Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] 5K Resolution with AMD RX580, Dell UP2715K and Sierra 10.12.5

Joined
Aug 5, 2017
Messages
1
Not that 10.12.6 is natively support RX580 now and I use it as an eGPU. Could I just connect it with one 1.4 DP cable to Dell UP2715K to achieve 5k resolution? @XQC
 

XQC

Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
132
Motherboard
GA Z170 UD3
CPU
i7 6770K
Graphics
AMD RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Dell doesn't support DP 1.4, you still have to connect 2 cables.
5K with RX580 and 10.12.6 isn't plug&play either. I had to remove the IDs 0x67DF1002 from AMD9510 and AMD4100 to force macOS to load the kexts AMD9520 and AMD4200 instead and use framebuffer Gueriba.

That might change with WhateverGreen and Lilu kexts, but I didn't have time to do any further testing.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
113
Motherboard
GA-Z170x-Designare
CPU
Core i7-6700k
Graphics
AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
Dell doesn't support DP 1.4, you still have to connect 2 cables.
5K with RX580 and 10.12.6 isn't plug&play either. I had to remove the IDs 0x67DF1002 from AMD9510 and AMD4100 to force macOS to load the kexts AMD9520 and AMD4200 instead and use framebuffer Gueriba.

That might change with WhateverGreen and Lilu kexts, but I didn't have time to do any further testing.
WhateverGreen is the way to go for me. It also allows me to inject CFG_USE_AGDC via an SSDT, which means one less edit to perform on every OS upgrade.
 

XQC

Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
132
Motherboard
GA Z170 UD3
CPU
i7 6770K
Graphics
AMD RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
WhateverGreen is the way to go for me. It also allows me to inject CFG_USE_AGDC via an SSDT, which means one less edit to perform on every OS upgrade.
How do you do that?

With WhateverGreen my RX580 works OOB, though without 5K support (Dell screen appears as two monitors) and Luxmark gives only 300 points. I have to test this again with a fresh install and various SMBIOS settings.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
113
Motherboard
GA-Z170x-Designare
CPU
Core i7-6700k
Graphics
AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
How do you do that?

With WhateverGreen my RX580 works OOB, though without 5K support (Dell screen appears as two monitors) and Luxmark gives only 300 points. I have to test this again with a fresh install and various SMBIOS settings.
There's an SSDT sample in the WhateverGreen FAQ you can use as a reference. SSDT's are quite complicated but you essentially use RehabMan's patched MaciASL to generate/edit them, and then copy them over to EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched. After you understand that piece, it's as simple as adding the proper config settings per WhateverGreen.

For example, here's the SSDT I use to rename my slot 1 GFX card's PCI identifier from PEGP to GFX1 and also add some extra properties.

/*
* Intel ACPI Component Architecture
* AML/ASL+ Disassembler version 20161210-64(RM)
* Copyright (c) 2000 - 2016 Intel Corporation
*
* Disassembling to non-symbolic legacy ASL operators
*
* Disassembly of iASLYzPS8Z.aml, Sun Aug 6 15:04:18 2017
*
* Original Table Header:
* Signature "SSDT"
* Length 0x00000138 (312)
* Revision 0x01
* Checksum 0xB8
* OEM ID "shiloh"
* OEM Table ID "GFX1"
* OEM Revision 0x00001000 (4096)
* Compiler ID "INTL"
* Compiler Version 0x20161210 (538317328)
*/
DefinitionBlock ("", "SSDT", 1, "shiloh", "GFX1", 0x00001000)
{
Device (_SB.PCI0.PEG0.GFX1)
{
Name (_ADR, Zero) // _ADR: Address
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized) // _DSM: Device-Specific Method
{
If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero))
{
Return (Buffer (One)
{
0x03
})
}

Return (Package (0x0C)
{
"hda-gfx",
Buffer (0x0A)
{
"onboard-1"
},

"AAPL,slot-name",
Buffer (0x0C)
{
"PCIe Slot 1"
},

"CFG,CFG_USE_AGDC",
Buffer (One)
{
0x01
},

"PP,PP_DisablePowerContainment",
Buffer (One)
{
0x01
},

"PP,PP_MediumStateDownHysteresisTimeOut",
0x0020FDF2,
"PP,PP_SISLANDSMediumStateHysteresisDown",
0x05
})
}
}

Name (\_SB.PCI0.PEG0.PEGP._STA, Zero) // _STA: Status
}
 
  • Like
Reactions: XQC
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270MX-Gaming 5
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
Radeon Pro Vega Air-Cooled Frontier Edition 16GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@XQC

I have a somewhat similar problem that you had. Maybe you can help?

I have:
Intel Core i7 7700K 4.2 Ghz
Gigabyte GA-Z270MX/Gaming 5
Samsung CF791 Series 34-Inch Curved Widescreen Monitor (C34F791) 3440x1440 4K
Samsung U28E590D 28-Inch UHD LED-Lit Monitor with Freesync support 3840x2160 4K
XFX AMD Radeon™ RX 580 8GB 256 Bit GDDR5 Graphics Card

Both monitors are hooked up through Display Port
Sierra works fine and I get full 4K off both monitors and everything works. However....
With High Sierra
I can only boot into High Sierra with 1 of the monitors turned on. Whenever I turn on the 2 monitor everything freezes within High Sierra and screen goes gray. I can still see the desktop but can't click on anything.

Anybody know what I can do to get both monitors working fully in 4K?

Some Success
-------------
After 2 days of constant testing with no luck. I think the problem has something to do with the AMD .kexts in S/L/E. When I copied the AMD .kexts from Sierra to High Sierra I got weird colors (red & blues flipped) and the 2nd monitor will go on and not lock up the computer

Even though the method of copying kexts somewhat worked... It made the graphics choppy and everything was running slow (open windows and programs).

Is there a FakeID (FB Name, NVCAP, VRAM, Video Ports, Display-cfg, ig-platform-id, BootDisplay) of some sort I can use in Clover to fix this? Kext?


My clover config is attached if that helps anybody!
Also...
The 2 pictures attached are what happens. Boots with 1 monitor on. As soon as the 2nd monitor is turned on or plugged in... The working monitor goes black and everything stops responding.
post-1411155-0-35966900-1505769850_thumb.jpg
post-1411155-0-25986800-1505769868_thumb.jpg
 

Attachments

  • config.plist.zip
    4.4 KB · Views: 97
Top