Contribute
Register

[Success] Alienware Aurora R6 with 10.12.6

Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
12
Motherboard
Alienware Aurora R6
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
Intel HD 630/Nvidia GTX 1080
And as if by magic! Two 4K monitors in all their splendour! Amazing. Thank you so much.

I have ethernet working (think I used 2.2.0) but as you suggested, the audio isn't showing. I see that in your config.plist you've got the AppleHDA kext patch listed and replaced with 9908ec10. Are you suggesting that I need to replace that with 00000000?

Once again, many thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
12
Motherboard
Alienware Aurora R6
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
Intel HD 630/Nvidia GTX 1080
Ah ha! Looks like I was missing AppleALC.kext. Dropped that in and now I have all of my ins and outs.

One final question, are you dual-booting Windows? If so, what have you done about secure boot etc.?
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
12
Motherboard
Alienware Aurora R6
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
Intel HD 630/Nvidia GTX 1080
Well ignore the last, looks like Windows is perfectly happy with secure boot disabled.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
137
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7559
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 (3840 x 2160)
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ah ha! Looks like I was missing AppleALC.kext. Dropped that in and now I have all of my ins and outs.

One final question, are you dual-booting Windows? If so, what have you done about secure boot etc.?
I have not done Windows because I have plenty of Windows computers and laptops already!

Super glad to hear you got it working! If you can, try downloading some large files (like maybe a Windows ISO file or something around 4GB) and see if you get errors.

Also, now that there are TWO of us running this config, maybe use this thread for feedback on what you find works well and what you find doesn't.

It's a pretty sweet setup with minimal effort!
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
12
Motherboard
Alienware Aurora R6
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
Intel HD 630/Nvidia GTX 1080
Yep, count me in! I've just stuck it on a spare 60GB SATA SSD that I had to hand for now so what I'll probably do is stick a better SSD in there and the do a full write up on the process.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
137
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7559
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 (3840 x 2160)
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yep, count me in! I've just stuck it on a spare 60GB SATA SSD that I had to hand for now so what I'll probably do is stick a better SSD in there and the do a full write up on the process.
If you're going to do a full write up, are you going to try High Sierra next week when it comes out? That would be worth a documented write up! I'm interested if it's as easy as Sierra was...especially with a NVMe m.2 SSD. I'm still using a normal SATA SSD (256GB).

Enjoy!
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2017
Messages
21
Motherboard
Alienware / Intel Z270
CPU
Intel i7-7700K
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1080, HD630, 1440p
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
You will need to disable the port limit patch and block some USB ports. RehabMan doesn't recommend using the patch full time.
I've experienced USB3 ports working as USB2 ports quite often. It is important that port limit stay under 15 to get full USB3 speeds.

NOTE: USB3 ports count as 2 ports due to backward compatibility i.e, 1 USB3 + 1 USB2.

I've mapped the ports on the Aurora R6 and posted here. Put the .aml file in EFI/Clover/ACPI/Patched
You can choose which ports to exclude using the boot flag uia_exclude.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
137
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7559
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 (3840 x 2160)
Mobile Phone
iOS
You will need to disable the port limit patch and block some USB ports. RehabMan doesn't recommend using the patch full time.
I've experienced USB3 ports working as USB2 ports quite often. It is important that port limit stay under 15 to get full USB3 speeds.

NOTE: USB3 ports count as 2 ports due to backward compatibility i.e, 1 USB3 + 1 USB2.

I've mapped the ports on the Aurora R6 and posted here. Put the .aml file in EFI/Clover/ACPI/Patched
You can choose which ports to exclude using the boot flag uia_exclude.
Thanks for chiming in. This is very interesting and brings to mind a few questions:
  1. Without your patches above, is the behavior of any given USB 3 port random or are certain ports know to work correctly and others at USB 2.0 speeds? So far, the times I've used the USB 3.0 ports, the transfer rates seemed to correlate to USB 3.0 speeds.
  2. How can we test the speeds of the USB 3.0 ports? (other than the obvious copy of a large file and looking at how fast it transfers). Windows 10 shows the transfer rate when copying, so it's easy to know if I'm getting 10 or 200MB/s. What can we do in macOS?
  3. Is this going to change at all with High Sierra? Seems the newer chipsets that are out now (for PC's now, but which at some point correlates to Macs) have a TON of USB ports.
  4. If only one USB 3.0 port is being used at any time (say, with a USB 3.0 flash drive), will I always see fastest speeds? Is the problem only when many ports are in use at once?
Thanks again. Since you also have an R6 with macOS, is there a thread that you have started with your experiences?
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2017
Messages
21
Motherboard
Alienware / Intel Z270
CPU
Intel i7-7700K
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1080, HD630, 1440p
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Thanks for chiming in. This is very interesting and brings to mind a few questions:
  1. Without your patches above, is the behavior of any given USB 3 port random or are certain ports know to work correctly and others at USB 2.0 speeds? So far, the times I've used the USB 3.0 ports, the transfer rates seemed to correlate to USB 3.0 speeds.
  2. How can we test the speeds of the USB 3.0 ports? (other than the obvious copy of a large file and looking at how fast it transfers). Windows 10 shows the transfer rate when copying, so it's easy to know if I'm getting 10 or 200MB/s. What can we do in macOS?
  3. Is this going to change at all with High Sierra? Seems the newer chipsets that are out now (for PC's now, but which at some point correlates to Macs) have a TON of USB ports.
  4. If only one USB 3.0 port is being used at any time (say, with a USB 3.0 flash drive), will I always see fastest speeds? Is the problem only when many ports are in use at once?
Thanks again. Since you also have an R6 with macOS, is there a thread that you have started with your experiences?
  1. It is a random behaviour. Sometimes a few ports(random) wouldn't work with some devices. It would require anywhere between 1 -30 attempts for the port to become active.
  2. System Information > USB. It'll show max speed capable/allowed for connected device. 480Mb/s for USB2, 5Gb/s for USB3.

    Screen Shot 2017-09-21 at 6.34.08 PM.png
  3. This is dependant on the chipset and Apple. Can't say if High Sierra will affect it. Highly skeptical about it.
  4. Nope. Entirely random.

I was documenting my findings on another user's thread.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
12
Motherboard
Alienware Aurora R6
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
Intel HD 630/Nvidia GTX 1080
So this morning I've spent a bit of time trying High Sierra. So far, no luck. The app downloads fine and then reboots but then it gets stuck with a black screen and an ever-slowing spinner. Booting into verbose mode shows "com.apple.WindowServer only ran for 0 seconds".

From trawling the web I think that this is down to the 1080 but I'm not really sure how to go about solving it short of removing the card and installing from the integrated graphics. Any thoughts?

On another note, I'm using the config.plist from this thread but I've found that Clover doesn't show any of the boot menu options (only the drives) and I'm unable to change the theme from the default grey. Any pointers there?

Cheers.
 
Top