Contribute
Register

[Success] - Asus ROG Strix Z490-E Gaming + i9 10900K + OpenCore

Joined
Feb 2, 2022
Messages
18
Motherboard
Asus RogStrix Z490-E
CPU
i9 10850K
Graphics
Nvidia RTX 3080
hello everyone, first of all, I would like to thank scope666, for giving us the efi file to be able to eliminate the biggest job, but I have encountered a problem installing the monterey operating system; I do not know if it is for the operating system, or not, in any case my problem is the following: after having successfully started the installation of the monterey, when it reaches 12 minutes remaining, it freezes for a short time and then it goes to the screen with multiple white writings very quickly, and then reboots the pc, at that point, after booting opencore, I see my ssd with the name I gave it for the installation of the monterey, I try to start it but immediately the pc restarts (most likely for corrupt or missing files due to incorrect installation). I'm still at this point and I don't know what to do, the bios settings are ok, any ideas?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
22,263
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I don't know what to do, the bios settings are ok, any ideas?
Remove the 3080 and use the UHD 630 iGPU instead. That is if you don't have an "F" CPU. We have no way of knowing if it's not shown in your profile.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2022
Messages
18
Motherboard
Asus RogStrix Z490-E
CPU
i9 10850K
Graphics
Nvidia RTX 3080
thanks for the reply, my cpu is not with F (without integrated graphics), so i can change it but sorry for my ignorance, how i can do it in the config.plist?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
22,263
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
so i can change it but sorry for my ignorance, how i can do it in the config.plist?
Change the BIOS setting to use the iGPU. Scope is using an AMD graphics card and not the iGPU.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
418
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 3080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Change the BIOS setting to use the iGPU. Scope is using an AMD graphics card and not the iGPU.

Actually I use BOTH. The AMD drives my main monitor, and the iGPU drives my 2 auxiliary 1080p Asus monitors. I run an HDMI cable from the AMD to the main monitor, and a DP cable from the 3080 Ti to the main monitor, this way I just switch inputs on the main monitor to switch between Win11 and macOS. The iGPU works under both operating systems so no need to change inputs on either aux monitor.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2022
Messages
18
Motherboard
Asus RogStrix Z490-E
CPU
i9 10850K
Graphics
Nvidia RTX 3080
I tried to do as you said with cpu graphics and igpu disabled, the result was that the boot does not start without igpu enabled, but I kept the cpu graphics by connecting it to the video output of the motherboard, the result does not change from the previous problem I had described. so as it says scope666 is not a graphical prob, there must be something preventing it from installing correctly, maybe a command to be given in boot args? or driver to import?
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
7,610
Motherboard
ASUS Z490-G Gaming (Wi-Fi) - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i3-10320
Graphics
RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried to do as you said with cpu graphics and igpu disabled, the result was that the boot does not start without igpu enabled, but I kept the cpu graphics by connecting it to the video output of the motherboard, the result does not change from the previous problem I had described. so as it says scope666 is not a graphical prob, there must be something preventing it from installing correctly, maybe a command to be given in boot args? or driver to import?

You need to either disable the PCI-e RTX3080 in BIOS and enable the iGPU with a minimum of 64MB DVMT, or you can use the Whatevergreen.kext command-line "-wegnoegpu".

Then, if you are using the config.plist from the supplied EFI folder, the iGPU should work when you connect your monitor to the motherboard as it has the DeviceProperties necessary.

It is possible that you will need to change the ig-platform-id from 07009B3E to 00009B3E as you are using a different CPU. But try the original first and see.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2022
Messages
18
Motherboard
Asus RogStrix Z490-E
CPU
i9 10850K
Graphics
Nvidia RTX 3080
ok so the result is the following: I tried several combinations after the one you suggested to do, obtaining a fail boot, or crash a random, keeping the bios settings as per your suggestion, and reviewing the whole configuration comparing with the suggestions from opencore for cpu cometlake, and keeping ig-platform-id without changing it (07009B3E) with boot args: dk.e1000 = 0 (otherwise it crashes randomly) -v debug0x100 keepsyms = 1, I was able to get the best stable result , but having the problem again after "about 12 minutes remaing", at this point the white writing comes out quickly and it restarts, not completing the installation. sorry if i'm stressing you out, i feel unlucky despite having the same pc machine, if not similar.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2022
Messages
18
Motherboard
Asus RogStrix Z490-E
CPU
i9 10850K
Graphics
Nvidia RTX 3080
I have forget leave this file log that maybe you can understand what don't work properly.
 

Attachments

  • opencore-2022-02-04-145838.txt
    256 KB · Views: 21

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
7,610
Motherboard
ASUS Z490-G Gaming (Wi-Fi) - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i3-10320
Graphics
RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ok so the result is the following: I tried several combinations after the one you suggested to do, obtaining a fail boot, or crash a random, keeping the bios settings as per your suggestion, and reviewing the whole configuration comparing with the suggestions from opencore for cpu cometlake, and keeping ig-platform-id without changing it (07009B3E) with boot args: dk.e1000 = 0 (otherwise it crashes randomly) -v debug0x100 keepsyms = 1, I was able to get the best stable result , but having the problem again after "about 12 minutes remaing", at this point the white writing comes out quickly and it restarts, not completing the installation. sorry if i'm stressing you out, i feel unlucky despite having the same pc machine, if not similar.

No one is getting stressed out.

So what did you do about the RTX 3080 ?
 
Top