Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero - i7-7700K - 32GB RAM - Intel HD630 > EVGA GTX 1070 SC2 > AMD Sapphire RX580 Pulse

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z270 Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't want to speak too soon, but I think I just found the culprit. I think I may have blindly installed an update to the Logitech Control Center application that could have been causing this. I've uninstalled it and restarted, and am monitoring the situation.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2016
Messages
30
Motherboard
MAXIMUS IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
GTX 1070 SC2
I don't want to speak too soon, but I think I just found the culprit. I think I may have blindly installed an update to the Logitech Control Center application that could have been causing this. I've uninstalled it and restarted, and am monitoring the situation.
Same thing happening to me since I changed to the Maximus IX HERO, I haven't found a fix for the mouse lag yet. If you're using your hack for content creation this will become the most annoying thing in your life.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z270 Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Same thing happening to me since I changed to the Maximus IX HERO, I haven't found a fix for the mouse lag yet. If you're using your hack for content creation this will become the most annoying thing in your life.
I've been running this for ages and never had the problem before. I don't think it's related to the IX Hero - I think you may have something else at play on yours? Do you have the LCC installed?
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2016
Messages
30
Motherboard
MAXIMUS IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
GTX 1070 SC2
I've been running this for ages and never had the problem before. I don't think it's related to the IX Hero - I think you may have something else at play on yours? Do you have the LCC installed?
I used to have an MSI Z270 SLI PLUS and never had the problem, maybe something Asus related I don't know about? The frustration is real man haha. btw what's LCC?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z270 Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Logitech Control Center. Like I say, maybe it's too soon for me to have been able to rule it out completely, but after uninstalling it I don't *think* I've seen the mouse pausing again. Plus, updating LCC and installing the last Security Update are the only things that I can really think of that were changed in my installation.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2017
Messages
1,095
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 ROG MAXIMUS IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That won't work for us with non-gaming series hardware. ;) I have an MX Master Mouse and standard full-size Apple keyboard. ;)
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,322
Motherboard
Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just updated to HS 10.13.6 (17G65)

I just finished making a bootable clone of my SSD and updated the Clone first (just in case.)

Other than needing the nVidia driver updated things went easily, no need to fix audio either.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
110
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z270 Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The mouse problem is still there. New mice, new connections, new cables, different USB sockets - nothing works. I'm thinking I might take the plunge and update the OS sometime soon. Trouble is, with Mojave on the horizon, it feels like it would make more sense to wait until that's a few point revisions in and go to that, rather than High Sierra, but this problem is driving me nuts and I've no idea how to find out what's causing it.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,977
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've no idea how to find out what's causing it.
I wonder if it is a conflict with "Shake mouse pointer to locate".
There have been problems caused by that and some games.

System Preferences - Accessibility - Display - Shake mouse pointer to locate.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top