Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero - i7-7700K - 32GB RAM - Intel™ 630 HD

Joined
Apr 4, 2017
Messages
948
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I somehow missed that you had updated to Mojave. However, since you switched to an AMD card our systems no longer match. The 1080Ti that I have will cause me to wait until nVidia get their drivers updated.


p.s. - You signature still shows an nVidia card... look at the bottom of your posts.
Thanks for that - gonna be fixed in a jiff!
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
69
Motherboard
Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm in the same boat, my "real" MacBook Pro has Mojave, but waiting for this box for the web drivers to be released. Hope it happens soon...
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,263
Motherboard
Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
For those of us still on nVidia....

I managed to update to the new Security Update 2018-002 without thinking... I know, I spanked myself for doing it.

The update changed the OSX Build version from 10.13.6 (17G65) to 10.13.6. (17G3025) which messes with nVidias version checking and disabled the nVidia driver. I had to reinstall the 387.10.10.10.40.105 driver but the installer would not let me - It complained about the OS version number being unsupported. I thought that old bug was fixed and over with but I guess not. I remembered that we used to edit a .plist file to get the drivers to load and I wasn't remembering how to do that so I researched and found that there is a script that does all that for us.

Go here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/nvidia-update-simple-way-to-install-nvidia-web-drivers.244987/

and run that script as is. It will edit that plist for you and install the current driver without complaint.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
96
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700k 4.2GHz
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1070 SC2
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Glad you got that working, Bob. I tried to do exactly that when I accidentally updated to the last security update in Sierra. It didn't work for me. Not saying it won't, but just a warning that there are possibly other things at play that might make it not work on all Hacks.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
96
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700k 4.2GHz
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1070 SC2
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm still on Sierra, yes. I just had to wait until the new drivers were released (I'm talking previous to this SecUpd), and I'm on 378.05.05.25f10.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,263
Motherboard
Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Are you saying that even though you and I were on two different OS's we both got the same Security Update? That's interesting...

That script ran for me perfectly. It checks for OS version and attempts to match it with the correct Driver. In my case it said that there was not exact match but would I like to try version 387.10.10.10.40.105? Since I was already running with that bad boy I said to go ahead and the script worked as designed.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
96
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700k 4.2GHz
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1070 SC2
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
No, I think I might have confused the issue. With the previous update (2018-001) I ran into the same issue, and at that point, that updater tool didn't work for me, and I had to wait until new drivers were released. I'm just saying that it's perhaps not necessarily going to work for all installations.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
56
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
@JCMunsonII would you mind sharing your latest EFI folder (you can of course remove the serial number from the plist)?! I'm having trouble to get Quick Look and Preview working by enabling iGPU in bios. If I do that the boot process will simply stuck at "couldn't allocate runtime area". I'm trying to understand if maybe I'm missing some patches or even a specific kext / kext version.
 
Top