Contribute
Register

[Success] b1's "Mac Mini Killer" with macOS Mojave: i7-8700 | Gigabyte Z370N | RX560 | 16GB RAM

Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N
CPU
i7-8700k
Graphics
RX580
I have my GA-Z370N-i8600K-RX560-based Hackintosh running Mojave rock solid since Oct 2018 mostly due to this thread.

Seen some tinkering and suffering in some posts on the thread mentioning issues with Catalina.

Is it still a hard one to get? I use the machine for production so I prefer to upgrade only when tried and tested by the pros.

Thanks upfront for your replies.
I'm in the same boat as you and still stuck on 10.14.6 for fear of updating. For a while, b166ar made it so easy to update by posting his releases on github, but it seems he doesn't post any longer.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Messages
342
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have my GA-Z370N-i8600K-RX560-based Hackintosh running Mojave rock solid since Oct 2018 mostly due to this thread.

Seen some tinkering and suffering in some posts on the thread mentioning issues with Catalina.

Is it still a hard one to get? I use the machine for production so I prefer to upgrade only when tried and tested by the pros.

Thanks upfront for your replies.

That‘s difficult if not impossible to answer since nobody knows your use case – it's your machine so you're the pro that needs to try and test.
Personally, I always stay away from a new OS until its .5 release in general especially on a production unit and regardless if Hackintosh or 'regular' Mac.

Why? Because ever since Apple decided to move from a software to a service company and to annual release cycles, their software quality is deteriorating due to absent QA. Devs simply don't have the time to test things which is why we have 'public betas' btw. This is especially true for Catalina since it was a mayor shift and applies to prior OS's as well: Mojave was a fart until .3, same goes for High Sierra and Sierra was junk all the way.

To cut this short, try to create a list of questions why you absolutely need to update to Catalina at this point.
I'm almost certain that it will be rather short.

If you still want to try, do a research of how to create a bootable backup and test from there. If you don't know how to create one, I mentioned CaseySJ's thread a couple of pages back – dig through it, it's all there.
Update Clover (and its drivers), all Kexts and do a research about the prerequisites when updating to Catalina.

Good luck and stay safe! :thumbup:

I'm in the same boat as you and still stuck on 10.14.6 for fear of updating. For a while, b166ar made it so easy to update by posting his releases on github, but it seems he doesn't post any longer.

Being in fear of updating sounds a bit over the top and pathetic, don't you think?
Although b1 is absent it's still supereasy – just read through the thread, people confirmed that.
Diamonddust even posted his working Opencore configuration for Catalina .3 on the last page and I'm pretty sure if you take all the stuff I posted on the last page updating won't be an issue.

I certainly don't want to sound rude but Hackintoshing requires a minimum willingness of involvement and understanding of how things work.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N
CPU
i7-8700k
Graphics
RX580
I created a backup using CCC on another drive that I can boot from, and I started updating kexts, but the only issue I'm running into is updating clover. Whenever I try to update thru the Install/Update Clover menu, it says my current booted revision is 5045, and the remote available revision is 5107. When I hit Update, nothing happens. If I could get past updating clover, I'd give it a shot.

Pathetic is going a little far don't you think? It's just a hassle getting everything setup again, nothing more. Appreciate the help.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Messages
342
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, no. Given the current situation we‘re all in, it‘s exactly that: pathetic.

Regarding your issue: download Clover standalone version and update from there. This has been a known and resolved bug for quite some time now. The solution can be found easily when doing a quick query with let‘s say „cannot update clover through menu“ using a search engine of your choice.

Good luck and stay safe! :wave:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N Wifi
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
@rrviega

Thank you for sharing your OC folder with us!
As my OC knowledge is close to zero I'm sharing my DSDT and Clover config.plist with you, hope it's helpful.

With the DSDT, sleep in all variations and native NVRAM is working, all device properties are shown natively in the PCI Section of the System Profiler.
My /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder is empty except the DSDT and USB mapping SSDT's.

Unit specs
  • SMBIOS 19,1
  • 10.14.6
  • As of writing this post: Clover r5105, LILU 1.4.2, WEG 1.3.7, AppleALC 1.4.7, VirtualSMC 1.1.1, OCQuirks Release 17
  • F13 BIOS (using ACPI Patch described here)
  • i7 8700 (running headless with IGPU UHD630 turned on in BIOS)
  • Sapphire RX 570 Nitro+ 8G (this is where my only display is connected through DP)
  • Broadcom 94360CS2 WiFi / BT Card

Again, since my OC knowledge is close to zero, I'm not exactly sure about this but looking at the EFI folder and the OC config.plist you shared, it might be possible to do some reverse engineering by removing all unnecessary SDDT's and device properties using the DSDT. Feel free to give it a shot if you like.

rramon


Edit:

USB mapping done.

  • Removed USR1, USR2, HS12, HS13, HS14 (all unknown)
  • Removed SS03/SS04 (used for Mouse/Keyboard only, therefore USB 3 speeds are unnecessary)
  • Removed HS05/SS05, HS06/SS06 (see attached Mapout)
  • HS/SS10 = Internal Bluetooth USB Host Controller (could probably be partially removed but unsure about that)

Weird. My HS/SS 7 is same location as yours, but the 8 is right next to it, with the 5 + 6 shifted over to the right one port.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N Wifi
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
@rrviega

Thank you for sharing your OC folder with us!
As my OC knowledge is close to zero I'm sharing my DSDT and Clover config.plist with you, hope it's helpful.

With the DSDT, sleep in all variations and native NVRAM is working, all device properties are shown natively in the PCI Section of the System Profiler.
My /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder is empty except the DSDT and USB mapping SSDT's.

Unit specs
  • SMBIOS 19,1
  • 10.14.6
  • As of writing this post: Clover r5105, LILU 1.4.2, WEG 1.3.7, AppleALC 1.4.7, VirtualSMC 1.1.1, OCQuirks Release 17
  • F13 BIOS (using ACPI Patch described here)
  • i7 8700 (running headless with IGPU UHD630 turned on in BIOS)
  • Sapphire RX 570 Nitro+ 8G (this is where my only display is connected through DP)
  • Broadcom 94360CS2 WiFi / BT Card

Again, since my OC knowledge is close to zero, I'm not exactly sure about this but looking at the EFI folder and the OC config.plist you shared, it might be possible to do some reverse engineering by removing all unnecessary SDDT's and device properties using the DSDT. Feel free to give it a shot if you like.

rramon


Edit:

USB mapping done.

  • Removed USR1, USR2, HS12, HS13, HS14 (all unknown)
  • Removed SS03/SS04 (used for Mouse/Keyboard only, therefore USB 3 speeds are unnecessary)
  • Removed HS05/SS05, HS06/SS06 (see attached Mapout)
  • HS/SS10 = Internal Bluetooth USB Host Controller (could probably be partially removed but unsure about that)

Also, how hard was it to update the BIOS? All you have to do is add the patch to the ACPI tab in clover before doing the upgrade, right? Anything else that needs to be done?

When I set up my hack in December of '18 my board had F4 on it. I flashed it to F5 and left it at that (because I didn't have a Series 9 CPU and wasn't planning on upgrading anytime soon). Is it worth upgrading to F13, are there any advantages?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Messages
342
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Also, how hard was it to update the BIOS?

It's not hard at all and nicely described in the manual which can be found here.
Intstructions on how to properly format your USB stick are included as well.

All you have to do is add the patch to the ACPI tab in clover before doing the upgrade, right?

1.
Be sure you've made a backup of all your BIOS settings.

Please note: this is important because your BIOS reverts to factory defaults after the update procedure leaving your unit unbootable.

This can be done in two ways:
  • Enter BIOS while having a USB stick plugged into your unit and pressing F12 on every BIOS page. This creates screenshots in the root directory of the plugged in USB stick.
  • Create a BIOS profile which you can choose from after the update procedure.
While I have created a BIOS profile, I prefer to create screenshots as well because it might happen that the BIOS profile gets wiped during the update procedure.


2.
Reboot your unit and check if the priorly created screenshots are present on your USB stick. If they aren't present, repeat Step 1 and check if the USB stick is formated properly.

Put in the ACPI patch in config.plist, save it and power off your unit.


3.
Plug in a USB stick with the F13 BIOS revision files you downloaded and enter BIOS.

Power on your unit and follow the BIOS update procedure.

This can be done in two ways:

  • Boot from your USB stick (check manual how to do this)
  • Boot into BIOS and update from there

Again, check the manual and decide which route you want to follow.


4.
Reboot your unit and enter BIOS.

Configure it with the settings by either going through the screenshots you made before (you'll need a 2nd unit for that apparently) or by loading the profile you saved before.

Save and Exit.


5.
Reboot from your internal drive.

Anything else that needs to be done?
If you've done everything right: no. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 2, 2014
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RTX 2080 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good news guys! I've managed to boot with F12 bios. It is easier than you think. Here is a simple step by step guide.

1. Make a boot USB flash drive with your current EFI folder.
2. Download bootx64.efi and copy it to EFI/Boot/.
This is some kind of alternative bootloader that starts with the command line. Here we will modify hidden BIOS settings.

3. Update BIOS to F12 (only F12!)
4. Reboot and hold F12 to boot from your USB Flash drive. Now you should see this command line.
5. Now enter
Code:
setup_var 0x5A4 0x0
Code:
setup_var 0x507 0x1

Reboot from your primary drive. You Hack should boot normally. But don't forget to set up your BIOS settings.

:!: Looks like we will need to do this every time after trigger «Reset to default settings» option in BIOS.

P.S. If you are interested in the details:

0x5A4 is CFG Lock option in BIOS
0x507 is System Time and Alarm Source option

This codes are not static and can be changed in future updates. You can use this guide to find this code for future versions of BIOS.

Thanks!!

I stayed 5 hours trying all to avoid the with the "apfs module start 1689" on my z370n + i58400t Y finally it worked!
I had done the CFG unlock with grub-shell, but I didn't know the other hidden setting System Time and Alarm Source !!

I confirm that bios 14a of Gigabyte z370n boots also, and the locations are still the same
- 0x5A4 is CFG Lock option in BIOS
- 0x507 is System Time and Alarm Source option
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
186
Motherboard
GigaByte-Z370N-WIFI
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
HD 630 / GTX 1060
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The later updates all appeared to be for hardware I did not own.
So I left my Z370N WIFI on BIOS F3. i5-5400.
Everything worked fine. Until I spilled water on it & killed it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2019
Messages
87
Motherboard
GA Z370N WiFi
CPU
8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Usually when this occurs it is due to the lack or incorrect usb port mapping.

Sleep has worked better in OpenCore, in my case sleep is only interrupted by Power Nap when doing Time Machine backups. After the backup is complete, he returns to sleep.

I took me quite some time to be brave enough to try, I mapped the USB ports, the screen now stays dark during sleep, but the fans still spin up sometimes every minute, are there any solutions for that? Or it works in OpenCore? Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Top