Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> Stuck in Bootloop - OpenCore 0.7.2

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,586
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey Guys!

After getting Errors at "Random Seed" while updating the latest Security Update from Mojave with Clover, i got the Advice switching to OpenCore.

So i tried making a bootable USB using the GUIDE from Dortania and i failed a thousand times. I installed the Debug Version and sorted some things out (i think) with the Troubleshooting Guide from Dortania, but now I am at a point where the Logfiles doesnt help me anymore (because of my lack of knowledge).

I even somehow destroyed my working Clover boot on the internal EFI, so that im forced to make a fresh install.

It boots, sends me to the picker, i choose "install mac os mojave" and after that it just says " End SetConsoleMode", reboots shortly after this and runs into a Bootloop where i cant even see the picker anymore.

i attached both the efi folder and the latest log from the debug version.

any help is greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.

(btw: its about the desktop 2 in my signature)

For your first test I would change the "SecureBootModel" from Default to Disabled. This setting is in config.plist and the Misc / Security sub-section.

For your second, update USBInjectAll.kext to 0.7.3 or later.

Report back.

:)
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
77
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad E570 (OpenCore 0.7.2 UEFI)
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
same result, except that its not rebooting on its own anymore.
never the less, thanks for pointing me to an updated version of usbinjectall. never realized that it was updated since rehabmen left the building :)

the end of the log text is a little different though.


//edit:
just stumbled upon the THREAD from Miiliouco and tried "j137". as a result, it got stuck a little later. now it hangs on "end random seed". will check if there is a solution in the trouble shooting guide.
 

Attachments

  • opencore-2021-08-18-191511.txt
    256 KB · Views: 18
Last edited:

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,586
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
same result, except that its not rebooting on its own anymore.
never the less, thanks for pointing me to an updated version of usbinjectall. never realized that it was updated since rehabmen left the building :)

the end of the log text is a little different though.


//edit:
just stumbled upon the THREAD from Miiliouco and tried "j137". as a result, it got stuck a little later. now it hangs on "end random seed". will check if there is a solution in the trouble shooting guide.

*** I've had to remove your first post because you left your serial-number in the config.plist. For privacy reasons you should always redact that information, or replace it with a dummy. ***

Yes, there are several different security settings for different system-definitions. J137 is for iMacPro1,1.

Normally for this RandomSeed error I'd recommend updating the bootloader, but it looks like you may be close enough with August 21.

What's the device you have in DeviceProperties ? It looks like an Audio layout-ID 01000000, but you also have a different one in the NVRAM boot-commands (alcid=17).
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
77
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad E570 (OpenCore 0.7.2 UEFI)
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
oh, im sorry - makes totally sense!

its the realtek alc1220, but im not using it. i was just curios if it will work by accident. the numbers differ, because the guide states that the device property would be overwritten by the boot command, so i thought i´d try one of the many numbers from this codec.

do you think it can be harmful? and if so, is it safe to remove the entry from the dev-prop and the boot command?
the entry in the dev prop was prewritten in the smple.plist, so i wasnt sure if its safe to delete.

in the meantime i tried the troubleshhoting stuff on the guide but without luck. do you know if i am supposed to do all the stuff at once, or one at a time? i did it one at a time for now and it didnt work.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,586
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
oh, im sorry - makes totally sense!

its the realtek alc1220, but im not using it. i was just curios if it will work by accident. the numbers differ, because the guide states that the device property would be overwritten by the boot command, so i thought i´d try one of the many numbers from this codec.

do you think it can be harmful? and if so, is it safe to remove the entry from the dev-prop and the boot command?
the entry in the dev prop was prewritten in the smple.plist, so i wasnt sure if its safe to delete.

in the meantime i tried the troubleshhoting stuff on the guide but without luck. do you know if i am supposed to do all the stuff at once, or one at a time? i did it one at a time for now and it didnt work.

Well, you need to make things as simple as possible so you can find the problem. The 2x audio configurations just add confusion. I would use the NVRAM setting - alcid=17 - if that works, instead of the DeviceProperties one. Your choice. One or the other.

I don't think that a Z370M and i7-8700 and RX580 PC should cause these problems at all, so I think it is probably something simple we are missing.

Try setting "AppleCpuPmCfgLock" to /true.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
77
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad E570 (OpenCore 0.7.2 UEFI)
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't think that a Z370M and i7-8700 and RX580 PC should cause these problems at all, so I think it is probably something simple we are missing.
i did the troubleshooting thing again, this time - all at once, including MMIO Whitelist as per Guide and - believe it or not - the installer loaded with success.
(well, after i found out that my downloaded mojave dmg was corrupt)

im pretty close to get this done - YAY! :)

Thanks for your help, crossing my fingers that everything will work out nicely from here.


and as a unneccessary sideinfo: i really love that feeling, when you got stuck for hours and hours and suddenly it just works. this is why i really love (and hate) hackintoshing :-D
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
77
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad E570 (OpenCore 0.7.2 UEFI)
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
the problem seemed to be solved by setting the following:
  • EnableWriteUnprotector -> True
  • RebuildAppleMemoryMap -> False
  • SyncRuntimePermissions -> False
even this is considered for older firmware, some of them seem to have this issue, even with MATs support.

after a slightly long journey it finally works. and i gotta say, way more stable than with clover!
i even managed to get my intel wifi/bt card to work and my alc1220 is working fine too - which it never did under clover.

thanks UtterDisbelief for your help and your advice switching to oc!
//edit: just tried to mark the thread as solved, but im not the threadowner anymore :)
 
Top