Contribute
Register

[Success] - Asus ROG Strix Z490-E Gaming + i9 10900K + OpenCore

Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
417
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 3080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Z490-E Gaming
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
How did you guys get multiple monitors working?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
417
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 3080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How did you guys get multiple monitors working?

That ended up being fixed with updates to WhateverGreen. If you use my EFI, multiple monitors works out of the box with the iGPU with this motherboard.

With that said, with my setup. I leave the HDMI monitor off until I see the desktop on the DP monitor, then I turn it on. I suspect it's because my HDMI monitor is 1440p, so I'm pushing the iGPU pretty hard. Switching inputs can also accomplish the same thing.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Z490-E Gaming
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
That ended up being fixed with updates to WhateverGreen. If you use my EFI, multiple monitors works out of the box with the iGPU with this motherboard.

With that said, with my setup. I leave the HDMI monitor off until I see the desktop on the DP monitor, then I turn it on. I suspect it's because my HDMI monitor is 1440p, so I'm pushing the iGPU pretty hard. Switching inputs can also accomplish the same thing.
What about multiple monitors on the AMD GPU?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
417
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 3080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What about multiple monitors on the AMD GPU?

That also works. I currently have my RX 560 back in the lower PCI-E slot. Same EFI.

Looks like:

RX 560 - HDMI to 1440p Dell, DP to Asus 1080p RTX 2080 Ti - DP to 1440p Dell, HDMI to Asus 1080p


The Dell is 1440p HDR with up to 166 Hz, so I give it the DP under Windows to take advantage / game.

I did it this way so I'd stop plugging / unplugging cables all the time. Now I just switch monitor inputs to boot to Win 10 or Catalina.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Z490-E Gaming
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
That also works. I currently have my RX 560 back in the lower PCI-E slot. Same EFI.

Looks like:

RX 560 - HDMI to 1440p Dell, DP to Asus 1080p RTX 2080 Ti - DP to 1440p Dell, HDMI to Asus 1080p


The Dell is 1440p HDR with up to 166 Hz, so I give it the DP under Windows to take advantage / game.

I did it this way so I'd stop plugging / unplugging cables all the time. Now I just switch monitor inputs to boot to Win 10 or Catalina.
I got it working. It just required rebooting the computer.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Z490-E Gaming
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
The opencore picker doesn't auto select the Mac OS partition anymore after the default time has passed. Anyone know how to fix this?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
417
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 3080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The opencore picker doesn't auto select the Mac OS partition anymore after the default time has passed. Anyone know how to fix this?

Hold Control + hit Enter with macOS partition selected, it should "store" it. Also you can use the official Startup Disk application. (as long as you have your nvram setup correctly)
 
Top