[Success] 6700K+ 1080 Ti + Asus Ranger VIII

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Guides' started by fgxr8, Oct 3, 2017.

  1. fgxr8

    fgxr8

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Rx 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 3, 2017 at 3:29 AM #1
    fgxr8

    fgxr8

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Rx 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Took me a few days of playing around lots of reinstalls and clover modifications to get running.

    For a fresh install I did the following:

    Made a clover bootable USB following tonymac guide
    this board seems to need emuvariable and optifx2 and rc script on target volume (
    grab the sample config.plist from tonymac High Sierra guide
    I modified the sample config plist with clover configurator to give it a 17.1 configuration
    unchecked inject intel, and set sip to 0x00
    added latest lilu.kext and Nvidiagraphicsfixup.kext (fake smc and nullcpupowermanagement to clover/kexts/other)
    also make sure bios is set to use PEG (Pic Express Graphics. not auto or igfx which gave me boot loops)

    High Sierra should install

    use the usb you created to boot into HS
    once in HS use efi mounter to firstly mount the efi partition of the usb installer and copy it on to your desktop, then unmount it (for APFS it gives funny disk numbers but just look inside disk utility to see which disk it actually is)
    now mount the efi partition of the hard diskhdd/ssd and the efi folder which you copied from the usb can now be copied into the HDD/ssd efi

    now you should be able to boot into HS from the hdd/ssd without needing the usb

    next step is to install Nvidia graphics web driver +audio for the mobo
    Do NOT REBOOT YET
    type the following
    Code (Text):
    sudo touch /Library/Extensions /System/Library/Extensions
    sudo kextcache -u /
    Do NOT REBOOT YET
    now to get audio working for this motherboard
    find Toleda ssdt_hdef 100-hdas and add it to clover/acpi/patched
    Do NOT REBOOT YET
    now go to the config.plist and set sip/csr to 0x2EF

    now you can reboot

    HS should now load with graphics working but no audio (but we added the ssdt_hdef)
    now mount efi again
    and run audio_cloverALC-130_v0.3.command (follow the onscreen instructions)
    Do NOT REBOOT YET
    now run
    Code (Text):
    sudo touch /Library/Extensions /System/Library/Extensions
    sudo kextcache -u /
    reboot

    should have HS with Nvida graphics and sound enabled.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. fgxr8

    fgxr8

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Rx 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 3, 2017 at 3:41 AM #2
    fgxr8

    fgxr8

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Rx 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Screen Shot 2017-10-03 at 1.39.31 pm.png
     
  3. Rihards

    Rihards

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Oct 4, 2017 at 4:56 PM #3
    Rihards

    Rihards

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    thank you very much

    this guide worked for me

    I7 6700K
    Sabertooth z710s mobo
    GeForce GTX 970
     
  4. Rihards

    Rihards

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Oct 4, 2017 at 5:01 PM #4
    Rihards

    Rihards

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    but not front panel audio...
     
  5. MMMUUU

    MMMUUU

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    CPU:
    intel 7700k
    Graphics:
    ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti OC (O11G) 11GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 9:11 PM #5
    MMMUUU

    MMMUUU

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    CPU:
    intel 7700k
    Graphics:
    ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti OC (O11G) 11GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    how to enable the wifi?
     
  6. dannyalder88

    dannyalder88

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170-A Series
    CPU:
    Intel i7-6700k 4.0GHz
    Graphics:
    Nvida EVGA FTW+ GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 9:12 PM #6
    dannyalder88

    dannyalder88

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170-A Series
    CPU:
    Intel i7-6700k 4.0GHz
    Graphics:
    Nvida EVGA FTW+ GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I am currently in love with you. I have been trying to get this to work since last Wednesday. You finally cracked it! The only change I had to make was use a default config file and manually enter in the 17,1 settings in Clover Configurator as the one you provided stopped clover from booting for me. I recon it was the bios setting PEG that made the difference for me! Thank you for your help!
     
  7. kayintveen

    kayintveen

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE AORUS GA-Z270X-Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel I7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce 1060 Strix 6G
    Oct 4, 2017 at 10:42 PM #7
    kayintveen

    kayintveen

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE AORUS GA-Z270X-Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel I7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Asus GeForce 1060 Strix 6G
    Tried this, but no joy,
    its in a reboot cycle. when i make photos (bacuase its to quick to read) i still get a reboot right after
    IOConsoleusers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0

    Which is strange. because when i remove the nvidea drivers. i also see
    IOConsoleusers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0
    but the boot then works fine.

    Hopeless. tried so many things
    im on a Z270 Gaming 7 mobo by gigabyte
    with a asus strix 1060 card.
     
  8. Intelis

    Intelis

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme 7+
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    1080 GTX
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 11:17 PM #8
    Intelis

    Intelis

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme 7+
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    1080 GTX
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Can u attach your config file after u modied it !? I have nvidia and 6700k too...
     
  9. fgxr8

    fgxr8

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Rx 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 5, 2017 at 12:00 AM #9
    fgxr8

    fgxr8

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Rx 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    the config.plist in original is my modified one
     
  10. fgxr8

    fgxr8

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Rx 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 5, 2017 at 12:02 AM #10
    fgxr8

    fgxr8

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Rx 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    are you sure you set pci or peg in bios?
    also since you have z270 maybe try 18,3 instead of 17,1 config

    also make sure legacy usb is disabled
    xhci hand off enabled
    and other bios settings are correct

    also i think you dont need emuvariable cause your mobo i think has nvram
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2017

Share This Page