, 2018 at 8:29 AM #99
    blouse

    blouse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Pro
    CPU:
    i9-9900K
    Graphics:
    2 x Vega 64
  10. derJan

    derJan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Pro - F6
    CPU:
    i9-9900K
    Graphics:
    RX Vega 64
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 7, 2018 at 9:48 AM #100
    derJan

    derJan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Motherboard:
    Z390 Aorus Pro - F6
    CPU:
    i9-9900K
    Graphics:
    RX Vega 64
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I tried using EmuVariableUefi-64 and the RC scripts first with Clover r4674, and, then after updating Clover to r4784 again. Both times macOS refused to boot with "Couldn't allocate runtime area". When I remove the kext it boots fine again. Are there other kexts incompatible with EmuVariableUefi-64 that should be removed, older additional kexts that make macOS boot up again?

    @blouse is NVRAM working for you?

    Interestingly, the reboot and shutdown problems seem to have gone away with Clover r4784, but when sleeping and waking up again the Hackintosh boots into Windows 10?! Edit: Switching the two M.2 drives in their slots solves this issue. Initially the upper / first drive was the Windows 10 installation, while the lower / second M.2 drive was macOS. I can report that sleep, restart and shutdown finally work :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_0888.jpeg  (1.8 MB, 10 views)
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2018 at 11:32 AM

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice