Contribute
Register

[Success] b1's "Mac Mini Killer" with macOS Mojave: i7-8700 | Gigabyte Z370N | RX560 | 16GB RAM

Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WiFi
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi there!Thanks for answering my questions, I wish I could say that I have resolved all the issues, but sadly - no.

This is what a wrote previously and was banned, but for another reason. Well, I had time and now kinda managed to resolve everything. Anyway let's go along historical perspective.
My EFI contains a DSDT which was patched on F13 for the specific dGPU/IGPU unit and therefore is tied to all sorts of dependencies.

Therefore using a different BIOS version is not a good idea.

Because of this message I've decided to update BIOS to F13, it went well the system boots normally, although I realized that it did reset BIOS settings after the update, I turned back on the XMP profile 1 and "Internal Graphics - Enabled" ,and like in @b166ar 's initial guide set DVMT Pre-Allocated 128mb, DVMT Total Gfx Mem 256.

I guess that's for Intel UHD graphics to work alongside with 5700xt.

Although before iStatmenus would show Intel UHD graphics, now it doesn’t , but Geekbench 5 still has it, I’m not sure whether QuickSync is working or not, the method how to check whether it’s enabled that @b166ar proposed shows, that it doesn’t .
Screen Shot 2021-11-02 at 11.01.20 AM.png
I searched for other methods how to check it - according VideoProc and MacX Video Converter - I have it working.
Screen Shot 2021-11-02 at 11.04.23 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-11-02 at 11.00.33 AM.png

It takes about 15mins and isn't hard at all, just follow the posted link(s).

Shame on me - but it took a few hours to realize that I dumb and can't figure it out.

I followed the guide you mentioned a hundred times already and everything before Port Removal Patch was good - I have deleted the USBport.kext with your mapping and put USBInjectAll.kext instead.
Then I started to read about Port Removal Patch - the guide shows how it works in the previous versions of OS

There are the patches you have used before and they disabled of course, I tried a few combinations, but none of them allowed me to see all the ports in Hackintool afterwards, so I kinda gave up.

And it seems like there are hundreds guides for OC' but not for Clover, so Youtube wasn't really helpful either - not a single guide about Port Mapping in Big Sur with Clover.


Apparently, It isn’t possible yet with Clover and Big Sur after 11.3(which I think could be mentioned in the original guide,), what I did - since I still have a backup drive with Catalina 15.7, I booted it with new EFI , followed all the instructions and yeah, now everything works with USB3 speed.
Scratch that, just using SMUUID should be fine.
This is something I can definitely do.

Cloning your drive using CCC doesn't clone your EFI partition properly which is why you need your thumb drive to boot.

Using kobaltcore's EFIClone script solves this issue, follow the readme carefully.

Installing Clover on your internal drive and copying my EFI folder to your EFI partition afterwards might solve your problem as well, try.

Thanks, I think this shouldn't be too hard, but I plan to do it after dealing with the USB port mapping, I'll keep you updated about which method worked for me.

It wasn’t easy actually. Let me explain:

First of all installing Clover into already installed MacOS always returns with an error, the EFI clone script actually does the job, but it still can’t be detected by BIOS(it also has to do something with updating the BIOS to F13),I found the solution here .

It wasn’t really straightforward, I had to actually guess on which partition my EFI is, luckily if it doesn’t find it there it just returns with error(I didn’t know that, so it was a bit scary), "diskutil list" doesn’t have any visual correlation with the results from “map” command in Clover Shell, but yeah now I boot from internal NVME.

Did you create your own custom boot entries as advised in the installation notes?

I made a custom entry for Windows Partition and set to hide “Recovery, Microsoft EFI”, now I only have three options - Gamestation (Windows 10),MacOs Clone(Catalina 10.15.7) and Big Sur Preboot.
WechatIMG22.jpeg

I tried to do a custom one for Big Sur, but guess didn’t dig too deep so it never worked, but I guess it’s more like cosmetic issue - can live with that.

I'm assuming that your internal drive is first on the list of boot drives in BIOS, right?

I guess when BIOS detects properly made EFI folder with Clover - it shows "UEFI OS on a ....." and it did showed it before on the internal NVME drive with OS, now it only shows this "UEFI OS" with thumb drive.

I still can choose the internal NVME to boot first in BIOS and it has EFI with Clover on it, but it just reboots a few times and then boots to Windows by itself.


Resolved this issue, but once again, it isn't only about not properly cloned EFI, also can be after BIOS update.

Would love to work in Shanghai so if you hear something about open vacancies in the field of Product/UX Design I'd be more than happy to have an after work drink from time to time. :)

Sadly, China is closed for 99% of the foreigners now, I can leave and go to my country, but won't be able to come back, people say that at least one more year it's going to be this way.

But I know some IT guys who has a really high salary, and if you a really high level expert you can even be in that 1% that enters.

And here was the text I actually got banned for, I guess I deserved that, won’t do it second time for sure.

My advice to check LinkedIn and other platforms for vacancies.If the company will be really interested in your services they can arrange your arrival here.

Alright, as a conclusion I can say that during past week or so, I've finished few projects with an intense GPU usage for video editing and visual effects, the computer works much faster due the clean instal I guess, so it still worth doing it once a year and have an ability to upgrade all the internal SSDs, CPU and GPU anytime I want.

Long live the Hackintosh!

Thanks!

P.S.My port mapping for all backside ports (six USB type A and one USB type C) and internal (HS10 if I recall correctly for wifi/Bluetooth module) that works with the Hack Pro EFI you can find in the attachments section.
 

Attachments

  • USBPorts.kext.zip
    1.3 KB · Views: 50
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
213
Motherboard
GA-Z370N wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630 - RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In this guide I will show you how to make your own USB port mapping by simply editing USBPorts.kext with a pList editor.

Some Background
In our Z370N board there are following USB ports

Port 1 to 8 USB 3 (Port 1 & 2 in front rest back)
Port 9 USB C
Port 10 Internal for WiFi & Bluetooth
Port 11 USB 2 (Front)

Remember that to define a USB 3/C you have to define both HS and SS Ports, that is the reason USB3/C are counted as 2 Ports for Apple's 15 port limit.



Download the attached USBPorts.kext
Right click on it
Show Package Contents
Click on Contents folder to find info.plist file
Open this file in a plist editor

Now as shown in my screenshot I will discuss the different coloured sections.

Blue
This you have to edit in both the places as per the SMBIOS definition you have put in your config.plist file. If not put correctly the kext will NOT work

Red
This value We ARE NOT CHANGING for our Mother Board as it will be the same for all Z370N WiFi, but for other users with different Boards will have to change. This value is available by

Click on apple logo in menu bar -> About This Mac -> System Report -> USB
PCI Device ID: + PCI Vendor ID:

Ports Section

You will notice that there are 15 ports defined as per Apple Limit
HS01,HS02,HS05 to HS011 - USB 2 definition
SS01,SS05 to SS08 - USB 3 definition
SS09 - USB C definition

The thing to remember is that USB 3 & C are defined as a pair of HS and SS ports while you define only the HS part for USB 2

Green
UsbConnector value defines the port type
0 = USB 2
3 = USB 3
9 = USB C
255 = Internal

See definition of HS01 & HS02. Both this ports are USB 3 type but for HS01 we have put the value = 3 and for HS02 we have put the value = 0 Because we are defining Port 2 as USB 2 and that is why there is no definition for SS02.

Cyan
The lowest port no 01000000 for USB 2 Port HS01 and this increase sequentially to 0B000000 for HS11.
For SS01 it is 11000000 and for SS09 it is 19000000.

Orange
The value of port-count depend on the last value of SS port definition. In our example it is 19000000. Now suppose if we have not defined USB Ports C which is Port SS09 and the last definition is port SS08 then the port count value will be 18000000

How to Edit and Map
Let us take one example. We are not going to use any of the front side ports and want to define all the back side ports

Rename HS01 to HS03 -> Change port value to 03000000 -> name to HS03
Rename HS02 to HS04 -> Change port value to 04000000 -> UsbConnector to 3 -> name to HS04
Delete HS11 (Frontside USB 2)
Rename SS01 to SS03 -> Change port value to 13000000 -> name to SS03
Copy SS03 definition and paste it before SS05 definition
Rename it to SS04 -> Change port value to 14000000 -> name to SS04
Save the file

DONE!

Screenshot 2021-11-03 at 1.16.39 pm.png
 

Attachments

  • USBPorts.kext.zip
    2.2 KB · Views: 64
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WiFi
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@serg1892 Sorry for not replying to your post, I was working non-stop since my last post (and went through a nasty breakup). Hope to find the time after Christmas. Sorry again.
Hi! No worries, I've resolved all the issues, the hack was working flawlessly ever since.

The only thing that didn't work as I found just recently(didn't need that before) - is the second Ethernet port, but it was fixed by simply adding SmallTree-Intel-211-AT-PCIe-GBE.kext into /Other folder.

Don't plan to do any updates anytime soon, especially since I've placed the order for 16" MacBook pro M1 max, guess later on it might completely replace my hackintosh.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
213
Motherboard
GA-Z370N wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630 - RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Initially I upgraded to Monterey and faced lots of problems regarding boot time and bluetooth so I went back to Big Sur and am still using it. My request is to the people who have successfully installed Monterey to share their experience of "what is not working" vis-a-vis Big Sur and share their OpenCore/Clover config. Specially someone who is using Broadcom BCM4352 (Dell DW 1560) BT/WiFi m.2 card
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WiFi
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi, everyone! I have changed the case(it was Geeek a50) for my hackintosh and the new one(Geeek G1 SE) is slightly bigger, has way better cooling ,which means can fit bigger gpu and can cool it down.
Here they are side to side:
Screen Shot 2022-03-03 at 3.05.39 PM.png
Currently I'm using Gigabyte 5700 xt and surprisingly Corsair SF Gold 450w PSU can handle it. But now I'm thinking to replace PSU with 750w one and gpu with reference 6800xt card. It seems like I won't need to do any tinkering, same agdpmod=pikera should allow me to boot with no problem, am I right?

Also i though I might just also replace i7 8700 with i9 9900k , but this one isn't that easy right? What will i need to do in this case? Thanks for your time!

P.S.Using it with latest Big Sur and not planning to update any time soon.
P.P.S.My new M1 Max with 64gb unified memory is quicker than hackintosh in any regard, but still lacks the compatibility with some really useful plugins that I use on a daily basis, so I'm not switching to it yet.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WiFi
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi there! Thanks for replying me, by the time you did that I already had a card coming to me and by now I successfully installed it.
If you go with a 6800xt you should definitely replace your PSU, yes.
450W isn’t enough for RDNA2.
bootarg stays the same, yap.

I have read that some of the folks had luck with 450w PSU and 6800XT, but decided to spent a bit more( ~ 200 USD) for a decent 750 PSU from Corsair.
here they are right before the installation:
new toys in boxes.jpeg
Fitting it was a challenge, but apparently that was the hardest part, because I did nothing in order to make it work, it just did from the first try:
overview.png
Here are my Geekbench and Unigine Heaven Benchmark scores:
geekbench metal.png
geekbench open cl.png
Unigine Heaven Benchmark 4.0.png
So I guess they aren't bad. Also gaming under Windows had a significant boost as well, but my priority was FCP performance first, due the fact that 8gb in 5700xt was quite often not enough for 4k timeline with variety of heavy VFX, so I had to create a separate project in order to render few seconds of some heavy effects, export them and use on a main timeline as a prores clip. making changes that way is...long. Now I don't need to do that.
Replacing your CPU shouldn't be a problem. It might occur that speedstepping wouldn't work as expected because an i7 8700 matches the iMac19,1 sysdef more closely (assuming you're using that for your rig). If you don‘t plan to overclock, choose the non-k version - there‘s no considerable performance increase to expect
I've made a decision to postpone this purchase, especially since it won't make huge difference in my current workflow, unlike upgrade of the GPU did. But thanks again!

In general, I believe that it might be a good idea to update to F14 BIOS at some point especially concerning the Resizable-BAR
Looks interesting and promising, but I prefer to play safe with my editing rig, so I'll wait for more feedback on this.

Overall my only thought about further enhancing the user experience with this hackintosh is probably trying to change iMac 19,1 to iMacPro 1,1 and see what can I gain with that.

I don't really use SideCar these days, and believe once I switch to iMacPro 1,1 will loose that ability, but I will have even bigger boost in GPU performance, not sure whether it will be better than 6800xt + QuickSync though.

Since I have a second backup SSD will try there first, will post the results here. In theory I only will have to disable the Intel graphics in BIOS and generate new SMBIOS.
 
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
879
Motherboard
GA-Z370N-WiFi
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is there any drawback to going iMacPro 1,1 and/or disabling the iGPU?

(I had been on iMac 19,1)

I had recently switched to it for getting DRM working. I just realized I still have iGPU set as “headless mode” in config.plist and also I still have the iGPU enabled in my BIOS.

Is the iGPU just getting ignored by macOS right now due to the iMacPro 1,1 SMBIOS ?
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2018
Messages
59
Motherboard
z370n
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
VEGA RX 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Mac OS X 11.6.5
open core 0.8
Z370N Wifi
F10BIOS
DW1560
MSI AIRBOOS RX VEGA 56
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    20.3 MB · Views: 28
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 28, 2018
Messages
59
Motherboard
z370n
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
VEGA RX 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Mac OS X 12.4
open core 0.8.1
Z370N Wifi
F11BIOS
DW1560
MSI AIRBOOS RX VEGA 56

Paste in MLB, Serial Number, Board Serial Number, SmUUID.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    15.9 MB · Views: 23
Top